We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highfield Hotel(Houghton-le-Spring)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Power House(Chester-le-Street)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Travelodge Chester-Le-Street(Chester-le-Street)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (350)
    Filter reviews
    350 results
    Traveller rating
    127
    109
    51
    31
    32
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    127
    109
    51
    31
    32
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewshomemade chipschicken kievcoach tripwedding receptionfunction roompiping hotcoach partychristmas partyfull englishexcellent value for moneyyogurtdurhamdiscocarveryexecutiveensuiteduvet
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    280 - 285 of 350 reviews
    Reviewed 25 March 2013

    Easy access from motorway but nothing else. Food average and rooms basic.
    If you like cricket, photos in reception area worth seeing. Entertainment- only repeditive CD of the 70's. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Room Tip: Pick a room bottom level!
    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank maysinclairBeith
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 March 2013

    I've been meaning to put my review about the mothers day meal on for a week now, but i've just moved house and i've been a little busy! where do i start? First of all the service, from the moment we walked in the door, til we took our seats, we were greeted by friendly staff, who, even though it was very busy, made us feel special, and nothing was a problem. Our orders for drinks were taken, by a lovely young lady. We looked at the menu, and all agreed, there was plenty of choice and the price of £15 for a three course, was very reasonable. The order was taken, and while we waited we enjoyed the music provided by a very good pianist. I read in a previous review, that they thought the music was to loud! nothing of the sort, it was beautiful, all i can say is, i, and others i spoke to, thought the music really added to the special occasion. Our food arrived promptly, and i have to say we were very impressed. The presentation, the flavour of the food, and the service was second to none .We had a delicious dessert, and a nice cup of coffee. And even though it was very busy, i asked to speak to the manager. Elizabeth came over and i told her that was the best mothers day meal and entertainment i'd
    had in years. She said that it was her pleasure, and that she was happy we enjoyed ourselves. What a lovely lady she is.I must also mention Kelly, who served us.. That young lady was all over the place, she never stopped! She never stopped smiling, and i bet her feet were aching! she was extremely friendly and very professional. How anyone could moan about the mothers day meal and service is beyond me. All i can say is thank you to Elizabeth and Kelly and all the staff who worked that day, not only did you make my day, you made my Mothers Day.
    Betty

    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank bazmags1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

    Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meals on Mothers day and hope you will be returning shortly. All of your comments will be forwarded to all members of staff. Thank you

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 March 2013

    Had a lovely weekend last week at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food was fab. Standard rooms are basic but adequate. Some in our group had superior rooms which were obviously better. There were 17 of us in our party and most stayed for the 2 nights. We were there for a dance competition at Rainton Meadows Arena so it was a very handy location for that. Can't praise the staff at the hotel enough. We ate there both nights and the food was good, no-one in our party had a bad meal, even though there was a wedding on they had to cater for too. There was some refurb going on in the bar but it didn't affect our stay at all. Added bonus on the Sunday night was a quiz night, so we all joined in that too. We even got a mention by the quiz master about our formation team winning the dance competition we'd gone there for. Breakfast was good both mornings. Will definitely stay there again next year.

    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SmileyDM
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 March 2013

    We have been coming to this restaurant for Mother's day for at least 5 years having been impressed every year until this one. We were all very disapointed with the quality of the food this time, especially as it was almost £15 for the 3 course meal. There seemed to be less choice this year so three of us opted for the tomatoe soup. It was described as being served with crusty bread which was 3 croutons served in the bowl. It was okay but nothing special.Three of our party had roast beef and it seemed to be a cheap cut as it was very fatty. Four vegetables were served, carrots which were quite hard, sticky mashed potatoe which was so sticky it was difficult to get out of the serving dish. There was also cabbage and brocolli. For desert I had the chocolate cheesecake which was delicious. One of my party had the Sherry trifle and said it was no better than the Birds trifle packs you could buy years ago. The others had the sticky toffee pudding and chocolate pudding which were nothing special. There was also a very loud pianist singing behind us which was not pleasant to listen to. I don't know if they are trying to cut corners but we saw a lot of food left on people's plates so guess other people weren't impressed either. All in all a very disapointing visit and it will certainly be tbe last time we will be there on a Mother's day

    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Service
    Thank TyneAndWearColumbus
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

    We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. Please do contact us so we can discuss and resolve any problems that had that day. We do take all comments very serious and will be discussing this with all the team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 March 2013

    My husband and I stayed at the Chilton in April 2011 and I am about to return for another visit. We live in Australia and visit relatives who are all around the Durham area. When we arrived on our last visit, our initial room looked a bit small for a 10 day stay, so we pay a little extra for the upgrade to a larger room. Money well spent.....a beautiful spacious upstairs room, with views across the fields and a lovely lounge area. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions etc. Our family group also had a couple of meals there, which were excellent. The included breakfast was great too. On occasion we elected to stay in and have quiet drink inside or out in the outdoor area, followed by a meal. It was great not having to traipse around looking for a meal, after a long day sightseeing/visiting family. Highly recommended, but if you are going to stay on a weekend, ask for a room upstairs and well away from the bar area. People enjoying themselves can make a bit of noise.

    Room Tip: Upstairs, towards the rear would be quieter on a weekend.
    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Gerenga
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews