We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great relaxing break in a spacious 1 bedroom...”
other travellers have booked this property
Carpenter's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carpenter's Cottage
Located in the heart of historic Pocklington Built in 1850 and beautifully renovated in 2010
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Carpenter's Cottage
Located in the heart of historic Pocklington
Built in 1850 and beautifully renovated in 2010
Comfy recliner sofa and underfloor heated quarry tiles
Well-equipped kitchen and dining
Utility room with new washer/dryer
Bedroom with pretty stained glass window
View from bedroom to church
En suite bathroom
Cosy wood burning stove
Cottage private courtyard
Secure cycle store
Free use of shared garden
Help yourself to home grown herbs and veg
Our free range hens
York Minster - a short drive from Pocklington
Pocklington Arts Centre - a short stroll from the cottage
Burnby Hall Gardens - another short stroll from the cottage
Beautiful Yorkshire Wolds accessible by footpath from Pocklington
Kilnwick Percy Hall - a stunning walk from the cottage
Woodland walks at Kilnwick Percy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jjmac65
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great relaxing break in a spacious 1 bedroom cottage in lovely Pocklington”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely little cottage.We had a lovely relaxing couple of days its location is ideal for short bus trip into York and Hull.The cottage is perfect everything you need is at hand its lovely and cosy and spotlessly clean.I would recommend Judsons for Sunday lunch its well worth the visit.A big thank you to Helen and Patrick for the lovely welcome pack as requested.Will be returning for longer next time

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob186525
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were not very sure about going to pocklington for the last stage of our 6 stop tour. We also took the chance on a fairly new advertised property. Well we were more than happy about the lovely little town, with its local shops, eating places and bars. The property was a really lovely detatched 2 floor apartment, in the grounds of the owners property. You can park your car inside a secure spot next to your door. We are sure that Helen and Patrick will do very well here, as they made us very welcome. Even showing us round there lovely large garden. The property has all you will need for your stay,its very clean and comfortable. All in all we made a very good choice, thanks again to Helen and Patrick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So compact and near to town
Liked least: nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinodhush
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Quiet, peaceful and gorgeous cottage in a beautiful little village. The cottage is separate from the main house offering privacy. It was fully stocked- even had milk in the fridge. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuffolkCa...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in a lovely small town close to York and the coast.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were welcomed to the accommodation by our hosts who were very friendly and on one memorable occasion we got back to the cottage to find a couple of cakes waiting for us! The cottage itself was well appointed and very comfortable. After settling in we looked around the town which has every facility you could wish for. It's central location makes it convenient for both York and the coast.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
17mpb
lennox head
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is light and well set up although no washing macine (although owner very kindly did some for us). A little noise from the street if window is open which you really need. Very friendly owners .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
Washing machine/tumble dryer (7kg) now installed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail H
Liverpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having just returned from a short but sweet stay at the cottage we would highly recommend this cottage to friends and family. It is so cute and Helen and Patrick the owners certainly go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. We had one or two days of decent weather so were able to sit outside and listen to the birds and on one occasion it was a delight to find Helen playing the piano - keep it up Helen it was really lovely.

The booking process was easy and Helen answered any questions we had beforehand.

As has been said before it is a delightful little cottage for 2 with every amenity that is required. There is plenty of pots and pans and utensils if you want to cook in. The bed was so comfortable that we found it very hard to get out of in the morning. Every bit of the cottage is spotlessly clean and the icing on the cake was the log burner which we lit on one occasion. We are coming back in the winter and will look forward to lighting this again in the colder months.

The courtyard garden is also the parking space for your car so you dont have to worry about finding parking spaces if you go out and come back although we left the car there and travelled by bus everywhere.

We cannot really add as what has been said before except to say that Pocklington is a delightful town with a lot more eateries for eating out than we thought. We ate at the Station Hotel one night and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals we have had for a long time and inexpensive. The Coffee Bean is also worth a try for a delicious cake and coffee.

Helen and Patrick your warmth shone through when we met you and no doubt you will see us again. You made us feel very welcome and no doubt your little cottage will give you lots of success in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and oh the log burner and Helen being so accommodating with the table and chairs outside
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hideaway for two in Pocklington”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a far too short stay in Carpenter's Cottage. Really comfortable and well furnished in a modern and tasteful way. Bright and cosy, this cottage is really close to shops and takeaways on a surprisingly quiet street. Helen made us very welcome and was very helpful. If you are looking for a perfect way to visit York without staying in the city - this cottage is perfect for two.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$82
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing