We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dinner menus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cherry Tree
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner menus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely evening meal last night at the cherry tree. The food was delicious with a good choice I chose from the specials on the blackboard and had the most delicious piece of fish cooked to perfection.The service was excellent throughout. Will be going back again soon.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    32
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
36
41
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

These rooms are nicely decorated in a simple style, very clean. Just behind the pub on the outskirts of the village. Friendly staff who are very helpful.

Rooms have everything you need, TV, tea and coffee, plenty of storage space.

Cotton sheets, good pillows and mattress.

Our bathroom was the only downside: some peeling paint, the shower screen didn't quite fit and led to water on the bathroom floor.

Windows open onto the pub side affording us a view of ~50 cyclists arriving and parking their bikes before sneaking in for a cheeky beer. Pub has grounds with tables outside.

Menu in the pub seems good and popular, although we didnt spend the evening there. We arrived back just before closing time and manged to sneak a few drinks from a wide selection in

Breakfast the next day was excellent. Quality ingredienets, freshly cooked and a large portion.7

Recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belinda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

I had to write a review about The Cherry Tree, I'm pleased to say I stayed there for one night. Where can I start, well I thought it was just lovely, the owners and the staff were great and couldn't do enough to make our stay so enjoyable, so a big thank you to them. The pub is lovely and clean, the food was very enjoyable, the breakfast was great. We stayed in room 3 which was also lovely. Over all we were very pleased we found this Gem, I would recommend and stay again at the Cherry Tree.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Wow what a lovely place to stay, Lisa and the rest f the staffwas so lovey and helpful, the room was lovely and very clean , the breakfast was yummy, we would recommend cherry tree 100per cent, we will be going again :0)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed over the weekend just gone for a quick getaway with my other half.
We turned up to check in just after 9pm after leaving London work traffic, the staff were extremely accommodating and they cooked a full meal for us despite it being after 9.30pm.
The breakfast was great, we ended up missing check out time on Sunday at 11am but were told we could stay longer as they were cleaning the remainder rooms. The rooms are away from the pub entrance and restaurant which helps.
I would definitely recommend the stay and restaurant, the chocolate brownie was to die for!
Extremely helpful staff and great location, only 20 mins from Southend pier.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pooni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Tilbury, Essex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had a meal in the evening before going to a wedding in Rochford. I was advised that the meals were excellent and big, and we were not disappointed the only thing that we were disappointed about was we didnt have enough room to eat a dessert.
Breakfast was again large, and very enjoyable.

On the down side, and the they must be highlighted. In room 4 the bathroom door would not close properly, we could not get any hot water out of the mono tap in the sink. The water pressure was too high and when you turned on the tap fully,and lot of water ended up on the floor. Plaster was coming off wall around shower due to damp.

I know these are only small issues but if not mentioned then they will not be rectified.

Whole it was an enjoyable stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank t26morley_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

After going firstly to the royal oak by mistake...see my review. We went along to The Cherry Tree. What a totally different experience. On entering the pub, we were greeted with a smile and friendly chat. Another pub with pungent smelling lillys, but on saying we would like to eat away from the smell of the flowers, we were taken to the dining room and told to sit where ever we would like. The service was 1st rate. the Owners were happy, chatty, and friendly. The food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. We left happy and totally recommend The Cherry Tree to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penelope444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochford
1.0 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
2.1 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.8 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree

Property: The Cherry Tree
Address: Cherry Tree Stambridge Road, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea SS4 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cherry Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional 18th Century Inn with open fires, and impressive bar area. Boasting four bespoke rooms for accomodation, and a conservatory restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cherry Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Hotel Rochford
The Cherry Tree Rochford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing