We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying some of our lovely countryside”
Review of Dancing Ledge

Dancing Ledge
Somerset, England
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
356 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Enjoying some of our lovely countryside”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We downloaded various National Trust walks for the Isle of Purbeck before visiting for a week in our caravan. We loved the beautiful scenery and seeing so many people enjoying the coast paths and were amazed at the number of people with very young children who walked down some quite rough countryside to visit Dancing Ledge. We found it difficult to follow the National Trust directions but luckily had an Explorer Ordnance Survey map with us which kept us on the right track. An amazing area to walk.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GillyB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Loved the walk to it , and got to see plenty of wildlife like puffins and shags. Shame about the Coasteering as I'm sure I would have seen more wildlife.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 02040508BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“National Trust could do better”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We did a National Trust loop walk from Langton Matravers to Dancing Edge about 4 miles in an afternoon. The scenery was lovely, but the NT directions we downloaded were hopeless! Which was especially troublesome, since the yellow route marker arrows were very infrequent and no other route markers were provided.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank The-Kent-Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely coastal walk”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We parked in Worth Matravers and walked down the lane to Winspit (disused quarries) and along the coast path via Seacombe to Dancing Ledge - took us one and a half hours. Returned back along the coast path to Seacombe and then up the path to Worth Matravers (slightly shorter route - took us 70 minutes). All paths well marked and suitable for all. Spectacular views all the way. Dancing Ledge is worth visiting - white waves crashing up against the cliffs and over the ledge. No facilities so use the loos in the car park at Worth Matravers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“This is My Favourite Spot to Visit”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Years ago I visited Dancing ledge and now whenever I travel to Dorset I always plan a visit. The area is beautiful and the ledge is a great place to walk too. When on the ledge there is a small swimming area been blasted out of the rocks, this is always a pleasure to play around in. It has become a little busy now due to more and more people visiting but I'll still recommend a visit. Just be warned that there is nowhere to get a drink on the trip so take plenty if it's hot.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KevSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dancing Ledge also viewed

 

Been to Dancing Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing