We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Nights Stay”
Review of The White Hart Inn

The White Hart Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halstead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Hart Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Halstead B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Nights Stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here over the weekend, and enjoyed our accommodation. Room was nice, spacious and clean, My only gripe was the shower within our room, the fixture bracket was broken making it awkward to shower with, other than this the accommodation was excellent and I would definitely stay here again when visiting Halstead next. Staff were very friendly and the pubs Sunday lunch was satisfying

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benaichar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    7
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stated here a couple of nights and overall was pleasant enough. Plus's, friendly, clean, good food, plenty of coffee, tea, sugar, milk, large comfortable bed. On main road so there are plenty of shops and a couple other pubs/restaurants to go to for a change of scene. Antiques centre within walking distance. Minus's, for £65.00 pn I would of liked a menu at breakfast and not just offered a full English, and I would of liked a bigger choice on the menu. Extra pillows and blankets in room plus hair dryer, iron and ironing board would have been nice, although I'm sure they would of gave them to me if I had ask. Stayed in room 3 which was nice enough but you do get some traffic noise and noise from the bar which didn't bother me. Please be warned that a grocery stall sets up nearly opposite the hotel at around 4am Saturday morning which did wake me. My only main concern was the warmth of the bedroom. The radiator is on a timer so comes on and off throughout the day and because the age of the building the windows aren't draft proof and with no radiator in the shower room it can get cold. The staff gave me a little radiator on wheels which took the edge off but it still wasn't warm enough for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed overnight and had an evening meal here. Very comfortable beds - lovely thick mattresses - and a spacious room with character. The meal was delicious and the menu included some really imaginative dishes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very comfortable and friendly atmosphere throughout our stay. The room was extremely comfortable and very spacious. We only had breakfast as a meal here but that was well presented and tasty. The full menu looked fantastic and we would expect to try several dishes from this on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we popped in , while passing through halstead , I had a BLT sandwich which was great with lovely fries as a side , my missus had a steak sandwich and soup , thought not cheap they were lovely , would return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Staff couldnt have been more helpful and friendly especially hugo and the chief with the nice mum who was also having a meal. Food was delicious with huge portions. The eton mess, dessert, was to die for. Very good value for money. Will def be going back for the chiefs special cheesecake.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley13978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for few days while in Halstead and the atmosphere was great everyone was so friendly and the landlord was brilliant, really friendly and talkative!! We had breakfast on a couple of the days and it was amazing...done at a time to suit us (as had to go to work early) and was cooked perfectly!
The chef is amazing very creative and makes lovely meals which are priced very well and fill you up.
Overall place is great and defiantly worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairevicscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halstead
0.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
143 reviews
3.2 mi away
Essex Golf & Country Club
Essex Golf & Country Club
#1 of 2 in Earls Colne
317 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,109 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 1 in Great Yeldham
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dog Inn
The Dog Inn
#2 of 5 in Halstead
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn

Property: The White Hart Inn
Address: 15 High Street, Halstead CO9 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Halstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Halstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Inn is believed to date from the 13th century and is steeped in history and character. The ancient beams and nooks and crannies stir up a wonderful old world feeling.Hugo & Charles Townsend took over the white hart inn in December 2012 and have fully refurbished the bar, restaurant and the bedrooms.The white hart inn now offers a superb range of real ales and lagers, fresh home-made meals and comfortable en suite bedrooms.all the bedrooms have flat screen free view enabled TV, free WIFI and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Hart Inn Halstead, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing