We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but toilet block could do with a mop”
Review of Tom's Field

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langton Matravers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Field
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My family have just returned from a 3 night stay at Tom's Field. We were met by a very friendly chap at the gates on our arrival who showed us to a lovely pitch on the main field. There were lots of other families milling around with young children happily running around and riding their bikes. It was lovely however the toilet/shower blocks were very "rough and ready" with bits of toilet paper scattered all around the cubicle. The walls were "rustic" and "cobwebby" and it just looked a bit tired and and in need of some TLC. They were clean though. I was a bit surprised when I went to the toilet block around 4.30pm and was told by a gruff woman "sorry we are closed for cleaning" with no smile or cheery personality. That was a bit off putting.

Having said all this. It really is a lovely setting with wonderful views and the sound of the sheep gently bleating is a pleasure in itsself also the relaxed ambience of the site is wonderful too.

I would recommend the Bower breakfast bar for a full english breakfast. The lady who worked in their is so sweet and polite and its definately service with a smile there! The cook is very friendly too!

Beware that they only stock a few newspapers daily so if you like a daily read of The Sun or Mirror get down early to the shop to avoid disappointment.

On balance a relaxing stay but very windy! We weren't quite prepared for that! It can get quite chilly up there so pack plenty of woolies!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Happysnapper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

As a first-time camper, I was a bit nervous arriving at Tom's Field, but from the moment we were met at the gate I already felt relaxed and at home.

We were shown to a great little pitch that was only a few steps away from the shower blocks. We didn't feel pressured to pay up immediately and were left alone to pitch our tent before paying later in the well-stocked shop.

Location is great; we walked to Dancing Ledge and drove to Swanage and Monkey World in no time. The breakfast bar at Tom's Field was a lifesaver for us as we didn't have an electric pitch, and the food was great. Showers were well-priced at 25p for 3 minutes, which we found was enough, and were always clean, hot and well-maintained. At night time, most people were asleep by 10.30pm and still asleep when the sheep in nearby fields woke us at 7.30 (a sound we really miss now we're home!)

Friendly little site - I'd definitely like to go back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

we have just had a great week end at this site !!
nice and peacefull, wild life was great !
basic but clean, lots of good walks.
will go again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dicky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a great campsite in a lovely area of Dorset. We camped in May half term and the site was very busy but we felt we had plenty of space around our tent and it was always quiet at night. The site may say ‘Full’ at the gate but it is worth driving up to reception. We arrived at 10am and the friendly and helpful staff found us a pitch where someone was leaving. I think if we had arrived after 1pm we wouldn't have got in. However, there are plenty of other campsites nearby.

The shower block can get very busy and showers are by tokens. The shop is the best stocked campsite shop I have seen. The site is a few minutes’ walk from the coast path. It is about a 20mins walk into Langton Matravers where there are two pubs serving food. It is about a 1 hours walk along the ‘Priests Way’ footpath to the Square and Compass pub at Worth Matravers.

There is so much to see in the area that we intend to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank JLH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Tom's field is a lovely little campsite in Langton Maltravers. It has been around forever and has a very good reputation. The facilities are basic, but excellent and absolutely spotless. Very near dancing ledge and the Square and Compass at Worth Maltravers. The breakfast from the little cafe was fantastic and the shop very well stoked, with lots of gear for campers incase you've forgotten anything. We will definitely be staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Very busy in the holidays, quiet in October. Closed November - March.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Enjoyed our stay very much at Tom's Field - we arrived last Wednesday 28 Sept 2011 and came home 2 Oct glorious weather lot's to do - great site for what we wanted - liked the weekend breakfast bar and pleased to see so many healthy foods on sale in the shop. Peaceful location easy access to the village pub etc, and of course a smashing walk to the Square and Compass fantastic pub if you enjoy unusual places. Had the pumpkin festival when we were there on Saturday and nice cheeses and pickles on sale - what more could you want. Easy access to Swanage from the camp by bus or car or walking down the coast path about 2 miles on foot. Bournmouth and Poole very close so no shortage of things to do + the Isle of Wight and New Forest. Well done Tom's field

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have just returned from three nights at Tom's Field. We arrived on Sunday and were told to drive around and find a pitch, not too close to another tent, which we did, and we managed to find a pitch with a view of Swanage and the sea. The site sloped a bit, but nothing really worth mentioning. We saw rabbits in the evening and the site is very quiet from 11.45pm onwards.

The people who run the place were very pleasant and helpful, this is our first time camping so we decided to pay each day and then we could leave when we wanted,and they were very happy with that. Yes the showers are 25p for three minutes, but I found this long enough. The toilets may have a few cobwebs but they are very clean everywhere else. We did not have to wait for a shower or to wash up as there were enough sinks.

The shop sold most things you might want, from camping items to Purbeck ice cream (which was lovely) and it stayed open, during the week, till 7pm.

There is a walk down to the sea, which took us about 40 mins, but the view is magnificent, just take your time. There's a sea pool at the bottom but you can only use it when the tide is out!

Swanage is lovely and is only a short drive away, and we took the ferry from Swanage to Poole (£3.50) which was quicker than driving.

Being our first time we met some lovely people (our car had a flat battery on leaving and we had offers from campers to help with jump leads) and I think we stayed in a lovely campsite. We would definitely go back and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We arrived Sunday afternoon, the site was full on Monday midday, so perhaps arriving Sunday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaytzMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tom's Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Field

Address: Langton Matravers, Swanage BH19 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Langton Matravers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Langton Matravers
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Tom`s Field Hotel Langton Matravers
Tom's Field Langton Matravers, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing