We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
KIlderkin Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
KIlderkin Cottage
Sunny West facing garden ideal for afternoon and evening time relaxation Open plan sitting area - looking towards the hall.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
KIlderkin Cottage
Sunny West facing garden ideal for afternoon and evening time relaxation
Open plan sitting area - looking towards the hall.
Overview of open plan living area
Dining area- extendable table.
Kitchen and Utility Room
Kitchen and Utility Room - all new fittings and appliances.
Master Bedroom with ensuite shower room, Smart TV, fitted mirror-front wardrobes, plentiful storage.
Second Double bedroom showing mirrored built in wardrobes.
Spacious 2nd bedroom bed with large mirror door wardrobes.
2nd Floor - Comfy Twin beds plus cot / folding bed space, TV, fitted wardrobe and drawer space
Spacious Family Bathroom - sluice all the kids in one go!
First floor landing - almost a room in itself!
Purbeck stone and Welsh slate name plate! A kilderkin = 1/2 beer barrel & reflects the local history
Dancing Ledge on the Heritage cost and only 20 minutes walk away across the fields.
View from Old Malthouse Lane to Corfe Castle in the evening.
Durdle Door beach with Portland in the distance. Yes the sea is that clear!
The Spectacular World Heritage Coastline and part of the SW Coastal Path.
St Aldehams Head seen from Swyre Head (208masl) the highest point in The Isle of Purbeck.
Kimmeridge, Mupe Rocks; all points west agian seen from Swyre Head.  30 mins easy walk from KIngston
Poole Harbour from the Arne Peninsula.
The network of paths only 2 minutes away quickly takes you to views like this!
Early Spring sea mist clears letting the sun warm Swanage Beach.
Durlston and Swanage Bays.
Swanage Bay in the evening.
2 allocated car spaces in private courtyard adjacent to Kilderkin's rear gate.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Langton Matravers, Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chloe o
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with our very lively two year old, stayed at Kilderkin Cottage at the end of September, and had a fabulous time.

Liz, the owner, was great during the booking process, really helpful and patient answering my questions and was more than happy to supply baby gates for our little one to keep him safe. Nothing was too much trouble.

When we arrived, we were so pleased with the cottage - it is beautiful! Home from home with everything you could need for a relaxing/very comfortable week away. It is beautifully furnished, we loved the open plan living area downstairs. The bedroom on the top floor was ideal for our little boy, with two single beds quite low to the ground which is ideal if you are worried about small children rolling out in the night! The weather during our stay was gorgeous during the day so we managed to spend a bit of time in the lovely garden - our toddler loved it!

The village is quiet, but had everything we needed - a local pub for a well earned drink, and our toddler and his daddy loved visiting the farm at the bottom of the hill for coffee every morning on the way to feed the donkeys in the field, it was the daily highlight for him! The location is excellent - we were minutes away from Swanage which was great for a walk along the beach. We went to Weymouth and used the Park and Ride which was another treat for our toddler. We visited the Blue Pool, where I had some happy memories from my own childhood (it doesn't seem to have changed much since but all part of the charm!). Again, our toddler loved running around the woodland walk looking for squirrels!

A must during your visit, if you have good weather, is to visit the Hive Beach Café at Burton Bradstock near Bridport. The coastal drive to get there is stunning and the beach/café were great, just watch the strong currents if you decide to take a paddle! We enjoyed a cream tea in the café, overlooking the beach and it was just lovely.

So, a really lovely stay - I would definitely recommend Kilderkin Cottage and the local sights. Liz and John were the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble they will make sure you have an amazing time. We hope to go back in the future - our toddler still talks about 'Dolly the Donkey' and the 'holidays house' even now. Thank you Liz and John, I wish you every success with your new venture!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan area downstairs
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will pay us a return visit soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelagh C
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a delightful few days at this cottage with our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. Sadly, the weather was pretty dire at times which made coming back to such a lovely, well appointed cottage so comforting.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and the kitchen and utility room are well equipped with top quality fittings and white goods.
The bath and shower rooms are lovely, although the shower floors did get rather slippery.
The two single beds in the top bedroom are low and therefore perfectly suitable for younger children as well as adults.
There was a DVD and basic wifi.
The cottage is well placed to explore the area and I hope that we will be able to return in better weather!
We all loved the cottage and can thoroughly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind comments.

We will investigate the bathroom floor tiles. These are anti- slip but as we have fitted a water softener it could be causing unintended consequences.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the future, when hopefully the weather will be better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linnie194...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FabulousI”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful property, spacious, well equiped, clean and wonderfully peaceful. My husband and I took our three young grandchildren here for a week and it was perfect. Only a few miles from the seafront in a pretty village. A good sized garden for the children and had the weather been better it would have been perfect for eating out with a good sized garden table and chairs. There are however two lots of steep stone steps leading to the garden from the parking area behind and then more down from the garden to the cottage, Being an older person I found these slightly daunting maybe a grip bar or rail would be a good idea, Just a couple of other things I think would be advantagious, a grip rail in the shower as it can get a little slippy and a DVD player would have helped keep the children amused in the wet weather. Just small things really because this is a fabulous place and we would recommend anyone thinking about booking to do so. If you need to use the internet just check it has been installed as it wasnt when we were there, which was difficult as it was needed for work and project work. Maybe the owners should remove that facility from the advertisement until it is available as we would definitely have thought twice about booking if we had know, but there again that would have meant we would have missed out on staying in this lovely property, and that would never do !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything
Liked least: Probably the steps in the garden
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
We are very grateful to you for your feedback and we are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. As discussed when we met, we have taken on board your comments and are in the process of making appropriate adjustments to the services offered. We hope you will come and visit again in the not too distant future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Such a lovely, relaxing stay in this gorgeous part of the world. Kilderkin has been equipped to an exceptionally high standard - just like being at home. Lots of space, great location for beaches and local sights, cute garden, and the nearest pub a mere stroll down the High St. Fab!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Dear Guest
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Kilderkin Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you for a return visit in August 2015!
Thank you for taking the time to register your comments.
Kind regards. Liz and John Wingham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Purbeck Cottage”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a long weekend at this wonderful cottage at the end of May with our 7 and 5 year old children.

We were very impressed with the thoughtfully luxurious furnishings and decor. The beds were all very comfy and we had everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped and we had everything we needed to make our evening family meals.

We enjoyed exploring the local beaches and had a wonderful morning at the nearby Lulworth cove and Tyneham Village.

We will definately be returning to this wonderfully restored cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious furnishings
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Your comments about your recent stay at Kilderkin Cottage are very much appreciated. Thank you! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the cottage and the area so much.
Kind regards. Liz and John Wingham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing