We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Taste of Raj

Taste of Raj
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Rochford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Lovely food, brought out promptly, attentive staff but not obtrusive. This restaurant meets my personal tastes, the dishes are well presented and very tasty. Price fairly reasonable. Will definitely go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    19
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wow! First class taste and Service”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Lets me tell you this Indian restaurant is first class from the minute you walk in.

Well done!

From the moment you walk in, friendly and can not do enough for you.

There not on your back every minute.

Friendly little restaurant with class.

Will go back in the next 2 weeks and will take new friends with us so they also can enjoy 1st class food.

Top quality meat I enjoyed. but also do Veg dishes I saw on the menu.

A little higher in price but your paying for quality and today you got to watch what your eating. As no one wants to get ill.

Well done and thank you 10/10

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ianianian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great indian!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Staff are knowledgable about their food and friendly without being obtrusive. Atmosphere is always welcoming. Menu contains some unusual surprises as well as those favorite dishes we all know and love.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GraemeN944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best Indian Around”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My family have eaten here at least once a month for the past 5 years plus. We are always impressed by the food and service and highly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our son and daughter back from uni so thought we would take them to the Taste of Raj, as we had such a lovely time here last time. We weren't disappointed and once again the food was
really lovely. For a change I tried something different from chicken madras and opted for the Chicken Karahi which is medium spiced. I was really pleased with my choice because it was really yummy. The service was just as brilliant as before and we were given a seat by the window so we felt like we had our own private little spot. We were also treated to complimentary drinks at the end of the meal and given a couple of calendars. They just cannot do enough for you here and we will certainly be coming back because it is so lovely to find somewhere that provides good food and service and also has a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Raj also viewed

Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Taste of Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing