We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shoyswell Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Etchingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just got back from a wonderful stay at Shoyswell. I can honestly say that the only negative thing was that we couldn't stay for longer. The accommodation, house and grounds are beautiful and styled impeccably. We felt incredibly well looked after thanks to the amazing hospitality and it really felt like a home from home. As well as the incredible hosts Tiny and Lola were also an absolute delight. I would highly recommend a stay at Shoyswell and can't wait to go back!

Thank you Jolyon and Lawrence!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T8009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked for 4 nights from July. Given a warm welcome by Jolyon (and Tiny and Lola).
We were shown to our room and then provided with tea and coffee on the patio. This overlooks the expansive garden and duck pond. The downstairs is free for all the guests to use and has some interesting features. Superb breakfast, cooked by Jolyon while keeping a conversation with the guests. Jolyon was very helpful and even watered plants we had bought. I would highly recommend this B&B and indeed have booked for a stay next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room which has dual aspects. One side overlooks the garden and lake/pond, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubblejak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolyon_11, Owner at Shoyswell Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for your review, and for taking the time to write about us! Highly appreciated!
Tiny, Lola and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to Shoyswell next year!
All the best,
Jolyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Well what can I say? A lot actually! It's all good, so keep reading. My other half and I arrived on Friday with just enough time to get ready for a wedding in Ticehurst. But low and behold, Jolyon the host, had forgotten that we were arriving earlier than the stated check-in time and wasn't there! I called him and with massive apologies, he arrived 15 minutes later in true style (ask him about that when you go and stay).

He let us in, immediately upgraded us to The Oriental room which was beautiful and bought us a tray of tea. The tray, cups and milk jug were so pretty - I took a picture! Without much time to order a cab, he drove us to the wedding himself, which was two miles down the road.

After a very comfortable night, we got up and had breakfast. With Tiny and Lola at our feet (such gorgeous dogs!) we enjoyed a delicious full English and freshly brewed coffee, whilst chatting to Jolyon about the amazing pond, wildlife and huge beautiful garden that he tends to himself.

I honestly didn't want to leave. Jolyon was the perfect host - attentive, without being suffocating and possessed a wicked sense of humour that we both loved. And the dogs, oh how I miss the dogs. They were so cute, well behaved and what's more, didn't smell at all! Who wants to stay at a B&B that smells of dogs, I certainly don't.

I will definitely be back - it was perfect!

If you're reading this Jolyon - see you soon and a massive thank you for a very enjoyable visit. Hopefully we can meet Lawrence next time.

Mel & Phil x

Room Tip: The Oriental Room had double doors onto the garden - beautiful. I didn't see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolyon_11, Owner at Shoyswell Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello again!
Thank you for being so understanding about my fruit-fly memory, and the fact that I wasn't there when you arrived; and also for being so forgiving about my, ahem, demeanour when I did put in an appearance - I think it all went uphill from there, didn't it?!
I certainly look forward to seeing you at Shoyswell Cottage in the future, and Tiny and Lola send barks and a lick.

Regards,

Jolyon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at the Shoyswell B&B for four nights. After a busy week in London it was great to discover this gem in the english countryside. We got a warm welcome from both Jolylon and Lawrence, and as others say, it felt like visiting great friends! Fantastic house, bedroom, bathroom, garden++ Thank you for having us!! This really made our trip to England memorable! We were almost sad to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swoosh_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Shoyswell Cottage is a nice place with a great garden, nice hosts and comfortable tasteful rooms.
The breakfast is delicious with homemade bread and marmelade, cheese, eggs etc. We enjoyed aour stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Shoyswell Cottage is advertised as a B&B, it's better described as being welcomed into Jolylon and Lawrence's home as that's certainly what it was. From our welcome to our send off our visit could not have been more perfect. The garden, rooms and the hospitality were second to none. An hour from our pad in London we'll certainly be back and look forward to having tea or a cheeky glass of red on the terrace! If you're looking for a stop over in East Sussex or nearby Kent then this is a must! Breakfast rocked with fresh eggs from the resident ducks as did Lola and Tiny the friendliest of pups!

Room Tip: Which room? Any one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolyon_11, Owner at Shoyswell Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mark & Andrew,

Thank you very much for your kind review and your vote of confidence - we look forward to welcoming you back to Shoyswell at any time of year - it always has a certain beauty here!
Tiny and Lola are also looking forward to playing with Toby again...particularly Lola, I suspect!

All the best,

Jolyon & Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a wonderful couple of nights here. Well placed for visiting the downs and the coast. It is much more luxury hotel than "bed and breakfast". The owner could not do more to make you welcome and comfortable. Breakfast is whatever you would like....
Do not hesitate to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolyon_11, Owner at Shoyswell Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review - Our aim is to ensure that our guests leave Shoyswell Cottage wishing to return in the future, so we do hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Jolyon & Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etchingham
1.8 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
6.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
150 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Leeford Place Hotel
Leeford Place Hotel
#2 of 5 in Battle
432 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Bell Inn Ticehurst
#1 of 3 in Ticehurst
335 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 3 in Robertsbridge
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoyswell Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoyswell Cottage B&B

Address: Shoyswell Cottage Sheepstreet Lane, Etchingham TN19 7AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Etchingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Etchingham
Price Range: £93 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoyswell Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shoyswell Cottage B&B is situated in an idyllic location of outstanding natural beauty about 2 miles from the village of Ticehurst, standing on the crest of a hill overlooking the Fleet Valley.The original cottages were built in the 18th century, and then in the 1930’s a villa was constructed next to them, and over the years this has been extended into the current rambling house.The house has gardens of about 3 ½ acres which includes a natural, spring-fed pond, vegetable garden and greenhouse, ornamental flower beds, and a small wood Accommodation:The current owners, two Notting Hill refugees, have taken the original 1930’s villa and converted this from a private residence into an upmarket B&B, which comprises 4 double bedrooms, a large communal sitting / garden room, entrance hall and the breakfast room. The gardens are completely at the disposal of our guests.The bedrooms have all been converted to have en-suite bathrooms, and all feature either King Size or Twin beds (according to your taste,) luxurious bed linen, fluffy towels, toiletries, flat screen TV/DVD, and tea/coffee making facilities.Breakfast:It has become something of a cliché to offer organic and locally-sourced, but we do take this very seriously…right down to the eggs which come from our own chickens clucking about in the vegetable garden, the meat which comes from our local farmer, the bread and jams which are homemade – we would even grow the coffee and tea if we had the climate!Your Hosts:Jolyon worked for a large Publishing House as the Publisher of a well-known luxury Hotel guide, and travelled extensively in Europe and the Middle East. Later he moved into hotel consultancy , and maintains strong contacts working within the hotel business.Lawrence is the Global Head of Visual for the fashion company COS, part of the H&M Group, and continues to travel extensively all over the World. He is a keen collector of objets d’art and a visual virtuoso.Additional Services:Ideally located an hour by train from London Charing Cross, we are happy to pick-up / drop-off at Etchingham Station.Dinner is available on request, otherwise we can recommend various restaurants in the area, as well as our two local gastro-pubs which offer excellent food.We can also organise picnics if requested, supplying everything neededfor an al fresco feast!Special events (Weddings, Birthday parties, Bar Mitzvah’s etc.,) can be arranged, as can sole use of house, should you wish to have a very private event.For any other ideas which you might wish to arrange – simply speak to the Hosts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoyswell Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoyswell Cottage B&B Etchingham, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing