We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local pub”

Griffin Halstead Public House
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Halstead
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Griffin is owned & run by the owners of the Five Bells, Colne Engaine offering a wide selection of Real Ales served direct from casks in the bar along with hand picked wines & many other beverages. We pride ourselves on being a pub for the Community, where people can come along and spend time with friends and family. We offer a selection of pub games plus a pool table & darts board. We are now offering light bites during the day.
Reviewed 29 June 2014

There are not a lot of good pubs in Halstead, so the refurbishment by people who know what they're doing (as is shown by their other pubs: Five Bells, Colne Engaine and The Lion, Earls Colne) was as welcome as it was overdue.

This is a small pub, but very cosy in winter and with a nice terrace for warmer days; it has a good selection of beers and they do a good lunch within the limits of their small kitchen. I hope that it gets the success it deserves and is able to develop further.

Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly_Guvnor, General Manager at Griffin Halstead Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the pub"
in 4 reviews
"bottled beer"
in 2 reviews
"friendly bar staff"
in 2 reviews
"bar snacks"
in 2 reviews
"selection of real ales"
in 2 reviews
"beer festival"
in 2 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We are so fortunate to live near this place, we visit regularly and are always made very welcome. I attend one of their clubs, which meet on a Tuesday night and we have had some delicious lunches here frequently. We often take a stroll along river walk with our little dogs and fall into the pub for refreshment before we go home. It is run as a proper pub, where community and local issues are important and you feel like part of it.

Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly_Guvnor, General Manager at Griffin Halstead Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, Sandra.
We're always delighted to welcome you and your family to lunch or to join in with one of our club nights.
We look forward top seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have enjoyed many lunches and other events at the Griffin with our children, such as Halloween Dress up, Classic Wheels Day and a motorcycle event. Our children have been made more than welcome and are excited to return there on any visit. The children food options are also excellent. Highly recommended for all the family.

Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly_Guvnor, General Manager at Griffin Halstead Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are always delighted to welcome families, so we're particularly pleased that you've all enjoyed coming to our events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

When they first opened the family would be welcomed with open arms, now that they are more established and have a steady client base they seem to have quickly dropped the family ethos and the original customers. Very disappointing and still no gluten free option as promised!!!

2  Thank Frankfurterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly_Guvnor, General Manager at Griffin Halstead Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

I am sorry to read your comments, as we still have the same ideals and culture. If you would like to discuss this with me, I would be happy for you to DM me via facebook or pop in.
We have a range of gluten free hot meals on our menu, as well as jacket potatoes and salads, and our chef is always happy to adapt, where possible. We also keep gluten free rolls, which I am sorry if they were out of stock on the day you visited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Well run, great pub without any distractions of music and gaming machines, just darts and a pool table. The beers are brilliant, especially if you like real ales, always 6 or 7 to choose from straight out of the barrel.
The landlady knows her stuff and keeps an interesting selection of well keept beers, which is rare these days.
Not tried the food, but I can recomend the scotch eggs.
Its the best pub in Halstead, but to be fair thats not saying much.

Thank Moscar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly_Guvnor, General Manager at Griffin Halstead Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments.
We're pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Griffin Halstead Public House also viewed

 

Been to Griffin Halstead Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing