We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fencehouses
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chilton in April 2011 and I am about to return for another visit. We live in Australia and visit relatives who are all around the Durham area. When we arrived on our last visit, our initial room looked a bit small for a 10 day stay, so we pay a little extra for the upgrade to a larger room. Money well spent.....a beautiful spacious upstairs room, with views across the fields and a lovely lounge area. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions etc. Our family group also had a couple of meals there, which were excellent. The included breakfast was great too. On occasion we elected to stay in and have quiet drink inside or out in the outdoor area, followed by a meal. It was great not having to traipse around looking for a meal, after a long day sightseeing/visiting family. Highly recommended, but if you are going to stay on a weekend, ask for a room upstairs and well away from the bar area. People enjoying themselves can make a bit of noise.

Room Tip: Upstairs, towards the rear would be quieter on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    94
    46
    27
    24
See reviews for
77
106
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Don't be fooled by the seemingly nice exterior of this place. You will leave puffy eyed, tired, wet headed and stressed.

The reason for our over night stay at the Chilton was to have a nice meal, few glasses of wine with several friends and a room was cheaper than the the taxi ride home. Wish I had just drank soft drinks and driven home now.

Ten people sat down for the evening meal, we all ordered starters and mains. All starters except one arrived at the same time the tenth starter took more than ten minutes to arrive to the the table, the main course was also delivered sporadically. The food is typical pub grub nothing to write home about but it did the trick. The desserts were lovely and arrived quickly.


Our room was the most depressing room I have ever had the displeasure of stepping into. The first thing you notice is the paper thin walls as you can hear every conversation and movement from the next room. A connecting door was also in our room, this wouldn't have been a problem if it was sound proof or even something covering the key hole. To stop any peeping toms I placed my gloves on the door handle. The key hole looked directly on to my side of the bed and bathroom door, very disturbing.

The decor and cleanliness of the place is ghastly, I have uploaded pictures of the mold, tea stains and ugly sink next to the bed. The only decent plug socket next to a desk is hidden behind the tea tray cupboard, but don't worry some one has crudely cut out a hole for you to reach in and access the socket! Just be careful you don't scratch yourself while plugging anything in.

The only heater in the room was under a larger window, so it did little to actually heat the room just warmed up the curtains.

You get what you pay for and you get nothing here. No hair dryer, iron, decent bathroom, not even comfortable pillows. You get four walls and a bed. I could possibly over look all these things if it wasn't for a serious noise problem. There is no sound proofing anywhere in this hotel! Everything that goes bump in the night you will definitely hear! We were situated on the ground floor in room 1. If you are placed on the ground floor instantly ask to be moved to the first floor! Every floor board above our head creaks and you will hear people walking up and down the stairs.

Breakfast is basic but adequate, four cereals on offer, orange juice and coffee. If you can catch some one to ask for tea a hot pot is brought to your table. Cooked breakfast good but once again basic.

One pro free WI FI.

To the Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel - Whilst you might assure me you will read and share my comments with your team please actually do something about it, even if its just making sure the rooms are clean! Please close room one or sound proof it as the noise levels from the the rest of the hotel are just awful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-KM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. We take all comment very serious and will be discussing your view with all members of staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We treat mum at xmas to a lovely three course meal at the chilton country house in fencehouses and for one hard to satisfy food wise she was delighted. choose from beef pork chicken or salmon or simply have mince and dumplings. The food is excellent and cooked to please anyones tastes.. I recommend here to all who love great value meals.You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Visiting friends and family after Christmas, and had a lovely two night stay at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. The hotel looked even more picturesque then normal in its white winter surroundings. Got a very warm welcome from management as we were showed to our room. I was impressed with the room as the price we paid was very reasonable, the room was clean and comfortable and most importantly at this time of year lovely and warm.
The dinner we had was delicious, and they had a great selection of wine to compliment our meal. The locals are very friendly as are the staff, and we enjoyed taking part in the 'Music quiz' which was good fun.
Breakfast both mornings was very tasty and we were given a great selection too.
We are already making plans to visit the family again at Easter, and will certainly be staying at The Chilton' again x

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayeTezznAva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne&Wear
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My wife celebrated her 60th Birthday party at the Chilton.The function room was just right, the buffet delicious and the service impeccable. The DJ judged the party needs very well and the dance floor was filled. I hired a rock band who were given everything that they needed and everything went smoothly --it was superb! Our friends booked 12 of the rooms, ranging from the huge executive rooms to the very acceptable basic ones. No complaints what-so- ever and the breakfast was really tasty. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are enormous. Ask for any deals that may be on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hils10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Just returned from my daughters 30th birthday party which was held at the Chilton Country Pub and Hotel.
Truly amazing evening, from the food to the Dj.
Don't know where to start it was such a good party the resident DJ played a good mix of music to appeal to everyone. We had the hot Buffet, and couldnt fault it for the amount and quality of the food that was served, and a big thank you to the staff who made it all run so smoothly.
I would recommend this place to anyone, its perfect for any type of function, and would definately go back again
Many thanks for a brilliant evening

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Agreed the room was basic but so was the price. It was clean and comfortable My only real gripe was the "blanket", come into the 21st century please. The staff were sooo friendly, and the pub food was way above average. Am already thinking about going back (Duvet next time - maybe)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank organisermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fencehouses
1.4 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#5 of 6 in Washington
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
336 reviews
4.9 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.9 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilton Country Pub and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilton Country Pub and Hotel

Property: Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Address: Blackboy Road, Fencehouses DH4 6PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Fencehouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fencehouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilton Country Pub and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chilton Country Pub and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilton Country Pub Hotel Fencehouses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing