We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bank Holiday afternoon”

Thames Chase Forest Centre
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Upminster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Thames Chase Trust aims to make the Thames Chase Community Forest an inspirational example of landscape regeneration through cost effective environmental improvements that changes lives and demonstrates these values through exemplar community led management at the Thames Chase Forest Centre. Thames Chase Forest covers 40 square miles of countryside around the London/Essex borders. Thames Chase Community Forest encompasses countryside in Barking and Dagenham, Brentwood, Havering and Thurrock. Within its boundaries there has been a concerted effort, over the last 20+ years to re-generate despoiled landscape and enhance the natural environment for the benefit of local people and wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We have been here a couple of times and have always had a thoroughly enjoyable trip.
£2 fixed price parking is very reasonable if you are planning on spending a couple of hours there - which you can easily fill.

We were a group of 3 grandparents, 2 adults and 2 young children (4 years and 10 months). We did the natural play trail which is suitable for buggies, scooters and bikes. The walk is flat and our 4 year old managed it comfortably.

There play equipment across the trail is all great for adventurous kids and our 4 year old loved them. They aren't geared towards younger children but our 10 month old was happy to crawl around on the grass.

The cafe is nice, and do good breakfasts, if slightly over priced. With plenty of indoor and outdoor seating.

A great place to spend a couple of hours

Thank kakaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames C, Project Support Officer at Thames Chase Forest Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your comments and review, we are glad you and your family enjoyed visiting Thames Chase and Broadfields.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hire bikes"
in 5 reviews
"lovely food"
in 4 reviews
"dog walkers"
in 5 reviews
"open space"
in 3 reviews
"only downside"
in 5 reviews
"great walk"
in 3 reviews
"craft fair"
in 3 reviews
"play equipment"
in 3 reviews
"walk around"
in 2 reviews
"few hours"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"home made cakes"
in 4 reviews
"playing hide and seek"
in 2 reviews
"small cafe"
in 2 reviews
"great park"
in 2 reviews
"a great place to spend"
in 2 reviews
"dotted around"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

We came here for a family picnic and I think everyone enjoyed their day - though the weather of course helped!

There was plenty for the kids to do in the pay park and on our walk around too. The paths were nice and wide, as well as easy to walk on, and there was plenty of parking available.

1  Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames C, Project Support Officer at Thames Chase Forest Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you will visit Thames Chase Forest Centre and Broadfields again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

I have been here several times with children ranging from 7-17. Plenty of parking, £2 all day. Paths are easy to walk and along the way there are many different play areas for the children. Crawling through tunnels, climbing up pyramids and playing hide and seek in and around the castle. Great area for den making which was loved by young and old!!
Finishing off by the play area with a picnic. We all had a lovely day and will be visiting again very soon.

Thank wilkofamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames C, Project Support Officer at Thames Chase Forest Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

It's so great to hear how much you enjoyed exploring Thames Chase and Broadfields! Thank you for your review, and we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Such a lovely place for a walk or to sit and have a drink. Food was ok and staff friendly. Nice day out with friends/kids/partner.

Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames C, Project Support Officer at Thames Chase Forest Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We came here for a day out to hire bikes as a treat for our son's fantastic sats results. Cheap to hire, we got two adult bikes and a trailer for our three year old which we found so much fun but we took our 8 year olds bike. It's quite an easy track, you can do it quickly or go round a few times and we ended up back at the car with a picnic. Lovely as lots of picnic benches dotted around and not on top of people - lots of play areas all spread out too. We can't wait to go back!

Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames C, Project Support Officer at Thames Chase Forest Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you so much for your great comments and review! It sounds like you had a wonderful day out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thames Chase Forest Centre also viewed

 
Romford, Greater London
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Thames Chase Forest Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing