We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three fields and I never met Tom, but we loved it”
Review of Tom's Field

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langton Matravers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tom's Field
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Three fields and I never met Tom, but we loved it”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Tom's Field often appears in 'Best Campsite' lists, and really lives up to expectations.

SIZE AND FACILITIES
It's a small, natural campsite perched on the hill above Swanage surrounded by stone walls that shelter the tents from the weather. The shop has a broad array of stock and there are plenty of (rather higgledy piggledy) loos and showers. The baby bathing sink was in the drying room, meaning it is very toasty. While this might be annoying on a hot day when we got caught in a horrendous downpour with a 9 month old and could bath her and dry her clothes in the warm room it was brilliant. The Bower Breakfast Bar is no Worth Matravers Tea Rooms but does the job if you can't be bothered to get the stove out.

LOCATION: Brilliant - you can walk across the hills to the cliffs or down into the village, and it's a short drive to Swanage and from there to Studland's beaches. You can also walk to Worth Matravers and the Square and Compass or drive to Kingston to the Scott Arms.

CLEANLINESS: Pretty good, it did rain when we were there so we probably saw it at its muddy worst.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    23
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

It's actually like going back in time staying on this camp site. The site is completely ramshackle but not in a bad way. It is quaint, welcoming and familiar in a way that will invoke nostalgic feelings in all 40 something's. The site shop is like a throw back to a time before mobile phones and computer games and is well stocked with everything you might need to make your experience easier. Including toys and unusual games to entertain the kids. The prices are very cheap and I couldn't help thinking that every time I bought something, that I was the one making the profit, or had I actually been transported back to the 1970's? The toilet and shower block were basic but clean and you had to purchase tokens for the shower from the site shop for 25p for 3 minutes. It was £21 for two adults and two children for a mobile home and electric hookup per night. The clientele were often returnees on their 10th or more stay. There were earth mothers and hippies and modern families as well as elderly couples and teenagers. It was a good mix of people that attracted environmentally conscious campers (a failure to use the recycling facilities is a capital offence). This eclectic mix was very well balanced which led to an enjoyable stay for more days than we had planned. The area is great for walking or cycling. The craggy cliffs of the Dorset coastline are a half hour walk away over some very pleasant pastures and the seaside town of Swanage is a 15 minute cycle ride down the hill but a very hard 45 minute return ride up the hill. Well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank spydaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this campsite for 4 nights over the bank holiday having left an awful campsite! On our arrival they were very helpful and found us a perfect pitch with electric and fabulous views of the swanage bay! The site is in a great location in a quite village with a lovely lical pub, especially if your into walking (which we are not and even we ventured across the fields to see the coast). The camping pitches were excellently maintained, the site was quiet although busy, relaxed and very picturesque. The site has a small shop selling camping and daily essentials and a breakfast cafe selling local farm produce! The shower block is not modern but very clean with a lovely hot shower that is a winner! Overall we were very impressed with the site and will definately be visiting again! Thank you tom's field!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetski-princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My family have just returned from a 3 night stay at Tom's Field. We were met by a very friendly chap at the gates on our arrival who showed us to a lovely pitch on the main field. There were lots of other families milling around with young children happily running around and riding their bikes. It was lovely however the toilet/shower blocks were very "rough and ready" with bits of toilet paper scattered all around the cubicle. The walls were "rustic" and "cobwebby" and it just looked a bit tired and and in need of some TLC. They were clean though. I was a bit surprised when I went to the toilet block around 4.30pm and was told by a gruff woman "sorry we are closed for cleaning" with no smile or cheery personality. That was a bit off putting.

Having said all this. It really is a lovely setting with wonderful views and the sound of the sheep gently bleating is a pleasure in itsself also the relaxed ambience of the site is wonderful too.

I would recommend the Bower breakfast bar for a full english breakfast. The lady who worked in their is so sweet and polite and its definately service with a smile there! The cook is very friendly too!

Beware that they only stock a few newspapers daily so if you like a daily read of The Sun or Mirror get down early to the shop to avoid disappointment.

On balance a relaxing stay but very windy! We weren't quite prepared for that! It can get quite chilly up there so pack plenty of woolies!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Happysnapper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

As a first-time camper, I was a bit nervous arriving at Tom's Field, but from the moment we were met at the gate I already felt relaxed and at home.

We were shown to a great little pitch that was only a few steps away from the shower blocks. We didn't feel pressured to pay up immediately and were left alone to pitch our tent before paying later in the well-stocked shop.

Location is great; we walked to Dancing Ledge and drove to Swanage and Monkey World in no time. The breakfast bar at Tom's Field was a lifesaver for us as we didn't have an electric pitch, and the food was great. Showers were well-priced at 25p for 3 minutes, which we found was enough, and were always clean, hot and well-maintained. At night time, most people were asleep by 10.30pm and still asleep when the sheep in nearby fields woke us at 7.30 (a sound we really miss now we're home!)

Friendly little site - I'd definitely like to go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

we have just had a great week end at this site !!
nice and peacefull, wild life was great !
basic but clean, lots of good walks.
will go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a great campsite in a lovely area of Dorset. We camped in May half term and the site was very busy but we felt we had plenty of space around our tent and it was always quiet at night. The site may say ‘Full’ at the gate but it is worth driving up to reception. We arrived at 10am and the friendly and helpful staff found us a pitch where someone was leaving. I think if we had arrived after 1pm we wouldn't have got in. However, there are plenty of other campsites nearby.

The shower block can get very busy and showers are by tokens. The shop is the best stocked campsite shop I have seen. The site is a few minutes’ walk from the coast path. It is about a 20mins walk into Langton Matravers where there are two pubs serving food. It is about a 1 hours walk along the ‘Priests Way’ footpath to the Square and Compass pub at Worth Matravers.

There is so much to see in the area that we intend to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank JLH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langton Matravers
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
922 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
925 reviews
21.8 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 22 in Weymouth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
521 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kingston Country Courtyard
2.5 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#2 of 49 in Swanage
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Field

Property: Tom's Field
Address: Langton Matravers, Swanage BH19 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage > Langton Matravers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Langton Matravers
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Tom`s Field Hotel Langton Matravers
Tom's Field Langton Matravers, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing