We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time motel visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yorkway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yorkway Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pocklington
Certificate of Excellence
donington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first time motel visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

our first time staying in a motel it is next to he busy 1079 road but you could not hear the traffic in the room which was very comfortable a good nights sleep. service was exellant war and friendly welcome. We had a wedding on the friday and the after do was at the kp golf club at pocklington
and the staff at the motel was very helpful with taxi firms. the food was exceilent and the service was quick and exceilent. Overall a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    53
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
48
65
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed here for one night while cycle touring. The bikes were looked after and securely locked up in a shed for us. Our room was a little chalet, just like you see in American films, but much less seedy. There was a young lady on reception who also worked the bar, did waitressing in the restaurant later and also IT support when we had trouble accessing the wi-fi. She worked her socks off and is a real asset to the motel.

The dining room was tastefully decorated and the dinner was good. Our room/chalet was spacious. The bed's mattress had coiled springs but nonetheless was very comfortable.

The folk who write negative reviews perhaps forget that this is a budget motel, not the Ritz.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The Yorkway served its purpose as a stop over on our cycle tour. Secure bike storage was provided. Rooms were clean and very spacious although the bathrooms were a bit dated. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was a good bar area with a pool table and TV where we could watch the Olympics. We chose to eat dinner at the motel as it was a little way out of Pocklington and we did not want to cycle further that day. Unfortunately, the food was disappointed - my pie was very dry and the chips were fried and tasted so unhealthy that I couldn't eat many of them and so I was hungry at the end of my meal. One of our group of six had the lasagne which was apparently OK but the rest of us did not particularly enjoy our food. Breakfast, however, was better - I chose poached egg with beans on toast and it was very edible.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We booked a table for 5 at the Yorkway Motel just off the 1079. We received a warm welcome from the lady at reception. Service at the bar was quick and friendly. All in our party were pleased with the food although we had to wait awhile for it to be served. Clean surroundings, will definitely return!
Good stop off from travelling East to West of East Riding, Beautiful market town of Pocklington, close to fabulous Golf Club, Pock Arts Centre & Gallery, good variety of shops, caravan & camping centre close by so Yorkway is fantastic for a drink and meal out without having to hire a taxi! Listed buildng of the Buddhist Centre is a short drive away!

Room Tip: Can park your car just outside your chalet! Oodles of parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIG43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed in room 12 at the yorkway from Monday-Friday last week. I had never stayed in a motel before and wasn't sure what to expect, but it was really brilliant! Things which I didn't know.... this motel provides fresh towels everyday, and has all that you would expect from a hotel (iron, really good hairdryer....usually hotel hairdryers are crap! and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. )
Room 12 was the end room, with a gorgeous view over a field. We parked at the front door so we were able to keep an eye on our car. The room was really spacious, with a double and single bed and lovely bedding. Really comfy beds; Tv with the majority of sky channels; a few mirrors; brilliant lighting in the room and lots of storage space; a phone and a decent bathroom with a good shower.
The motel is situated in a handy location. We stayed here because we were attending a golf competition at the KP Golf club. We had our car with us and pocklington was about 2 minutes down the road....such a pretty town! Lovely shops and bars and restaurants. The golf club is about 5 minutes by car.
We ate twice at the Yorkway, the first night was abso amazing, the second night wasn't as good, but still decent...and the prices were very decent too, for food and drink. Their rose wine is beautiful!

I couldn't say enough about the staff. They were really friendly, especially the owner Michael. He even rang us one day to check we were ok for taxis because it was our first outing without our car on one of the evenings. And he came and picked us up and gave us a lift into town. Wouldn't take a penny off us and steered us towards a really good pub to drink in where we got chatting to a couple of really lovely people, which made the night even better!I think that's probably the best customer service we've ever had out of anywhere he have ever stayed. My other half was beyond impressed and we're really looking forward to going back.

I read one of the reviews about noise from passing traffic, I only noticed it if I had the bathroom window open, and then only whilst I was in the bathroom.

The breakfasts every morning were top notch, great food brought in from the local butchers.

The other customers were a nice bunch.

I can't recommend this place highly enough!!!

Room Tip: Room 12 was perfect, best view I think! And whilst the place was never noisy, this would guarantee t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The motel rooms are spacious with all amenities you could want. Comfy beds, flat screen tv, bath and shower and excellant heating. Bike storage is secure, and hotel staff are very helpful. Food in the restaurant is excellent. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed by chance without consulting TripAdvisor - but the comments from others are bang on, including that the staff are excellent, with possibly one exception. But Michael could not have been more helpful.

The rooms are all close to the main road, but not a problem for me once I had closed the bathroom door which provided a buffer. The room was spotless a little lacking in decor, but very reasonable for the price of £65.00 for a double including an excellent breakfast for the two of us.

I liked the "motel" formal ability to park right outside your room. Definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wefstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocklington
10.5 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
12.8 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
1.2 mi away
The KP
The KP
#2 of 6 in Pocklington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yorkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yorkway Motel

Property: Yorkway Motel
Address: The Balk | The Balk, Pocklington YO42 2NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Pocklington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pocklington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits everyone at The Yorkway Motel. Our new lounge is warm and inviting either for a coffee or a nice cool beer. Our restaurant caters for all from our Homemade Steak & Ale pie to something a little different. Our Refurbished rooms are all on one level and easy access parking makes the Yorkway well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Yorkway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkway Hotel Pocklington
Yorkway Motel Pocklington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing