We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good homemade food”
Review of Langdon Beck Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forest-in-Teesdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Langdon Beck Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good homemade food”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stopped off the way to Weardale for an evening meal and was not disappointed. Good choice of meals on the blackboard. Enjoyed the steak pie which had lots of tender meat, also great chips, will call again when next in the area. Geology room well worth the visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    45
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
38
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington tyne and wear
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and i were just out for the day and stopped here for a soft drink and table no 1 is just perfect in the bay window. So its not 5star but its nice and quiet, friendly and set in a wonderfull place,just what you need in todays world, it may be tiredand in need of a bit money spent on it but i would not change it for the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_r_27wash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We turned up for lunch, unannounced, and had a good selection of sandwiches, toasties, and puddings. Considering that we're an unruly mob aged between 16 and 80, the staff were attentive and courteous. Mum found the geology room particularly interesting. Would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank smartiefoodbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Langdon Beck offers a menu of substantial wholesome food which suits its clientele.
Good quality steak pie and homemade cottage pie could not be faulted. Served with peas and chips it was very acceptable. Granted the surroundings may appear a little dated but you are always welcome here whether you have the dog with you, have been hiking and have muddy boots etc (we don't ALWAYS have wonderful weather!) Worth a visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,179 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

There is a geology museum housed in its own room in the pub in memory of a previous landlord and the evening we visited there were some Irish musicians playing in the smallest bar. The food we ad was home made pie and a quiche, good portions at reasonable prices. The dining room is a little lacking in atmosphere and all the action takes place in the middle bar but would definately revsit

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here on my Pennine Way charity walk and found the staff really friendly. I arrived quite early after a fairly short day and enjoyed sitting in the bar having a drink while I waited for my room to be ready. It was a short but really peaceful stay and I hardly felt like I was in a hotel. I could gaze out from my room at people training their sheepdogs on the field below and I was delighted to discover that they had a bath with Radox (such a rarity!). The people seemed genuinely interested in my walk and provided a delicious packed lunch for a small charge. I left revived and refreshed so no complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesignerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Just average meal,could do a lot better,menu needs some more exciting meals added.
Must get a lot of tourists so some homecooked food would be nicer.
In a lovely location for walks etc.
Staff very polite and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest-in-Teesdale
0.0 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Forresters Hotel & Restaurant
The Forresters Hotel & Restauran...
#2 of 9 in Middleton in Teesdale
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Coach House At The Golden Lion
Old Coach House At The Golden Li...
#1 of 2 in St. John's Chapel
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#1 of 14 in Alston
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Beck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Beck Hotel

Property: Langdon Beck Hotel
Address: Forest-in-Teesdale DL12 0XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Forest-in-Teesdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Forest-in-Teesdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing