We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SUNDAY LUNCH”

The Old White Horse
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in Upminster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
norfolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SUNDAY LUNCH”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Booked in for Sunday lunch, 6 people in the party.
Suprised to find no starters available but a good choice 3 meats or a bit of each.
Food piping hot, very tasty, good home made yorkie. Excellent portion size.
Puddings also very tastie.
Ale also kept well.
Very good atmosphere, friendly staff.
Excellent value.
Will visit again when in the area,
Very busy so booking required.

Helpful?
Thank Argkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
215 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service and a good pint of beer!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I have read some of the other reviews and I'm not sure what they ate but I have to say that ours was really nice, home cooked food with no trace of pre packed ingredients whatsoever. I had the steak pudding, a good choice and the wife had pork, both of which we recommend. Please, no comments about being easily pleased, we own a restaurant too so we're pretty good judges so please take some of the other reviews with a pinch of salt, some people just have an axe to grind! We will be back soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fried roast potatoes”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just got home from one of the poorest Sunday dinners we have ever had! I had lamb my partner had beef and turkey ! All meat is pre packed , roast pots are fried, hardly any gravy or veg! Plates where red hot and food like warm, we walked pass kitchen as was seated upstairs could clearly see the pots where fried, we complained and got for nothing, in saying so staff very friendly and good atmosphere! Shame about the food, we will be sticking with Toby carvery!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westham1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfllet Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed in all but the ale!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was our first visit to this pub and we had Sunday lunch on 25th August.
The main course appeared to be processed meat, this was Beef and Turkey. The order was taken practically as we sat down and arrived in about 5 minutes on plates that were so hot they could have only come direct from a microwave with the food on it.
The vegetables where to say the least were pre served and very few of them. The plates were taken away as each person finished, there was 4 of us. The sweet orders were asked for in a similar rushed way. Myself and 1 of the others ordered spotted dick with custard. That arrived just warm with no custard. This was given to us in a jug again luke warm and was so thick and lumpy it had to be served 'by the slice'. Again plates cleared as they became empty.
The ale was good but would not revisit even if it was just for the beer.
BEWARE'

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campello, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“How it should be”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Good service , tasty food , good variety of choices , reasonably priced . Good location . Seating outdoors . Comfortable inside and with a friendly atmosphere . Live entertainment every Saturday night.
Classed as an Upminster location , but just a fraction over the Ockendon border , this is easily the best restaurant in Ockendon and is highly recommended for a couples or friends meal out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old White Horse also viewed

South Ockendon, Essex
Upminster, Greater London
 
Upminster, Greater London
Upminster, Greater London
 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Hornchurch, Greater London
 

Been to The Old White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing