We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of The Rochford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rochford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at the Rochford Hotel. Staff were very helpful, a small problem with the shower was resolves in 10 minuets, & internet, in 2 minuets. Good breakfast, cooked to order.
Rooms wee clean and bed comfy. Staff printed a map for us to find the venue we were going to.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from function room if you go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have stayed here before and returned, which tells you something in itself. It is a modern, comfortable hotel with spacious rooms, and offered good value for money on this booking, being cheaper than the local Premier Inns and including breakfast in the price.
Interestingly our few issues on this visit were exactly the same as on the previous visit. The breakfast is freshly cooked, although the menu does suggest everything is fried, that is not actually the case. It would be good to have some fresh fruit available for breakfast, this is one of the few hotels I know that do not offer it. The bread is also poor, cheap sliced bread in plastic bags. Strangely the hotel does not offer a restaurant service at the weekends, but I guess this is down to lack of demand.
The room was fine, but let down, like last year, by a poor bathroom. Small, gloomy and prone to steam up badly as soon as you start the shower. The extractor fan had little effect, but made a lot of noise and ran for about 20 minutes after being turned off, effectively prohibiting sleep during that period.
With a few minor improvements this could be a good hotel and we will use it again if the price is right when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sakertec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were lucky enough to hold our wedding at this venue on 23rd August 2013, Jane the wedding coordinator has been fantastic from day one and organised the day perfectly so that it went by without any problems whatsoever. We spent 2 nights at the hotel and the rooms were spotless and the breakfast was superb. All our guest have since commented on the high standard of the wedding breakfast food and have nothing but compliments. The staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We're sad that our day is over as we have loved visiting the hotel throughtout the last 18 months. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a venue for your wedding, it is definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garethvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Have just spent two nights at the Rochford Hotel, as we have relations only a few minutes away.
We came last year, and enjoyed the stay.
The accommodation, staff and breakfast was excellent, although it says a fried breakfast, you can have any combination that you choose, all freshly cooked to order. The room was spacious, clean and the bath even had a jacuzzi.
A must visit if your staying for a few days is a trip to Leigh on Sea, it is like going back in time.
We will back next year, and highly recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GEOFF T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I spent just one night here, on a stopover for a flight from Southend Airport to Berlin for which the hotel is just a mile and a half away or one stop on the train, (station is a few steps away). Most convenient. I was given room No. 1. Very cosy. Staff are most helpful and friendly. An enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akaPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on business. The Staff were lovely and very courteous and helpful. We stayed in room 18 which was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The tea and coffee making facilities were good and included biscuits and just outside in the corridor there was a coffee machine at just 50p a cup with limitless tea bags and biscuits. Only a few things marred our stay, firstly the bathroom was very dated and for some bizarre reason the toilet was extremely low on the grown like a childs and when sat on it , it leant to the left, very odd. We had, had a long drive so were tired, we opted fir room service and whilst the food was very good and excellent value the room service menu is very limited. To be fair though I requested soup for my Wife and they happily did it. The worse thing though was the rudeness of other guests who instead of gently closing doors they let them slam shut even in the early hours and it is very loud. I think maybe a notice in rooms or on doors may help or buffers on these doors, I appreciate they are fire doors but we never let ours slam. Overall though we would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dillon2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Excellent service
Excellent customer service
Excellent staff
Excellent atmosphere
Excellent rooms
Excellent garden
Just EXCELLENT!
Just did not expect all this from a hotel that's such good value for money and so unknown... Would recommend it and I have already booked the same room and wouldn't stay anywhere else other than there if I'm in Kent...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moonz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochford
4 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
1,711 reviews
3.2 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
658 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
135 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
812 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rochford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rochford Hotel

Address: Bradley Way, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea SS4 1BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Price Range: £58 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rochford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come alone or bring your family with you, stay for a night or for several days, stay here while on a business trip or at a conference our hotel is waiting to welcome you.The Rochford Hotel offers the comfort and intimacy of a guesthouse with the service and quality of a hotel. For accommodation in the Rochford/Southend area, look no further than The Rochford Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Rochford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rochford Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing