We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, perfect little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Carpenter's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Carpenter's Cottage
Comfy recliner sofa and underfloor heated quarry tiles Well-equipped kitchen and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Carpenter's Cottage
Comfy recliner sofa and underfloor heated quarry tiles
Well-equipped kitchen and dining
Utility room with new washer/dryer
Bedroom with pretty stained glass window
View from bedroom to church
En suite bathroom
Cosy wood burning stove
Cottage private courtyard
Built in 1850 and beautifully renovated in 2010
Secure cycle store
Free use of shared garden
Help yourself to home grown herbs and veg
Our free range hens
York Minster - a short drive from Pocklington
Pocklington Arts Centre - a short stroll from the cottage
Burnby Hall Gardens - another short stroll from the cottage
Beautiful Yorkshire Wolds accessible by footpath from Pocklington
Kilnwick Percy Hall - a stunning walk from the cottage
Woodland walks at Kilnwick Percy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rcipda
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, perfect little cottage”
Reviewed 1 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights on a short business trip. Was greeted in person even though I arrived late in the evening. Scones, welcome postcard, cleanliness second to none, safe parking, easy walking distance to local town - everything absolutely perfect. Thank you :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodder007
Fareham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hi we were house hunting and needed something central and you cannot get much closer to the centre than this - 150metres!. The accommodation is self catering and is ideal for a single or a couple. Iit consists of a ground floor with lounge/diner/kitchen BUT is more than enough with the bed and bathroom on the first floor. Its November so its cold outside but this little gem is warm and cosy. 'Light the wood fire' - says Patrick (the host) but its not needed. We had travelled 250 miles and the little things like: fresh flowers, cakes, tea coffee even milk - meant we felt at home immediately.
Clean? - immaculate, Cosy? Absolutely. Cooking Facilities? - cooker, microwave - what more do you need. Ok there are pubs and takeaways/restaurants within 300 metres if you need these.
The hosts were perfect - we introduced ourselves and they were available (or not) as you desired.
No its not a multi national hotel chain - it is what it is - self contained 1 bed cottage - but it beats most every tie.
As a hotel inspector for 25 years plus - if only I could have done my reports and moved into something like this!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davemiddx
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage / Great location”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Cosy cottage, everything you need for a stay. Owners are very welcoming.
Pocklington is a nice small town with lots of shops & restaurants within walking distance.
It is in a very convenient location for visiting York. Short drive and use the park and ride, especially if you have a seniors travelcard which gives you a discount. York has lots to see and we got around the Jorvik Centre, National Rail Museum, Merchant Adventurers Hall, Chocolate Tour, Minster and Shambles and could easily have spent another couple of days there looking at the Walls, and other museums.
We also vistited the Yorkshir Air Museum at Elvington, which was interesting if you have an interest in WW2 aircraft.
There also seem to be lots of other places within easy driving range if we had had more time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon C
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A very cosy, comfortable and beautifully presented little cottage. We loved it and can't wait to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley C
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, lovely location”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is cosy and in the best meaning of the word: comfortable; warm and relaxing. Ideal for a couple. It is spotlessly clean with clear attention to detail from the owners: fresh flowers; a handwritten welcome note and a box of eggs from their lovely chickens. Helpful additions include: milk; tea bags; coffee; cooking oils; condiments; shower/bath gel and shampoo and all matters for dish and clothes washing.
The owners, Helen and Patrick, make you very welcome when you arrive and assure you of their availability throughout your stay. They provide helpful tips on places to visit. They provide total access to their garden. Their chickens are an absolute delight and make regular visits if you sit outside on the patio.
The place itself is located for exploring the Yorkshire Wolds (check the map for exact entry points and places to park); Bempton Cliffs (RSPB nature reserve £4 per adult for non members) is just over an hour's drive but worthy just to see the cute Puffins!! Pocklington Canal is a lovely walk and the Canal Head is in Pocklington opposite the Wellington Pub!
Pocklington is a lovely little town with plenty of cafes; pubs/restaurants and a couple of rather nice chippys!
Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EN5694
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely trip to Yorkshire”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is all you need for a break away. Home from home. Log burner, lovely sitting area. Bed is super comfy! Very clean and well kept cottage and very close to Pocklington's pubs, restaurants and shops. Would recommend to family and friends.Host Helen was friendly and very helpful.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and beautifully appointed / situated”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage is beautiful - cozy and comfortable but with modern amenities. I hit a cold spell during my stay but the cottage was always warm - I loved the underfloor heating downstairs. The location cannot be improved upon - literally minutes to the main street and shops/ restaurants but still quiet and private. I loved the offstreet parking/ access which added to the feeling of privacy. Helen was lovely - accommodating on my arrival and departure times and left milk, eggs (from the chickens that roam around the pretty gardens), tea, coffee to get me started. No question I will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing