We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To the Lighthouse!”

Withernsea Lighthouse Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“To the Lighthouse!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From Lincolnshire, we visited Withernsea and the inland Lighthouse for the first time a week ago with friends from London who were staying with us for the weekend. We couldn't have chosen a better place to take them..and us! Our 6 year old daughter loved the whole experience...especially climbing the 144 steps to the top including the last few VERY steep steps! Very proud of her! Not for the fainthearted or physically disabled, unfortunately, but once at the top, the views of the sea, coastline, rooftops and various other buildings is amazing.

There is a small but diverse range of exhibits, photographs, historical information on the ground floor, all worth reading. The Kay Kendall museum attached is lovely with genuine personal items on show, the tourist information is useful to have there (with a very helpful lady!) and the cafe with more tables in the beautiful garden is great.

This is definitely worth the £2/£3 entry (adults) entry fee. Just one negative...we couldn't find Kay Kendall's house which is a few houses away, apparently!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    28
    10
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Its quaint and quiet”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Came to Withernsea from South Yorkshire via the M62 through Hull which took about and hour and three quarts in the car.Lots of small villages to pass thro' on the last 20 miles so consumes the time but the countryside is nice on the eye with Pubs and B+Bs along the way.
Withernsea is small isolated community on the North Humber coast with walks drifting south to Spurn Point if you like that sort of rambling.
The " Valley Gardens " in the centre of the town has a playground , a stage which a choir was singing 60s songs today.It is surrounded by the local town with a small traditional amusements and cafe atmosphere to enjoy.
I enjoyed the Lighthouse musuem along with seamens tales which are always enthralling as being out at sea is the hardest job in the world.Be prepared to walk up and obviously back down the lighthouse steps with a pumping heart.
There are ;places to get fish and chips or cafes for dinners and drinks with toilets in the centre.
If you are at the caravan sites than an Aldi and Tesco are in the town to top the provisions up from.
If you want a few days of peace and a nice beach this is a place which has managed to stay a generation or so back in the past and enables some chill time without all of the commercialism of just a few miles further up the coast or south over the Humber bridge.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Purplehatbagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very nice people and café is quaint. Not lots to do here, they should consider doing some interactive stuff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great view of Withernsea”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My legs ached by the time I had got to the top of the lighthouse but the view was worth it. The staff were friendly and there were some interesting exhibits including a section about a locally born actress Kay Kendall. The admittance fee and the cafe were good value and I would recommend a visit for all, particularly if you can manage the climb to the top.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank leisuretraveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We took three very relectant boys here as myself and my husband wanted to have a look. Cheap to get in and looking up to the top was grill,but made my husband not want to go to the top! My boys are 15, 7 & 5 and all of them plus me did the whole climb to the top. Eldest did it twice as middle didn't want to at first. Its a bit scary and I went a bit dizzy but it was worth it. The staff will give a certificate on descent ifyouask for it,which the youngest proudly took to school to show his teacher. The museum is lovely and informative. There was more to it than I thought. There are adjoining tearooms (you can use this without going to the museum) which were just lovely with a big garden. A lady gave my boys a list of things to find in the garden and when they had completed it they got a lollipop! Kept us all going trying to find everything! Drinks were reasonably priced and a pot of tea for two gave us six small cups!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank poppy2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Withernsea Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Withernsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Withernsea Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing