We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guinness in the garden”
Review of Langdon Beck Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forest-in-Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Langdon Beck Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Guinness in the garden”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Spur of the moment decision to have lunch here after hiking along the river to Cauldron Snout. What a superb location and friendly people. We were warmly welcomed and and our order taken promptly. Beautiful sunny day so the four of us had lunch in the garden with Cronkley Fell in the background. Quality of food was excellent and the soup tasted delicious. We didn't want to leave. I can highly recommend this gem of a hotel for service, quality and situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonCrawford_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    46
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Although I only stayed here one night, I was walking the Pennine Way, it was very comfortable. Nice warm fire in the bar. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast in the morning. The view out my bedroom window was beautiful. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of five was due to the shared bathroom. It was nice and quiet no loud noises. If you want to watch TV, you will have to go somewhere else. They do have wifi. I loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks upon the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevadaWolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosham sussex
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Food pretty good and people very friendly. The room was pretty basic but ok. No television or radio. Lovely views and nice surroundings. Nice atmosphere in the bar. We had some lovely home made soup and it was nice to be offered small portions for main meals. Its a shame the weather was so bad. Could not believe they lit the log fire in July.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at the Langdon Beck Hotel. We booked this as a gift for a friend's birthday. Everyone at this hotel was so friendly and kind. We were shown to our rooms which were clean and warm with the most incredible views and made to feel really welcome. We had a little dog with us who was also made to feel really welcomed and was very spoilt by everyone! The food was incredible especially the steak pie which is huge. The chips were also delicious and the breakfast was very good. The atmosphere is so relaxing and nothing is too much trouble. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

last week my husband and I visited the Langdon Beck hotel. It was a beautiful sunny afternoon so took our drinks outside into the beer garden. The views towards the hill made a great back drop and so we decided to eat our lunch outside as well. My husband had cottage pie and I had the burger. The beef in both dishes was full of flavour and we both enjoyed it. I would probably describe the menu as 'pub lunch' type. Nothing fancy but good honest food and I would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Popped in to the hotel for lunch on the way back home. Man behind the bar was very friendly and only just made the lunch cut off time of 2pm (we arrived at the bar 1.57!) Ordered our meals and decided as it was a nice sunny day to sit outside. The views from the garden are fantastic, out across the hills. We did not have to wait very long before a lady brought out our food and it was worth waiting for. I had the steak pie and chips, definitely home made, good portion and packed with beef, covered in thick gravy, peas and a bowl of chips. Bet your mouths are watering already, they should be it was delicious. We had two main meals and two alcoholic drinks and it came to less than £20. Nice......

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff on Sea
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Have just returned from another great beer festival weekend at the Langdon Beck Hotel. Sue and her team all work incredibly hard to ensure the weekend is a success. The beers were all in perfect condition, the food was excellent and the bedrooms were, as always, clean and comfortable. Despite the Saturday and the Sunday being particularly busy, the service for both food and drink was prompt and pleasantly served by the friendly and professional staff. I could find nothing the fault over the three days we were there and am looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimandSara_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest-in-Teesdale
0.0 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 9 in Middleton in Teesdale
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Langdon Beck
YHA Langdon Beck
#1 of 5 in Barnard Castle
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#2 of 14 in Alston
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lowbyer Manor Country House
0.0 mi away
The Ancient Unicorn
The Ancient Unicorn
#1 of 1 in Bowes
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Beck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Beck Hotel

Property: Langdon Beck Hotel
Address: Forest-in-Teesdale DL12 0XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Forest-in-Teesdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forest-in-Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing