We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has changed over the years!”
Review of Tom's Field

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langton Matravers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Field
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I've been going to Tom's Field for many years and in recent times have noticed the change there. Yes it is still the same field with a really good approach to sustanability, the prices have increased albeit they won't break your bank, but what I have noticed and detested most of all is the amount of "Don't Do" signs. What was a really chilled site has a sign with different rule on it everywhere you look. Shame..

Room Tip: Get there early on a Friday / Thursday evening for a really good pitch if goign for the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Generalmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

This site is one of the best in the area and we have stayed in a few. Location is amazing you have Swanage one way and Corfe Castle the other. In between there is the Square and Compass lovely pub, from the site there is a path to this lovely pub well worth a visit.

There are some eclectic pitches but most are flat. Well stocked shop with really friendly staff. Showers really hot and clean. Loved the recycling.

Great location for walking and cycling we will be going back for definite.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom_Debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Tom's Field, down it location to access Swanage.

The owners were accommodating we arrived at 8.30pm on the Friday and were flexible to our arrival time, which was great. It wasn't too busy and the pitches were mostly on flat ground.

BBQs are available to hire also - so used theirs instead of ours as it was easier to light!

Quiet time by 11.45, which was understandable.

On the Saturday we walked along the coastal path which was beautiful and well worth it. The Number 40 bus brought us back from Swanage, very convenient. In the evening we walker to the Square and Compass, which made our trip and would draw us back to the site.

The shop is very reasonably priced and its staff were really helpful and friendly.

The showers and toilet facilities were rustic, rather dirty with cob webs and cold! Not the best but for the priced we paid we were happy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank field39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Been going to Toms Field Campsite for a few years now.
Everything is basic but I find it clean. Showers are now 25p for 3 minutes and you just have enough time.
Shop has good supplies for BBQ etc.
If you fancy a quite site with good views this is very nice. The big field at the top has a slope in places.

I like this site and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank John_Gallantree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Tom's Field is picturesque, rustic and surounded by fantastic coutryside and coast, and the little town of Swanage is a very pleasant place to visit.

The site is also reasonably priced for the individual camper, £6 per person per night, fortunately the site does not appear to go over the top on rules and regulations and recycling is made easy for the camper.

Where the site lets itself down is through it's owners/staff, who while not rude, could not between them manage a smile all weekend and the state of the toilets, yes they are sustainable and therefore you expect them to be a little different in the cleanliness department, however, their general appearance is shabby and dirty, it is clear that parts of the toilet block have not seen a mop or duster in years.

The final issue with the site is that they will pack in as many people as possible, this means that when you return from a day out you may find some very close new neighbours, this of course means that it is practically impossible to communicate with any of your party without being overheard by and annoying other campers.

In conclusion, has the potential to be a really great site, but to do this the owners just need to think a little about certain aspect of how they run the place and make it a wonderful experience each weekend for a few less campers, than an OK one for lots of campers.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingawarrior7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

We decided to brave the worst summer in memory, camping at Tom's Field which was recommended in the Guardians camping supplement. The site nestles in rolling Dorset countryside with panoramas of the sea and rolling green pasture.

The area comprises of two small fields, the family field which has the closest proximity to the facilities and the main field. Both are surrounded by farmland, with some fantastic walks and coastal paths accessible from the site.

Tom's Field places an emphasis on sustainability rather than creature comforts and anyone visiting should be aware of this. The toilet facilities are very basic and pretty uninviting (take sustainability as meaning the urinals don't flush and the showers cost 25p for 2minutes of hot water). However this also means that the site is free from unnecessary lighting giving it more a feeling of tranquillity and seclusion in the evening.

The shop stocks a variety of food and camping essentials including spare pegs/poles (it can get quite windy!) although the staff could do with raising a smile now and again. For more comprehensive shopping, Swanage is a ten minute drive or accessible by bus.

Overall a good stay!! 10/10 for setting 5/10 for facilities

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0LAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elena Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tom's Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Field

Address: Langton Matravers, Swanage BH19 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Langton Matravers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Langton Matravers
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Tom`s Field Hotel Langton Matravers
Tom's Field Langton Matravers, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing