We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ramsey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Ramsey B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Thank you Ed and Anna for the great time we had at your bed&breakfast! Anna you make the best scones in the world...mmm they are delicious.
Our son Thom (20 months) did really like the fresh eggs every morning. He couldn't stop saying the word 'egg' every morning.
We recommend this place! The rooms and the house and surrouding is beautiful and within 10 minutes you can receive the harbor (with the shortcut Ed told us!).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
er950mgt, Owner at Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi Irene, Rob and Thom,

Thank you for your kind words, and we are really pleased all was good.
Bet that Thom has grown taller in the last few weeks, and we both hope all is going well with your new 'bump', just a few months to go, guess the pair of you cannot wait.

Best,

Ed & Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A great welcome with cakes and tea from Mr & Mrs Ramsey.Very large well appointed bedrooms with all the facilities you would need. A superb breakfast with home and locally produced produce. Secure parking behind electronic gates. Only a short drive to the ferries.

Room Tip: The ground floor room has a huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
er950mgt, Owner at Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks for your positive comments, we really enjoyed having you stay and that you were able to enjoy this part of undiscovered Essex. Best Regards Anna and Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Myself, wife and two daughters stayed in two rooms (both of which were en-suite) the night before our cruise. We took the train down to Harwich arriving quite late however Ed was more that happy to pick us up. Once we arrived we we offered a cup of tea, beer and/or scones and jam. Both Ed and Anna were friendly, helpful and genuine hosts, making us all feel at home and very welcome. The rooms were beautiful designed and spacious, the rest of the facilities were also comfortable.

For breakfast we were offered cereals and then a warm meal which consisted of fresh eggs picked that morning from their hens! Later we were able to see their animals from pigs to horses and chickens. Then Ed took us to the port which was roughly 10 minutes away, this made the process simple and stress free; a great start to our holiday. We would defiantly recommend to friends and go back again.

Thank you,

Ian and Sue

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixon734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
er950mgt, Owner at Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
HI all, thanks for your lovely review. It was a delight to meet you and your two daughters, even though it was pretty late when you arrived and understandably you must have been very tired. You had a very long journey from Rochdale. What a coincidence it was where I went to school! But it was the start to your holiday and i'm glad that we could do that for you. Lovely to meet you and it's great to meet such lovely people like yourselves and it's a shame we have to say goodbye so quickly. Best Regards Anna & Ed and the zoo! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Highfields Farm Harwich as we were attending my friends wedding in the area. I cannot praise both Anna and Ed enough for their kind and welcoming approach. They made us both feel right at home. The room was huge, comfortable and had a homely feel. Anna and Ed couldn't do enough for us and we felt totally spoilt by the time we left! I would recommend this place and the hosts to anyone looking to stay in the area, you couldn't possibly wish for more. We hope to see both Anna and Ed again very soon!
Allie & Sam

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllieBee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
er950mgt, Owner at Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Allie and Sam,
thanks for your great review, what a weekend that was!! Fantastic to meet you both and who knows one day we may meet again perhaps at the christening!. Your review makes an impact - so thanks for your kind words. Anna & Edxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight pre-cruise, and enjoyed the great hospitality provided by Ed and Anna during our stay. Lovely, comfortable, en suite accommodation which is very convenient for Harwich port, less than 10 minutes away. Better still, we were able to leave our car there, and Ed was happy to drop us off at, and collect us from Harwich as a part of their excellent service.
We would certainly recommend them to you, and will use again ourselves should we be in the Harwich area again in the future.

Room Tip: Check with owners, as there are a few room options ... e.g. family room if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
er950mgt, Owner at Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
HI Philip,
thanks for your amazing review, it was lovely to have you both stay. You both looked so refreshed on your return from the cruise - I hope you are still in the holiday mood after your drive home. Would be lovely to see you both again one day. Best regards Anna & Ed and the zoo xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My fiance and I stayed here having been to a local wedding and have nothing but great things to say about Highfields Farm! Ed & Anna were so friendly and welcoming and so helpful throughout our stay! The bedroom was large and spacious as was the bathroom, both were clean & tidy. The bed was so comfortable as well, I haven't slept that well in ages! Brilliant breakfast the next day as well!
Honestly can't think of anything negative to say.
A great B & B that Id highly recommend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jontyChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
er950mgt, Owner at Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hi John,
thanks for the amazing review. What a weekend that was! - even though it was only one night it felt like we had known you forever. You both were great guests and so were your friends. You never know we might see you at a christening or two! A all the best for your wedding Big hugs from Anna & Ed and the zooxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my parents walked the Essex Way and stayed on our last night at Highfields Farm. We loved every minute of it, Ed & Anna are fantastic hosts! The rooms are great, breakfast is super and the animals are all very cute (especially the pigs :)) If we will ever be in the neighboorhood again we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
er950mgt, Owner at Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
How lovely to hear from you so soon an thank you for the wonderful review. It was great meeting you and what a wonderful little family you are. How fantastic to spend such an interesting holiday with your parents - I could adopt them! Big Hugs ~Anna and Ed and the zoo xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Harwich Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 7 in Harwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Court House
The Court House
#1 of 1 in Great Bromley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Captain Fryatt Guest House
Show Prices

Been to Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Highfields Wrabness Road | Highfields Farm, Ramsey CO12 5NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Ramsey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ramsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield’s is a large country house situated in a stunning rural setting of designated natural beauty. We are in the heart of the RSPB nature reserve and only 100 meters from the house is the Essex Way, where the coast can be reached in minutes. The port of Harwich is approx 2.5 miles distance.Highfield’s offers first class B&B Accommodation in 5 acres of land and gardens. We are an equestrian household with horses and poultry and are into our third year of breeding tiny micro pigs. Our aim is to build up a small stock of endangered rare breed animals such as the Guernsey goat. We work our land and are virtually self sufficient in vegetables and offer fresh organic produce where possible, sourcing our products from local growers and small producers. We do live ‘The Good Life’.We offer two large double suited bedrooms which have their own private bathrooms and are individually decorated to a very high standard with stunning views. The house is approached via electric gates and cars can be safely parked and guests can leave their cars here whilst they embark on their cruising holidays from Harwich. We do cater for all dietary needs and can provide evening meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highfields Farm Bed & Breakfast Ramsey, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing