We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King John's Lodge

King John's Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etchingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King John's Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Etchingham B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

I have to say I couldn't disagree more with the person writing the review complaining about the owners and the breakfast. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious!

We stayed here for a friends wedding at the local wedding venue, Swallows Oast. We were lucky in the end that we happened upon this b&b. The house and gardens are among the most beautiful I have ever seen, it was like staying in some sort fairytale castle.

Were I to return to the area I would certainly stay here again. In fact the house and gardens are so beautiful they merit a visit on their own. Don't hesitate to stay here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best, KJL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

We recently stayed in the beautiful, historic King Johns Lodge and what a lovely time we had. Our room was large and cosy, with an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was delicious, including fresh eggs laid by the chickens that roam the gardens. Talking of which, the gardens were absolutely stunning. Such a peaceful and romantic setting. The shop at the nursery was full of lovely gifts as well as an array of plants. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best, KJL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

I feel I must have stayed in a different place to the people in the other review! I had a lovely enormous room, with the most comfortable bed. I felt as if I was staying in a small stately home. The breakfasts were delicious and varied. The gardens are really beautiful, with several different areas - my favourites were the wild garden and the woodland walk. The owner's son has a propogating nursery at one end of the garden, and the shop is like an Aladdin's Cave, with all sorts of goodies to buy other than the actual plants. I would like to go back in June when all the roses will be out. Altogether I had a very relaxing few days.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best, KJL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2007

Viewed website and were keen to visit as listed in the top 20 B&B's in the UK by Which. Although it was a lovely house and gardens in glorious surroundings, it was unfortunately let down by the complete indifference of the owners and a very poor breakfast.
In all our extensive travels in the UK and abroad, this was the most disappointing. The owners seemed to think that the undoubted charms of the house were enough, and that no effort was required on their part in the way of service, food and general attention to detail.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Owners
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelmad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Hello,

Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at King John's Lodge. We try to make everyone's stay special and obviously you did not think this was the case with your visit. Obviously yours is an isolated view as (as you mention) King John's Lodge was listed in the top 20 B&Bs in Britain bu Which? and we have had hundreds of happy guests since opening our doors more than 15 years ago and fantastic feedback over the years from people from all parts of the world.

It is difficult to understand your comments and I would say that you said that you visited us in August 2006 yet did not post a review until a full year later in 2007.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etchingham
1.8 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Shoyswell Cottage B&B
Shoyswell Cottage B&B
#1 of 4 in Etchingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Bell Inn Ticehurst
#1 of 3 in Ticehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 3 in Robertsbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rosebank B&B
Rosebank B&B
#2 of 4 in Etchingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King John's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King John's Lodge

Property: King John's Lodge
Address: King Johns Lodge Sheepstreet Lane, Etchingham TN19 7AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Etchingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Etchingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the High Weald this romantic eight acre garden and house is as beautiful as it is tranquil and has captured the hearts of many a garden lover in the UK and abroad. There are four attractive double and twin rooms all of which have en-suite or private bathrooms and there is separate sitting room for guests with a TV. Weather permitting, tea can be taken in the garden. King John’s Lodge Bed and Breakfast is open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King John`s Hotel Etchingham
King John's Lodge Etchingham, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing