We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shameful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fencehouses
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just before Christmas my family and I made one of our occasional visits to the Chilton Lodge. During the evening we were treated to a shameful experience of two of the family picking a fight between each other in the public bar.
We then had the ridiculous situation of the manageress doing her best to try to resolve a situation between her employers. What would have happened to them by door staff in any other establishment? Easy answer.
Basically, the paying customers were being treated with contempt by taking our money to pay for their shameful behaviour - we had our noses rubbed in it.
I recommend that if you want a meal and drink then go somewhere where you are treated with some level of respect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank Jonner525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We held our wedding breakfast and evening party here. The food was lovely and the staff amazing. We wanted a xmas theme wedding and the room was set up better than we could ever have imagined. We had a wonderful day and night and all our family and friends loved it. Cant thank the venue enough.
We have also had many bar meals in the pub which also cant be faulted. Amazing location, food and staff. . Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your Wedding Day. We hope to see you in the near future for another function or maybe a meal. Best wishes for the future and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We travelled from Scotland for a nieces wedding and booked rooms. We arrived mid afternoon on Friday and although the hotel seemed to be short staffed the girl who eventually booked us in couldn't have been more helpful even moving us as far from the party room as possible should we have decide on an early night.
We asked for and were served really delicious sandwiches which were really well filled and reasonably priced. Breakfast next day was similar, freshly cooked filling and served with a smile.
The bedroom was spotless if a little tired, however the price was very reasonable and in my view fantastic value for money and I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: The side away from the car park is best to minimise disturbance
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed for two nights. Room very clean and bed comfortable. The bathroom was tiny but plenty of hot water. My breakfast was tasty but served with great haste! No time for cereals before the hot food arrived and plates cleared before I started on the toast and marmalade! (No brown bread). Good location and a quick drive into durham.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacalyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night following a wedding reception and found the buffet meal to be
excellent.The room was spacious and very clean and the breakfast the next morning was very good
and served by a very pleasant waitress.We would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had daughters wedding their while refurbishment of the bar were taking place and no guests were aware of this.everything was perfect above all expectation, the guests still talk about it today. Thanks to the chilton it made our special day perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggytort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write your view. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at The Chilton and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Went for sunday lunch and booked the table in advance. Upon arrival we were informed that our table had been given to someone else despite we were ten minutes early. The waitress was not at all apolagetic and instead placed us in the normal bar for lunch.

the service was quick but this was no surprise as the food had clearly had no attention. Food was similar to that of a value readymeal and was served piecemeal so we couldnt even all eat together...

Service was minimal.

Place was friendly and decent but overall I was extremely underwhelmed and wont be going back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rumfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth D, Manager at Chilton Country Pub and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at The Chilton Country Pub and Hotel. We take all comments very serious and will be discussing your view with all members of staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fencehouses
2.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
276 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
4.9 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilton Country Pub and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilton Country Pub and Hotel

Address: Blackboy Road, Fencehouses DH4 6PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Fencehouses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fencehouses
Price Range: £55 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chilton Country Pub and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chilton Country Pub and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilton Country Pub Hotel Fencehouses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing