We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother with breakfast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skylark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skylark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't bother with breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel was easy to find. On booking in I asked the reception staff what time breakfast was for the morning. She didn't have a clue. Told us it was written on the card slip for our room. The carpets in the hallways were badly stained. The room was clean with a large queen sized bed. Good shower and clean bathroom No information in the rooms about restaurant times, fire exits etc. breakfast was a joke. £8 each we were pointed to a table and our order was taken. 45 mins later I was concerned that people arriving after me had got theirs but ours was not in sight. I asked the waitress and she then went to the kitchen and ours arrived. No apology and some of the items missing. I complained to the desk staff but they didnt sem to have a process to deal with complaints Spoilt the rest of my trip. They need to up their game

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    25
    15
    29
See reviews for
26
44
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My fiancee and I were trying to organise our engagement party at this hotel, using their restaurant as the venue.

We had had preliminary discussions with their staff.

We then decided to meet the owner/manager, Andreas to confirm the final arrangements.

We were weary of him as he had told my fiancee on the phone he wasn't aware that it was "ethnic engagement".

When we met him he complained that "my people" didn't drink enough alcohol and he was concerned not enough people would use the bar.

I questioned him what he meant by that comment and he said "you muslims don't drink alcohol."

I corrected him that I was a Hindu and he said the same comment again.

My fiancee pointed out that this was an outrageous generalisation to make, especially as I did drink alcohol myself and so do my Hindu family.

This fell on deaf ears and no apology was offered.

Avoid this arrogant, rude, and more importantly, racist person and his business.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Vivek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rochford hotels

essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at the Skylark, Southend on a Saturday night in July. I had read the reviews and was not expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised.
We had an executive room with a huge super kingsize bed that was very comfortable. The linen and towels seemed nearly new and were spotlessly clean, as was the room.
Other reviews noted the deteriorating condition of the en-suites but our bathroom had obviously been updated and was clean and had a powerful shower over the bath.
Although the hotel was busy we were not disturbed by any noise at all, though our room was towards the end of a corridor so I can't speak for others nearer reception and the bar/restaurant. We had booked one of the last rooms available through laterooms.com (cheaper than booking direct through Skylark website for some reason) and our room was on the side near the runway of Southend airport but we only heard 3 planes in the 18 hours we were there and they were remarkably quiet.
An earlier review mentions the 'abandoned and rotting'airplanes. Well, it's an airport and I guess retired planes are parked out of the way sometimes, but I quite liked looking at them and they were more interesting than a pile of bricks in the Tate.
The corridors were clear and the pictures have now been hung on the wall so that reviewer may just have been unfortunate in his timing.
You can, if flying from Southend, leave your car in the hotel car park (not sure what the cost was if any).
We will definitely have this hotel on our list of places to stay the next time we are in Southend.
A final word re the food. We didn't use the restaurant as we were at a function elsewhere in the evening but we had the breakfast the next morning. A reasonable continental selection, but we both had the full English and again another pleasant surprise. Very good quality and very nicely cooked. For info we had room 115.
This is a comfortable, clean, unpretentious hotel with an above average breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 115 was towards the end of a corridor away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rigsbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the 22nd of June and was bitterly disappointed. We were invited to stay in room 141. This room is very cold, there is an air con unit that heats as well but this is controlled by the reception on a central time. Therefore if its a cold day you cannot put the heating on in your room. The room was very bland with no pictures or anything on the walls just paint. The bathroom was large but again very plain. The toilet seat didn't fit the pan and moved everytime you sat on it. The shower only supplied a dribble of hot water through the shower head eventhough there was plenty of hot water for a bath. (must be piped wrongly). Breakfast Sunday morning was fine if you had the full english breakfast. It was cooked to order and was lovely and hot. On the down side there was only one member of staff on duty so service was slow. His shirt was hanging out his trousers and he looked as if he had just got up.
Over all don't stay here if you can avoid it, It's not worth the money.

Room Tip: don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johngfry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel over the weekend for a family wedding - Grandma, my husband and I, and our two boys - ages 5 and 7 - along with a large number of other members of our extended family. The approach to the hotel is a bit worrying as it is effectively through an industrial estate. The buildings and grounds also look a little basic and neglected from the outside. Inside, the feel is quite Mediterranean with marble floors and very clean, lines (turns out the owner is from Cyprus). And then you meet the staff ! Ivo (general manager ?) had been fantastic even prior to our arrival. Over the previous few weeks and many, many emails and phone calls, Ivo had shown only patience, courtesy and a huge willingness to accommodate our every wish and need. In person, he was the same. Peter too also deserves high praise. Again, nothing was too much trouble and he moved heaven and earth (ok, the chef !) to get us what we wanted - no mean feat when we were part of a wedding of 80 odd people sit down and 150 for the evening, and had 2 fussy, dairy intolerant kids, and a gluten intolerant mother ! Later, in the bar, with a huge wedding and a gaming convention going on too, Peter was again attentive, patient, accommodating. The other staff we met were also very accommodating. The odd one lacked a ready smile, but overall the service was very good under very difficult circumstances.

Our rooms were in the new block opposite the original building. More expensive than the older rooms in the old part of the hotel, the rooms are basic, but, with the exception of a complimentary box of tissues in the room, have everything you need, and particularly, a great dinner-plate shower with loads of pressure and hot water, and a brilliant heating/air conditioning unit in each room - just select the temperature you want and it pumps out the cool or hot air as required. The beds are comfortable, the rooms were clean. The decor is basic, even a little clinical in the bathrooms, but everything was there, including a TV and a kettle and cups. The tea was everyday tea with no other choices and I would have preferred a mug rather than a tea cup but most hotels give you tea cups so that's not a valid criticism.

Overall, a basic hotel but made up for by high standards of cleanliness, great water and heating/cooling facilities in the room, and brilliant staff, particularly Ivo and Peter.

Thank you for a lovely stay !

Room Tip: The rooms in the new block opposite the main block are quieter, particularly if there is a function...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NulaStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

My wife and I have both been to this under advertised hotel a few times now and found the food,service very good. Valentines day and weekend were exceptional food and prices.
The log fire was a nice touch too.
Nothing is too much trouble.
Even if you're the only people visible/there it's a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreekEnd_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

After reading mixed reviews on this hotel I was a little worried but actually overall it's a nice hotel.
My wife and I stayed here for one night as we had a dinner in the neighbourhood.
Check in was quick and easy but walking to our room we noticed the state of the carpet in the hallways. We couldn't work out if it was heavily stained or just the carpet brush itself.
Our room however was lovely. Big with nice large, comfortable bed. Desk, 2 chairs and a table. Flat screen tv and wardrobe with tea/coffee making facilities. Nice bathroom although a little grubby but fantastic rain fall shower.
The view from the room was terrible. Clapped out airplanes and half built buildings but we weren't there on holiday so not a problem for us.
In the evening it seemed very popular with locals so obviously a fun place to spend an evening too. The Bar is open 24 hours a day for guests but luckily no rowdiness could be heard from our room!!
I would definitely stay here again and even recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank leefromdanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochford
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
2.5 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
2.3 mi away
Southend Guest House
Southend Guest House
#4 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Hotel

Property: Skylark Hotel
Address: Aviation Way, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Skylark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skylark Hotel opened for business in November 2011 having been renovated to a 4 star standard.The Hotel has 76 rooms, consisting of doubles,Twins, Family rooms and Suites.Most of the accommodation is on ground floor level, wheelchair accessible. Some of the rooms and public toilets have been modified as accessible. The Hotel borders with Southend Airport, very close to A127 leading to M25 motorway.We have a number of function rooms, suitable for Conferences, Banqueting, Weddings and other functions. We also have the facilities of a Business Centre.We have a large restaurant and a separate bar which are also open to non residents. Special sunday menu is offered.The hotel also caters for parties, business lunches, networking.Skylark Hotel is fitted with the latest Audio Visual technology.Free on site parking is available for over 200 vehicles.Perfect venue for accommodation and doing business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Skylark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylark Hotel Rochford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing