We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable lodge and considerate host!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crouch Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Latchingdon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable lodge and considerate host!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It may be all the C s but an A for effort with this B&B. We used the Lodge as a base for our hen weekend and were so pleased with the accommodation and the breakfast! Thank you to the owner Ken for being so hospitable!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    25
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
41
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed the night clean and quite. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Choice of food and quality of meals is second to none, served with flair and a smile and good value. Parking is very convenant just out side the rooms.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

a great hotel. Before arrival there had been a burst water main close to hotels entrance. The owner was kind enough to ring us beforehand to pre-warn us. We received a very friendly welcome. The room was first class. Very clean & spacious. Had a great nights sleep. We were greeted with a lovely breakfast in the morning. All the trimmings & cooked to perfection. The owner spared time to talk to us & made us feel at home. For a spur of the moment booking we had a lovely time. thank you Crouch Valley Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richardburkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

So much better than various well known hotel chains and at a much better price. Rooms were comfortable, quiet, spotless and well maintained. Reasonable food and friendly service. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freeroddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We at this restaurant in August 2013 and were very impressed by the quality of food and service. It's the little things that make all the difference, like being shown the steaks on offer before you decide to order, or the sea bass (and being tactfully asked if you'd like the head and tail on or off !)
All in all, fabulous food and very welcoming chef and staff. I recommend it highly !
Dom

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomandLainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

You may pass this place on the road and not give it much of a second glance but this little place has so much going for it if you scratch under the surface of an ex road side cafe..
We stayed in one of the 2 rooms in the main building. Well prepared, clean and shown personally to our room, the first indication of the 5 star service you get here.full of local advice, and I'm so glad we looked at other review recommendations as the steak meal experience we had was fabulous...steaks were the specials, and they were brought to your table raw for a pre cooked inspection...no off cuts here, started with mushrooms in creamy garlic sauce...delicious.We got offered a sauce with our steaks, and we were brought a pan of freshly prepared pepper and cream sauce..ooh..wonderful....good range of wines and a well stocked bar. Steak was cooked exactly to order for both of us, and melted in the mouth.
Dessert list...couldn't resist..
This guy can cook and when we find out his main cooker range had just blown out , presenting that quality of food was amazing. Beds were super comfortable, with mattress topper..nice touch...huge LCD tv on wall.sky sports of course..well stocked drinks making facilities.everything worked...great nights sleep..welcoming breakfast with fresh toast, .
All things considered I have paid 3 to 4 times the price for much worse experience and service.we looked inside one the 10 lodge rooms outside the main building , thinking we had just been lucky..but no..spotless, roomy, good facilities..
Just 12 rooms on offer..but if you are visiting anywhere within 30 miles radius, you would be crazy not to give this a go..just book it..! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huw b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The exterior of the building does no justice to the warm, friendly, efficient service that lurks inside. We were met by a charming lady, who immediately made us feel welcome and showed us to our room, which was so very clean and extraordinarily functional. We were amazed at the "little" extras, such as a fan, touch operated lights and copious beverage supplies.
We negotiated a time to dine and were not disappointed with drinks in the garden, watching the world go by.
Dinner was fabulous, with extremely attentive service not only from Lukka (receptionist, now waitress/bar person) but Ken,the owner. They pandered to my whim of having a meal of starters and my husband's preference for well done steaks, the steak was bought to the table before cooking and we were asked if it would suit .The dining experience was sublime, non pretentious food, honestly prepared, cooked and served. Unfortunately we were too full for pudding.
After a very good night's sleep in a really comfortable bed we again ate another brilliantly prepared, cooked and served, meal, breakfast.Again nothing was too much trouble and the service was so slick,
I wish we had not had to rush away, but we will return and hopefully soon to spend a little more time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latchingdon
5.5 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
230 reviews
8.9 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
408 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
280 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crouch Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouch Valley Lodge

Property: Crouch Valley Lodge
Address: Burnham Road, Latchingdon CM3 6EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Latchingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Latchingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Dengie Peninsular which is primarily a farming area, adjacent to two rivers which has the added advantage of numerous outdoor activities. Besides sailing, there are number of golf courses nearby, numerous walks, cycling opportunities, horse riding centers and places of both historic and natural interest to visit. Five double rooms are available to rent. Three are situated on the ground floor on a motel type basis and two on the first floor of the main building. All rooms are gas centrally heated and have the benefit of Sky Sports TV, BT Sport and free Wi-Fi. Room only prices from £60 with full English breakfast or continental breakfast from £7.50 per person. Each room has an allocated parking space in a private car park. Check in times are from 2pm and check out 10am. Facilities include a bar and lounge area. Evening meals are available by prior arrangement from Monday to Friday only. The whole premises are strictly non-smoking. Keys are obtained from a key box under code when reception is not available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Crouch Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crouch Valley Lodge Latchingdon, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing