We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely trip to Yorkshire”
other travellers have booked this property
Carpenter's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carpenter's Cottage
Comfy recliner sofa and underfloor heated quarry tiles Well-equipped kitchen and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Carpenter's Cottage
Comfy recliner sofa and underfloor heated quarry tiles
Well-equipped kitchen and dining
Utility room with new washer/dryer
Bedroom with pretty stained glass window
View from bedroom to church
En suite bathroom
Cosy wood burning stove
Cottage private courtyard
Built in 1850 and beautifully renovated in 2010
Secure cycle store
Free use of shared garden
Help yourself to home grown herbs and veg
Our free range hens
York Minster - a short drive from Pocklington
Pocklington Arts Centre - a short stroll from the cottage
Burnby Hall Gardens - another short stroll from the cottage
Beautiful Yorkshire Wolds accessible by footpath from Pocklington
Kilnwick Percy Hall - a stunning walk from the cottage
Woodland walks at Kilnwick Percy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EN5694
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely trip to Yorkshire”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is all you need for a break away. Home from home. Log burner, lovely sitting area. Bed is super comfy! Very clean and well kept cottage and very close to Pocklington's pubs, restaurants and shops. Would recommend to family and friends.Host Helen was friendly and very helpful.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and beautifully appointed / situated”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage is beautiful - cozy and comfortable but with modern amenities. I hit a cold spell during my stay but the cottage was always warm - I loved the underfloor heating downstairs. The location cannot be improved upon - literally minutes to the main street and shops/ restaurants but still quiet and private. I loved the offstreet parking/ access which added to the feeling of privacy. Helen was lovely - accommodating on my arrival and departure times and left milk, eggs (from the chickens that roam around the pretty gardens), tea, coffee to get me started. No question I will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O
1 review
“Best Place to Stay in Pocklington!”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in Pocklington for three nights for a 90th birthday and all other guests commented on how we had the best accomodation. Patrick & Helen were excellent from the beginning to end. They were available to greet us, with friendly chat, fresh eggs in the fridge from their hens and then left us to enjoy our stay with the knowledge that if we needed anything we could call on them. The accomodation ticked the three C's for us: cosy, clean and so close to town.
Look no further as would recommend Carpenters Cottage to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burner ready to use
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertTok...
Tokyo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is an extremely nice little cottage, which has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The owners are very welcoming and make sure you are happy. I strongly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keithandv...
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant stay in Carpenters Cottage”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Would highly recommend this cottage. If you are thinking about it go for it. Everything you need in very cosy cottage and very warm welcome from Helen and Patrick. The hand made furniture made by the owner and stained glass window in the bedroom are particular features. Also the lovely log burning stove. We would certainly return.

Vicki and keith

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
746mrsas
1 review
“Fantastic, great stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Arrived early and had a lovely welcome. Beautifully set out cottage with everything we needed.
Lit the log burner and enjoyed a lovely meal in.
Wold recommend the cottage for a base to say whilst investigating Yorkshire .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log burner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidblad...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Loved the cottage first thing that you notice is how very clean and well cared for it is. Helen the owner came to greet us made us feel very welcome we are already looking at booking our next stay. Also Pocklington a lovely little Market Town to visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing