We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chilton Country Pub and Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highfield Hotel(Houghton-le-Spring)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Power House(Chester-le-Street)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street(Chester-le-Street)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
127
109
51
31
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
109
51
31
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade chipschicken kievcoach tripwedding receptionfunction roompiping hotcoach partychristmas partyfull englishexcellent value for moneyyogurtdurhamdiscocarveryexecutiveensuiteduvet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Arrived here on Friday 22nd August 2014. Was in reception ringing the bell for at least 20 minutes with no response in the end my partner had to go searching for someone who worked there to check in. Room was nice and clean. Please be advised that if you book this deal on Groupon like we did and want to stay on a Friday/Saturday then they charge you an additional £20. We paid it as we were told on the phone that it gets very busy over the weekend so we thought fair enough, sounds like a lovely place to be (we were wrong - it was dead!). We booked a table for 8pm in the restaurant and when we arrived we were told the table was still dirty and that we would have to come back, the waitress came to collect us 15 minutes later. When the waitress brought our food out she asked if we would like any sauces to which I replied yes some mayonnaise please. The waitress said yes no problem but never returned with it and continued to serve other people instead. She also stood by the kitchen doors laughing, joking and gossiping with the other waitress why there were people waiting to be served and pay the bill. Extremely poor customer service. The other waitress who was serving was much ruder, she didn't smile or say please and thank you. We overheard another customer complain about his fish being too small and undercooked to this waitress and her response was 'Well I didn't see it come out so I can't say anything'. We had to ask her for our free complimentary sparkling wine (Groupon deal) and she rudely interrupted when my partner was trying to explain we hadn't receive it she snapped 'Oh you want your wine'. If we hadn't of asked then it would have never been given to us. She continued to give us dirty looks and made is feel very unwelcome. During breakfast the next morning the waitress brought out our toast 30 minutes before our cooked breakfast so it was freezing by the time we ate it. My partner asked the waiter for no mushrooms and guess what he received... Mushrooms. The poor customer service really lets this place down as the staff are unprofessional and unfriendly. Won't be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravellerSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Food is lovely and the staff attentive. Can be slower when full but the food brought to the table to help yourself to the vegetables is a very pleasant experience, unlike the trend to cattle market crushes of carvery all in all good food and service at a good price.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Tricky58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

For the price paid, i would say it was ok. because It almost does what it says on the tin, but certainly no more.
With rather small changes, this could be an even better place.
The location is great and the property looks neat from the outside.

Arrived for check in and rang the bell at the receiption, after a few more times, someone turned up, she apologised and was quite friendly, ok so far, this could happen.

Room was ok so far, just the shower had almost no water pressure, options were boiling hot with some traces of water flow, or an acceptable temperature just dripping..

Ok, managed that, went down for dinner and found staff which was barely motivated, rather grumpy and acting in slow motion. The only outstanding one was the girl who served the food, she was the only one who smiled and did actually talk in full sentences.

Food was good but nothing outstanding, certainly spoiled by the strange atmosphere.
Breakfast was ok, coffee dreadful, fortunately i always have some Nescafe on hand.
On checkout, again no one in sight, rang the bell a few times ...same story as at check in time .

Ample parking, free & fast WiFi gains some plus points.
Windows do open, but just the tiny part at the top.
Would i stay there again ? Perhaps, if i cannot find something else for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband booked a couple of nights away at this hotel. Our room and the hotel were very clean. The bar and restaurant were very busy both nights we were there. Not surprised why, the food was FAB!
However there were a couple of members of staff who clearly did not want to be at work that day!

But overall would stay again and would recommend to friends.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked three rooms to accommodate my son and his wife and my daughter for a surprise for my wife who celebrated her 70th birthday one week previously.
Rooms were beautifully maintained containing everything one would want for an overnight stay.
Hotel is in the country and a car is desirable.
Ate in the restaurant in the evening. Wide menu catering for all tastes which satisfied the various requirements of the party. Food cooked to perfection being well presented and giving excellent value for money. Bar prices were surprisingly affordable.
An excellent and successful family reunion.

Room Tip: Ground floor opposite reception desk. Quiet and comfortable looking out over the countryside.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank doppa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews