We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great welcome, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast!”
Review of The Dog Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dog Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Halstead B&B and Inns
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great welcome, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was great to receive such a warm welcome. Just stayed the 1nt in a small twin room. It was fine for our needs, comfy beds and clean. Spent the evening in the bar having a few drinks and chatting with the friendly locals, it was a fun evening with great music!! Great breakfast too. Thank you to Rachel and the team really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have known this pub and B&B for many years. It is just recovering from a period when it was allowed to run down. Happily, the trend is now reversed and it is now immaculately clean and the service is excellent. The breakfast is first class, a real full English of the old fashioned type. During the working week the B&B has a lot of tradesmen staying overnight and the whole atmosphere is convivial and cheerful, The car park could do with improvement and enlargement as it is very congested when large Transit type vans are parked. There is no other parking in the area. This is not a bar which serves posh, expensive cocktails that taste like fruit-juice mixed with mouthwash but good honest British pub fare. I would recommend to everyone

Room Tip: Parking is a problem at this locarion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed one night in order to attend a nearby wedding. The welcome from the lady staff member was excellent, she could not have been more helpful. However, the good experiences ended here. The room was TINY, there were no wardrobes, no hooks anywhere to hang our clothes, the furniture was non existent, the shower worked intermittently, and slowed to a trickle every few minutes. The tea making was impossible as there was no room to operate it. We had to pile our clothes on the floor and there was nowhere else to place them. One of the worst rooms we have stayed in. The only redeeming feature was the comfort of the bed, and the quiet of the room location. The breakfast was adequate if Spartan, and served in the bar area. Having read some of the reviews on both this, and other sites, we were sorely disappointed at what we found. This place is geared up for workmen, hence the sign, 'No work boots' handwritten at the entrance door to the accommodations. It is not fit for holiday makers or family or couple visitors. First and last visit.

Room Tip: Please don't accept room 2 which is TINY, especially if you are 6'5" like me, and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolkbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halstead hotels

hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed only one night thankfully! We felt it was more for working men than couples as the notice on the door to the rooms read "please take your work boots off before entering!" The room was clean but tired and our television was black and white and it kept making strange popping noises! We had no heat except for a small fan heater under a table. It said in the advert that free wifi was available in the rooms but after asking for the password and trying to get connected and failing dismally, we asked and was told we were in the furthest room away from the hub so was best to sit in the bar and use it!!!! We were not expected although the hotel had been booked through an agent for some time and we had paid in advance! Despite the cost of the room had we not already arranged to meet friends in the evening, we would have left and found alternative accommodation. Perhaps you could say you get what you pay for but we have been to better establishments at the same rate. The breakfast was adequate and the staff helpful. The only thing we can recommend is the location which is very close to the high street.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmenome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The single room is very tired looking and needs attention. I can cope with dated decor but it would be simple and inexpensive to provide a decent (non lumpy) bed and a new (non sticky) carpet. I got several bites on the lower leg by something during my stay. The plumbing in this room was interesting and completing my shower was dependent on occupants in another room finishing theirs first. The owner should spend a night (or two) in the room to experience the issues. The breakfast was enjoyable and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil r, Owner at The Dog Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Karen,
I'm sorry to hear that your stay wasn't quite what you expected, we do reflect the fact that the rooms are in need of updating in our very reasonable prices and I'm happy that we have the balance correct.
The rooms have been fully checked and there is nothing in there that could cause you to be bitten and we haven't had a complaint like this before or since so I think it's fair to assume this happened elsewhere, maybe you were around someone's pets.
I've not had anyone mention the plumbing before but will get it checked in case there is a fault.
Dissappointing to hear you were unhappy but pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayedtwo night room five family room for weding in close by topesfield Great mNager Rachel housekeeper bed food breckie best stay ever very close to village shops central no noise even as on top pub great can't wait to come back x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan19662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil r, Owner at The Dog Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Joan,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I hope the wedding was fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at the Dog Inn. Nice warm welcome on arrival and very helpful staff. Only stayed for one night en route to a wedding nearby. Room was lovely and quiet and clean. Nice ensuite and tea and coffee making facilities ( and biscuits too !). Fabulous breakfast the following morning,full English, plenty of toast and huge pot of fresh coffee. Very trusting too as we had booked on line and I couldn't remember whether or not I'd paid as I'd booked through 'booking.com' and not directly with them. The lovely lady that served us breakfast was not sure either and said she would check with the manager and let us know, so we left without paying her. Most places would charge and then offer a refund rather than trust the customer to be honest. Would recommend this place and if visiting that way again, would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil r, Owner at The Dog Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Nikki,
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, customer service (and a hearty breakfast) is very important to us and I'm delighted to hear that you were so well looked after.
Hopefully we'll see you again soon for the next wedding!
Best regards, The Dog Inn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halstead
0.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
8.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog Inn

Property: The Dog Inn
Address: 37 Hedingham Road, Halstead CO9 2DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Halstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Halstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dog Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog Inn Halstead, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing