We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow delivery, good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bengal Lancer

The Bengal Lancer
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Withernsea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Halifax
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow delivery, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Really enjoyed our meal when it arrived, did take a while tho.
Phoned our order through just as they opened so accepted one hour for delivery. It arrived after one and a half hours and two further phone calls.
Nice chap delivered the food, the guy on the phone could take some lessons. :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SideShowBob_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    30
    11
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

When Bengal first opened it was lovely and the service was perfect.
We have been back a lot and it has gradually got worse.
This trip really stood out though!!
We were having a meal with some family and friends and the restaurant was not really full.
Before everyone had even sat down they were asking if we wanted poppadum's and not in a friendly manner. As we received our poppadum's they wanted to take our food orders! We said can you please give us 5 minutes and he huffed and stomped off!
The food was okay but not great that's why I have given it 2 green circles instead of 1.
Just not happy at all!!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KerryAnn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I usually go to this Indian once a week. The staff are really friendly and the food is to die for. It is the best Indian food we have ever had. The restaurant itself is very basic but the food and staff make up for it. They don't have an alcohol license but you can take your own beer and wine, which is great for a cheap meal out. I usually have the chicken tikka pathia which is usually made hot but I ask them to make it mild, it is gorgeous, made with chutney and is the best!!!!
Best Indian in East Yorkshire!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sallythomas0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
199 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good value Curry House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Its always a good sign when you enter a restaurant at 18:00 and its busy! - had never been at the Bengal Lancer before and only entered having read the Trip Advisor reviews. My wide and I were not dissapointed - really good value, well cooked and piping hot. The curry's are not greasy which was suprising - they tasted really good and didnt leave me with that 'bloated' feeling when we left. Usual choices with a few chefs specials - worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trevor6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bengal Lancer Withernsea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and i don't eat out often but as we were away for our wedding Anniversary we decided to go. We went to the Bengal Lancer, greeted at the door and offered a table for two, sat down and the table was spotless and ready set with cutlery and glasses, we took our own bottle of wine as they have no alcohol and you are invited to take your own alcohol. I felt really special, actually tearfully (but i am emotional anyway:) They put a flower on the table and came and lit a candle, we thought it was so lovely and romantic, made our day. We ordered poppadoms and salad and then ordered our main of Curry and Pilau Rice, the meal was perfect, absolutely beautiful, we were asked mid meal if all was ok and the staff's care and attention was lovely. The place looked spotless and we had a wonderful evening which i don't think i'll ever forget...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smileydebs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bengal Lancer also viewed

Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bengal Lancer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing