We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fencehouses
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we arrived on FRIDAY second of AUGUST stayed till the FIFTH AUGUST met by a very pleasant receptionist all smiles and helpful got our key went into our room and what can i say very large comfortable room very clean when we went to bed slept like a log. ABOUT the food we had three breakfast,s they were huge and so tasty we didnt need anything else all day till we wen,t for our meal at night another treat great menu very good price and large good selection of drinks . and the staff brilliant they worked together so well very cheery and hard working the management are great to and they help if i go down that way again i know were i will be staying good on you all KATHY and BILL HUTTON

Room Tip: although we were in room three and there were two weddings that evening we slept did here people ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your stay at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    96
    46
    29
    24
See reviews for
78
107
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I would just like to say a big thank you to Elizabeth and staff for every thing they did for my daughters wedding . had a fantastic day perfect what more can I say food fab , and a big thank you for looking after my granddaughter who took bad they went and got her a portable cot and blankets and brought into the reception as my granddaughter did not want to go to her room so she went to sleep in the cot you went that extra mile and I would recomend the Chilton to any one . I am so happy we had our daughters wedding there as mother of the bride you are under a lot of stress wanting the perfect day and there was a few things I forgot but Elizabeth offered her staff to drive me home and pick them up thank you from the bottom of my heart for saving the day I had a lovely day and I am one of them fussy people who check for every detail thanks kath

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at the Chilton Country Pub and Hotel and hope to see you very soon. Also I would like to wish your daughter and husband all the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Needed something at short notice and got a decent deal on Laterooms. Décor of the hotel, restaurant and rooms is a bit dated but the place was clean. All the staff really friendly, cooked breakfast was fine. There was a coach party staying so the restaurant was full all at once at dinner and breakfast but easy enough to work round that. We ate at a nice Italian about a mile away.Hotel is fine for the price and no complaints really.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireManinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your stay at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. We hope to see you in the near futher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have been time and time again and the food is always great, the service is fab, the prices are reasonable (a tad pricy but you pay for quality)and immaculately kept! The bar area and the lounge\dining are are separated and there is a partitioned door for events.. I in fact had my wedding reception here and it was truly the most amazing day ever! All thanks to the staff.
the food is just simply amazing! Food cooked to perfection and everyone who came to my wedding complimented the food.

the bar and toilets have just been refurbished to a very high standard...baby changing facilities and highchairs available.
if the weather is nice the outside are is lovely with a well kept garden with ample parking

the rooms were adequate/slightly dated however i believe the rooms have also been refurbished recently so i guess these will now be of the same high standard as the bar.

overall a definite option for food, a drink, an event or an overnight stay

and you would never think you were just round the corner from fencehouses

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkbait2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review following your time at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stayed and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 826 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

our first visit here as we have family close by and thought we would try it out. arrived when the pub had more or less just opened but it gradually got busier as time went on. i had a drink and in the drink was a floater of some kind but it was not a problem as i got a replacement drink no bother. i ordered a tuna sandwich but was informed that they had no tuna. so i asked if they could make a cheese toastie instead which i got with some really nice home made chips, the best i have had in a long while. our meals did take a while to come out considering what we ordered but im guessing that it was just because it had opened. we are going to call in again in a months time while visiting relatives and see how it is again. it is in a nice location with good views and i think a proper beer garden would be very nice and much appreciated by their regular customers. as at present it has a seating area outside but really it just looks on to the car park instead of the nearby fields which would be lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking your time to posting your review of your meal at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. We hope to see you in the near futher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

tip to waiter, if you drop a chip down a customers back don't pretend it didn't happen and slink off,tip to cook (could not be a chef) change the oil you cook your food in when it starts to go rancid,if serving peppers,onions with pate try roasting or frying as opposed to serving raw, hand cut chips and cod goujons be cooked to order (in clean oil ) instead of serving up dried up greasy ones.make salads up fresh instead of serving the same stuff that accompanied the pate just piled higher. finally, if getting diners to pre order food a week in advance make sure the order is fullfilled instead of saying you've ran out of it. all in all very very poor food and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. Please do contact us so we can discuss and resolve any problems that had that day. We do take all comments very serious and will be discussing this with all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunbury on thames
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed 1 night Sunday 9th June arrived at 23.15,aerypleasant night porter checked me in uo my room.
The room was very spacious and very clean,comfortable bed,tv & tea making facilities, only 1 fault,the light switch above the bed didnt seem to work.
The bathroom was very clean,soap shower gel & shampoos supplied,plenty of towles.
Breakfast served between 07.00 - 09.00 was very good, selection of yogurts,cereals & fruit juices, fresh cooked full english and toas. Overall A VERY GOOD STAY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY HOTEL."RECOMMENDED"

Barry d (titan)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your stay at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you in the near futher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fencehouses
2.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,045 reviews
1.4 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
269 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
4.9 mi away
No photo provided
4.0 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilton Country Pub and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilton Country Pub and Hotel

Property: Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Address: Blackboy Road, Fencehouses DH4 6PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Fencehouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fencehouses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilton Country Pub and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Chilton Country Pub and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilton Country Pub Hotel Fencehouses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing