We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great site !!”
Review of Tom's Field

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langton Matravers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Field
Emsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great site !!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

we have just had a great week end at this site !!
nice and peacefull, wild life was great !
basic but clean, lots of good walks.
will go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    23
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a great campsite in a lovely area of Dorset. We camped in May half term and the site was very busy but we felt we had plenty of space around our tent and it was always quiet at night. The site may say ‘Full’ at the gate but it is worth driving up to reception. We arrived at 10am and the friendly and helpful staff found us a pitch where someone was leaving. I think if we had arrived after 1pm we wouldn't have got in. However, there are plenty of other campsites nearby.

The shower block can get very busy and showers are by tokens. The shop is the best stocked campsite shop I have seen. The site is a few minutes’ walk from the coast path. It is about a 20mins walk into Langton Matravers where there are two pubs serving food. It is about a 1 hours walk along the ‘Priests Way’ footpath to the Square and Compass pub at Worth Matravers.

There is so much to see in the area that we intend to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank JLH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Tom's field is a lovely little campsite in Langton Maltravers. It has been around forever and has a very good reputation. The facilities are basic, but excellent and absolutely spotless. Very near dancing ledge and the Square and Compass at Worth Maltravers. The breakfast from the little cafe was fantastic and the shop very well stoked, with lots of gear for campers incase you've forgotten anything. We will definitely be staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Very busy in the holidays, quiet in October. Closed November - March.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Enjoyed our stay very much at Tom's Field - we arrived last Wednesday 28 Sept 2011 and came home 2 Oct glorious weather lot's to do - great site for what we wanted - liked the weekend breakfast bar and pleased to see so many healthy foods on sale in the shop. Peaceful location easy access to the village pub etc, and of course a smashing walk to the Square and Compass fantastic pub if you enjoy unusual places. Had the pumpkin festival when we were there on Saturday and nice cheeses and pickles on sale - what more could you want. Easy access to Swanage from the camp by bus or car or walking down the coast path about 2 miles on foot. Bournmouth and Poole very close so no shortage of things to do + the Isle of Wight and New Forest. Well done Tom's field

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have just returned from three nights at Tom's Field. We arrived on Sunday and were told to drive around and find a pitch, not too close to another tent, which we did, and we managed to find a pitch with a view of Swanage and the sea. The site sloped a bit, but nothing really worth mentioning. We saw rabbits in the evening and the site is very quiet from 11.45pm onwards.

The people who run the place were very pleasant and helpful, this is our first time camping so we decided to pay each day and then we could leave when we wanted,and they were very happy with that. Yes the showers are 25p for three minutes, but I found this long enough. The toilets may have a few cobwebs but they are very clean everywhere else. We did not have to wait for a shower or to wash up as there were enough sinks.

The shop sold most things you might want, from camping items to Purbeck ice cream (which was lovely) and it stayed open, during the week, till 7pm.

There is a walk down to the sea, which took us about 40 mins, but the view is magnificent, just take your time. There's a sea pool at the bottom but you can only use it when the tide is out!

Swanage is lovely and is only a short drive away, and we took the ferry from Swanage to Poole (£3.50) which was quicker than driving.

Being our first time we met some lovely people (our car had a flat battery on leaving and we had offers from campers to help with jump leads) and I think we stayed in a lovely campsite. We would definitely go back and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We arrived Sunday afternoon, the site was full on Monday midday, so perhaps arriving Sunday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaytzMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed in the small accomodation called the "stone room" over the weekend of Saturday 6th August. We were really looking forward to our stay. We arrived at the campsite very excited. We liked the fact that we had our own use of a toilet and shower, one of the reasons why we booked the stoneroom. The website in February says that you had exclusive use of a wetroom and toilet facilities in the stone room - NOT SO- We were told on arrival by the manager that the door to the wetroom was to be left unlocked!!! so that members of staff could use the facilities - of course I was not too pleased to hear this and the manner in which I was told this and spoken to was not at all customer friendly (she needs to take la few lessons at the school of charm)!. Her response on my questioning the shared use was "IT HASNT BEEN A PROBLEM SO FAR" - not, I feel a good way to treat a paying customer. I must say it left me feeling quite annoyed and disappointed.

We would say that it was a lovely location, the cleanliness of the accomodation left a lot to be desired, it didnt look as though anyone had cleaned the room since the last customers had left and the SHARED WETROOM was very disappointly dirty!! Have they heard of bleach?!

On leaving what was a fantastic and sunny weekend in the purbeck district, we paid the bill and looked to see what bookings were available in October as we had hoped to stay for another weekend. We were told that there were bookings available in October and we said that we would be in touch. As we were leaving the campsite the manager who we had spoken to on our arrival came running up to us in a very agressive manner, her approach was most unfriendly, she then went on to tell us that there was no availablity in October - we of course were perplexed by her response since we had spoken to one of her members of staff who had said differently, on questioning this she retorted that they were very busy and that there was definately no bookings available. I can only assume that she was having a bad day and so we left the campsite feeling somewhat confused!!. Best not to get on the wrong side of the Manager (I believe her name is Jenny) I always assumed the customer was right no matter what the difference of opinion is - but not if you are dealing with someone who doesnt have the social skills to do her job properly then you will find out the customer is not considered at all. ANYWAY - worth a visit.!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I've been going to Tom's Field for many years and in recent times have noticed the change there. Yes it is still the same field with a really good approach to sustanability, the prices have increased albeit they won't break your bank, but what I have noticed and detested most of all is the amount of "Don't Do" signs. What was a really chilled site has a sign with different rule on it everywhere you look. Shame..

Room Tip: Get there early on a Friday / Thursday evening for a really good pitch if goign for the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Generalmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langton Matravers
3.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
1.4 mi away
Downshay Farm
Downshay Farm
#2 of 14 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
21.8 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 22 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kingston Country Courtyard
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Field

Property: Tom's Field
Address: Langton Matravers, Swanage BH19 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Langton Matravers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Langton Matravers
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Tom`s Field Hotel Langton Matravers
Tom's Field Langton Matravers, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing