We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly clean, fantastic food and a wonderful host.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crouch Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Latchingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great size rooms, spotlessly clean, bed linen changed each day we were there. A very attentive host who made sure that we were very well looked after. An absolute 5 star breakfast . This place was a pleasure to stay in. Could not have made us feel more welcome. Perfect ! X

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikingvehicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here with my family on Saturday 8th Aug as we were attending a wedding in the area. As we were travelling from a fair distance I rang to see if there was a possibility of us getting into one room early (11am) to just get ready in, I was flatly told at no way was this possible. On arriving my father spoke to the owner and miraculously it turned out our rooms were available. We then ordered a few cups of coffee, a simple request you might think, but I've never seen someone roll their eyes and look so inconvenienced. Once changed we headed off to the wedding.
The rooms were comfortable and clean, and we had a decent sleep. In the morning we went to the restaurant for the 3 breakfasts we ordered. There were 5 of us, 2 of us were not eating and just wanted to order a coffee. When we asked for the coffee the owner was vey rude and told us that we were confusing him and putting him under pressure. It was very uncomfortable and we asked if we should leave. He said no and made the breakfasts which were nice and we got our coffees. All in all the service left us feeling cold, we were made to feel very unwelcome and any request was greeted with hostility. I am surprised the owner is in the hospitality industry and would suggest he takes a much more accommodating approach in future!. Sure we all have our bad days but shouting at paying customers is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank thefixer85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed Friday 18th July for 1 night. The room was spotless and had everything we needed including wi-fi.

The hosts were very attentive, polite and helpful but also not over the top, they really have mailed the customer service standards there perfectly.

Breakfast was big and very tasty. I'm a fussy breakfast person but there were no issues with me changing the full English a little to suit my taste and there was also a selection of cereal to help yourself.

Everything was very clean and today, excellent value for money and friendly. All the other guests were also enjoying their stay.

Such a quaint little place, I'm so glad we chose to stay there. We live in. North Wales so it was a good drive for us but we have family who live very close to Crouch Valley Lodge and will definitely be using them again.

I have no hesitation in recommending them to others but my personal preference would be to stay in one of the rooms outside and separate from the actual lodge which is what we had.

Thank you for looking after us.

Nigel & Kirsty

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank KirstyNigelCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The title says it all. Good clean fixture and fittings. Good room size. Motel "like" style. We had a comfortable stay at the lodge and would recommend the place. The host was a very friendly and likable man who made us feel very welcome

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank pauloblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It may be all the C s but an A for effort with this B&B. We used the Lodge as a base for our hen weekend and were so pleased with the accommodation and the breakfast! Thank you to the owner Ken for being so hospitable!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed the night clean and quite. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Choice of food and quality of meals is second to none, served with flair and a smile and good value. Parking is very convenant just out side the rooms.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

a great hotel. Before arrival there had been a burst water main close to hotels entrance. The owner was kind enough to ring us beforehand to pre-warn us. We received a very friendly welcome. The room was first class. Very clean & spacious. Had a great nights sleep. We were greeted with a lovely breakfast in the morning. All the trimmings & cooked to perfection. The owner spared time to talk to us & made us feel at home. For a spur of the moment booking we had a lovely time. thank you Crouch Valley Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richardburkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Crouch Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crouch Valley Lodge

Address: Burnham Road, Latchingdon CM3 6EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Latchingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Latchingdon
Price Range: £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Dengie Peninsular which is primarily a farming area, adjacent to two rivers which has the added advantage of numerous outdoor activities. Besides sailing, there are number of golf courses nearby, numerous walks, cycling opportunities, horse riding centers and places of both historic and natural interest to visit. Five double rooms are available to rent. Three are situated on the ground floor on a motel type basis and two on the first floor of the main building. All rooms are gas centrally heated and have the benefit of Sky Sports TV, BT Sport and free Wi-Fi. Room only prices from £60 with full English breakfast or continental breakfast from £7.50 per person. Each room has an allocated parking space in a private car park. Check in times are from 2pm and check out 10am. Facilities include a bar and lounge area. Evening meals are available by prior arrangement from Monday to Friday only. The whole premises are strictly non-smoking. Keys are obtained from a key box under code when reception is not available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Crouch Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crouch Valley Lodge Latchingdon, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing