We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming Rochford Hotel”
Review of The Rochford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rochford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel overnight 6/7th June 2013 and found all to be very satisfactory.. Our welcome upon arrival was lovely, the room was comfortable, and the breakfast very good. The hotel does need a little 'upgrading' as our 'executive room' was a little tired with broken shower attachment, mould on the bath surround and ceiling and the blinds not shutting completely making for a rude and sunny awakening! Also the lack of 3 pin adaptors was frustrating but nit-picking aside, the experience was very pleasurable and I would not hesitate in both returning and recommending to other travellers.

Room Tip: maybe better to choose a room on the backside of hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolkbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here one night after attending a funeral in nearby Southend. Reception staff were ultra friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean with a huge double bed and flatscreen TV with not a lot of channels. The downside was that the room was dark with only one small shuttered window.

Breakfast was very good. The Brasserie restaurant is only open Monday to Thursday so you have to go out for an evening meal however there are lots of places to eat within walking distance and reception will direct you and even book a table for you.

Would certainly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank novestonback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have been to many free courses and free business sessions, but this was the first time organising one myself. I found all the staff to be very helpful and organised. The room was arranged exactly as to my requirments with refreshments provided. There is also a bar next to the functions room which allowed for some good networking after the presentation had finished.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke_Stillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel is a mixture of modern and outdated. The bed was huge (but no feather pillows) but the bathroom a big let down and could have done with an overhaul. There was tea, coffe, bottled water and lovely biscuits in the room + a flat screen TV, free wifi and fluffy towels - all very nice. The people were friendly and helpful. We ate out Saturday night as the hotel does not do hot evening dinners at the weekend but the self service breakfast the next morning was hot. There is a small amount of parking at the hotel but a large carpark just opposite for the overflow. Rochford is a quaint, almost 1950's/60's village with lots of individual shops which were, unfortunately shut on the Sunday that we strolled round. I would stay here again when we come down to visit again but would not stay for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in no 15 which overlooked the road but the sash windows and wooden blinds kept out most th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmdWestByfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

A nice small hotel with about 24 rooms. the bedroom I stayed in over looked the car park and was a lott quieter than one overlooking the main road. The room was very spacious with a comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the nearest railway station and very close to Southend airport

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornishpastie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed in this hotel for three nights in April, to attend a firiend's wedding there.

The hotel is very nice, spacious bedroom and good breakfasts. Price for B & B was very reasonable. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Not much to do in Rochford itself although it is a pleasant enough place. The hotel is however a short walk from the railway station so is ideally located for journeys to Southend or London and it is close to Southend Airport too.

On another note, I was very impressed with the wedding facilities and the evening buffet.

No complaints whatsoever about this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxterrier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed for one night on business and found the hotel just what was needed, clean safe and friendly. Bar prices very high but a couple of pubs 2 min walk away. Only let own is the bathrooms are very 1970 and need some cash spend on them but otherwise a good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochford
4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,709 reviews
3.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
658 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
135 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
810 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rochford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rochford Hotel

Address: Bradley Way, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea SS4 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Price Range: £58 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rochford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come alone or bring your family with you, stay for a night or for several days, stay here while on a business trip or at a conference our hotel is waiting to welcome you.The Rochford Hotel offers the comfort and intimacy of a guesthouse with the service and quality of a hotel. For accommodation in the Rochford/Southend area, look no further than The Rochford Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Rochford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rochford Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing