We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly Slow and Average Food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Great Yeldham

The White Hart Great Yeldham
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Halstead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredibly Slow and Average Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Although the food was good, it certainly didn't match up to the price tag. The starter was cold and the main course left much to be desired - including what tasted like a stale cracker underneath the cottage pie.
The food wasn't the main problem though - it was the amount of time it took to arrive. We waited half an hour for a simple starter, then an inordinate amount of time for the main course. What's more, the tables all around were covered in dirty plates and glasses. The staff were good, but it seemed like they couldn't cope with the workload (even though our side of the pub was pretty much empty).We decided against dessert as we knew it would take too long to arrive.
We went there due to the good reviews here on Trip Advisor, but certainly won't be going back again. There are much better pubs in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JCW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    24
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Really enjoyed the bar menu. Good food and good portions. The puddings were decent size and very sweet/rich. The pub seemed very popular

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julesmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Must be close to its first star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The restaurant has a good ambience and is cosy with its low Tudor beams. The service is attentive and friendly- particularly from the Hungarian manageress - who is a fount of knowledge. The food was of the highest quality and the best plates looked and tasted as good as food I have eaten in Michelin starred establishments. I can particularly recommend the trio of Hereford beef as a main course and the citrus infused trout as a starter - this was extraordinary in terms of its texture and flavour combinations. The wine list is extensive and covers a wide price range - a decent bottle can be had for about £20 although you can pay a lot more if you wish. The dessert menu offers plenty of choice although I was lucky and picked up a spotted dick which was not on the main menu - divine!! Towards the end of the evening the chef was to be seen in the front of house and was happy to explain elements of the dishes we had eaten. For an out of the way place this is top end cooking - you could do worse in the West End.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londres
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing stay and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have stayed here with my husband for a romantic week end away. As it was low season, the manager Hayley upgraded us to a OMG suite which was extremely well decorated and appointed with a very big and modern bathroom.
The 2 area where you dine are so perfect, homey, with original features. One is for pub dinning and the other one looks posher and would suits more formal diners.
The food was well worth the stay and our meal was the best we had in a while: perfect presentation, organic and tasty products cooked to perfection, good selection of venison and great choice of wines!
Hayley the owner and manager, along with the rest of the staff, was very welcoming and friendly.
We miss the White Hart Hotel already and we will definitely come back!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nono19fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Historic pub with friendly service and great local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Warm welcome on arrival followed by excellent service and tasty locally sourced food in comfortable and historic surroundings with fascinating history.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BVauditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart Great Yeldham also viewed

 

Been to The White Hart Great Yeldham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing