We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Forge
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grosvenor Arms(Shaftesbury)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saxon Inn(Child Okeford)
US$107
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fiddleford Inn(Sturminster Newton)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Marnhull)(Great Value!)
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Langton Arms(Tarrant Monkton)
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Blandford Forum)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
101
6
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
6
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgypsy caravanshepherds hutfire pitclassic carsthe blue roomself containedlittle touchestoilet and showerthatched cottagea wonderful place to staywonderful weekendcooked breakfastshort driveon arrivalfull englishscrumpysmithy
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Thanks to Tim & Lucy for a great weekend staying in the Smithy. Very comfortable, excellent breakfasts and great hospitality. It was nice to meet the animals too. We can't recommend this accommodation enough, will definitely visit again. Rob & Amy

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in Rosie the Gypsy Caravan over the bank holiday weekend. We had a fantastic time. The caravan was compact, cosy and beautifully restored. It was lovely. We had sweeping views of the countryside form our caravan, and a family of chickens, Scrumpy Jack the donkey and a horse for neighbours! They were adorable. A very peaceful setting and a relief when you want to get away from the stresses of city life.

Lots of nice pubs around. You definitely need to book ahead if you plan to eat in one of them, as we were turned away from 3 before finally finding somewhere to have dinner on a Saturday night.

The owners Tim and Lucy were lovely too. Friendly and hospitable, and on hand if you needed any local information. Tim PLEASE do build that BBQ area that you talked about! Breakfast was made from locally sourced ingredients and was delicious.

Can’t wait to try out the Shepherds hut next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YWeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have just returned from a very special 2 night stay in Rosie.

Husband and wife team Tim and Lucy are certainly in the right profession "hospitality" what a charming couple.

Now to Rosie, we are usually strictly 5 star all the way so this was way out of our comfort zone (having never been camping, or glamping) but we were very happy. Rosie was cosy and welcoming, as were the hens donkey and horse.

The area is a great base to explore the coast or beautiful countryside.

The breakfast was dirty! (that means delicious where we live Tim haha).

We were lucky enough to have a full tour of all the accommodation on offer, it is truly a unique, homely and wholesome place to stay, we will definitely be back!!!!

Thank you so much x

Room Tip: All are excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CnD08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just simply a lovely place run by lovely people. Perfect breakfasts with fresh home made and local produce.
An ideal place to discover Dorset, the local area with wonderful pubs (The Compasses at Lower Chicksworth just fantastic location and food) and even the coast which is approx. 1 hour drive but worth it for the walking and scenery. The Old Forge is quirky and different, not run-of-the-mill B&B. view their web site for photos and a full description. If that is what you like book it, you won't regret it. We had a superb 3 day break full of activity, relaxation and super food, oh and great weather. Will be back. Steve and Alison, Derbyshire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here with family at the beginning of July and were incredibly fortunate to bag 'The Smithy' which was perfect for us and our 8month old baby, plenty of space! Lucy and Tim were brilliant and have turned their home into an extremely unique and special place for people to stay. We were lucky enough to have breakfast served outside in the sunshine every morning accompanied by their 3 dogs :) everything cooked to order and sourced locally it was perfect! There is a great pub about 5 minutes away which was recommended to us if you fancy a change of scenery but not necessary as the b&b has plenty to offer if you just want to unwind and take in the scenery! Great rooms (we managed to view them all) would definitely return again possibly child free to make use of ' Rosie'
Thank you Tim and Lucy x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nea23Maldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews