We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramsey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Countryair Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Ramsey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2013

An excellent stay, warm welcome and cup of tea from Andy. Perfect start to our cruise to the Norwegian Fjords. Excellent breakfast superly cooked. Would definitely stay again, great value, thank you andy

Room Tip: Front room had a little traffic noise, but didn't disturb too much.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandMark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Countryair Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed with Andy on our way up to Scotland and on our way back home. Had a great time. Was as pleasant as always. Lovely breakfast. Andy even thought about a highchair for my little boy. Was very helpful when we hadn't eaten and ordered chinese food for us. We will stay with Andy again on our next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Farm Cottage B&B was a perfect place to start our bike tour along the east coast of Engeland. We came from the ferry in Harwich and arrived in the evening. The welcome was very friendly with a nice cup af tea or coffee. The room was clean and well-equipped and Andy's house is a very nice place to be. The dining room is like a library, a lovely room. Andy is very helpfull, and a very good cook. We had a great English breakfast, cooked by Andy. Farm Cottage is a good place to start or end the holiday in England when you have to reach the harbour of Harwich.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed with our familiy at Andy's B&B the first night after we arrived with the boat in Harwich.The location was excellent and he welcomed us warmly. It's a nice place with good bookshelves, a friendly owner, cosy bedrooms and a wonderful full English breakfast.
We stayed there just one night (as most people do, he told, because it's so conveniently located) but it would be excellent to stay longer. The garden is nice and the surroundings pretty.
comfortable and friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Farm Cottage B&B on our way to the Lake District and back. The rooms are neat & cosy, Andy is a very friendly host and his tasty breakfast will take you through most of the day :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrijnenBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Within the context of what we wanted, Farm Cottage B&B was a perfect choice and is one of those gems you store away for future use. I think we will have to return at some point just to catch up with Andy, the welcoming, friendly proprietor.
As a B&B to stay in the night before a sailing from Harwich you can't beat it. Andy's welcome was as big as the huge expanse of Essex countryside which was the view from our bedroom window. Cars may be left at Farm Cottage for those taking a cruise. The extremely reasonable cost of parking includes a taxi transfer to and from the cruise terminal. On return a taxi was waiting to pick us up. The service was slick and efficient.
The room we stayed in was of an adequate size and very comfortable. Andy delivered luggage both to and from the room if required. The communal dining room, library, guest lounge was the hub of this very informal but precision B&B. On arrival a cup of tea or coffee is offered and the good service just goes on from there. When we returned from our cruise we stayed a further night and by then felt like part of the family! The cooked breakfast was excellent.
This is an impartial review and there are two things to point out. One: the stairs are steep and narrow. Not a problem to us but could cause difficulties in some cases. As already stated, though, Andy acts as porter for all luggage if required. Two: the rooms are not ensuite. Now this is an interesting one because, normally, I would think I would feel slightly uncomfortable about wandering around a B&B in a dressing gown (they are provided) with other guests in-situ. Not a bit of it - it seemed quite 'normal'. There is a strong atmosphere of being 'at home'.
Andy knows his product well and executes it perfectly. As a stopping off point, somewhere to leave your car whilst away, or a couple of nights B&B to explore the lovely Essex/Suffolk countryside it ticks all the boxes for me and I look forward to returning to Farm Cottage.

Room Tip: Go with the flow - Andy knows what he is doing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

very friendly greeting + lovely cuppa on arrival + excellent breakfast cooked to order.
fascinating stock of popular books on display - ask Andy if you are interested in buying
plenty of amateur & professional radio knowledge for old-time and modern radio buffs to chat about
very comfortable bed - if you are in the front room, keep the bedroom window to keep out traffic noise which went on all night.
bathroom with ensuite loo, and second loo downstairs only
stairs up to bedroom narrow and very steep with single handrail, so not ideal if you have trouble getting up & down stairs.
free WIFI worked very well
Outdoor parking was fine, but getting back onto the road was quite scary as the traffic is moving very quickly, and house is on a bend and a slight hill so you are pretty much unsighted - we gave up trying to turn right toward Harwich, and gunned the motor hard left and up the hill, before turning off right toward Wrabness and back to Harwich on a back road

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poolekiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
4.5 mi away
Alma Inn
Alma Inn
#1 of 6 in Harwich
82 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 6 in Harwich
242 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Goodlife Guesthouse
The Goodlife Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Dovercourt
46 reviews
3.2 mi away
Captain Fryatt Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countryair Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countryair Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Ramsey Hall Cottages Tinker Street, Ramsey CO12 5LS, England (Formerly Farm Cottage B&B)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Ramsey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsey
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm Cottage B&B opened in December 2008 until December 2013 averaging over 2,000 International visitors per year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Countryair Bed & Breakfast Ramsey, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing