We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“run down hotel”
Review of Skylark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skylark Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“run down hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

we stayed here for a wedding but I would never come back. the bathroom was horrible all the fixing were rusty, on a plus the show was very powerful. the carpets in the hallway were covered in stains. we had dinner at the bar in the evening and paid almost £10 for ham egg and chips, they brought us out really cheap processed ham which tasted nasty. all the staff were eastern European and didn't seem to care about any of the guests. this is a cheap hotel and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank will l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    30
    27
    16
    29
See reviews for
27
47
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights to attend a wedding. We had an executive room which was quite well appointed, even having two armchairs so we could watch TV (a nice modern slimline model) in comfort. Our only adverse comment about the room was that the en-suite bathroom had no form of heating and was consequently quite cold (this was November!). We also thought it strange that the heating for the bedroom was controlled (on/off) from Reception.
We did have a problem sleeping on the first night (which was a Saturday) in that the hotel is right next to a night Club (Zero 6) and VERY LOUD music went on until 3.00 am! We did actually manage to get to sleep momentarily at about 1.30, but were awoken at approx 2.00 am by the fire alarm going off - this, we were told, was due to somebody smoking. After that we could not get to sleep again until well after 3.00 am. We did telephone reception at around 1.00 to inquire how long the music was going on; they did not get back to tell us so we rang again at 2.30pm to be told it would go on until 3.00 am; at that point the person on reception advised that we could change rooms, but this would involve going out of the building across an open courtyard in our pyjamas - which, at half past two in the morning, we chose not to do.
Reception told us in the morning that Zero 6 very rarely have such an event- we were unlucky. So, the message is - ask if they are having a musical night before booking - or don't sleep! Our second night was fine.
We are still waiting for the Manager to telephone us to apologise and offer us some compensation for our lost night...

Room Tip: Inquire whether the night club has an event during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I think some of the previous reviews were a little harsh. Ok, location, no great. Somewhere in the middle of an industrial estate away from all other form of civilisation ! Do not forget your toothbrush! However, the hotel was clean, it has a bar and a restaurant, and I found the staff to be very friendly. Admittedily, the lady at reception appeared a little cold at first, but if you smile at her, she will smile back & she is very pleasant. So, all in all, the hotel itself left me indifferent really. I would not go there on holiday but for one night, it is acceptable. But the staff were nice, including the Manager.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nath37-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I had to stay here on business as no other hotel in the area was available at short notice, which started alarm bells ringing. I can now fully understand how we were able to secure rooms.

Location - Like Beirut on a good day. Clapped out aircraft at the end of the "drive" up to the airport. First impression is of Crossroads Motel.

Staff - Reception staff appeared to double/triple up as receptionist, bar staff, waiters, etc. Very friendly, though.

Food - Didn't stay for evening dinner, and what we saw of other residents offerings glad we didn't. Cooked breakfast surprising good. Continental section OK.

Rooms - Had a superior balcony room. Room itself was very clean, bed seen better days. Bathroom great with super powerful shower. Loads of fluffy towels and bathrobes. Not sure what the balcony was for, as it was just overlooking the dire car park, and the said dumped aircraft.

For the price paid, not really worth the money. Staff trying hard, but lack of customers very evident. Seventy rooms, with just 10 customers? Surreal.........

Room Tip: Try to book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkRuscoeRomanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rochford hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed recently for a business meeting and found the hotel to be of very good quality. My room was spotless and very well equipped, with a massive bed and nice touches like bathrobes, good tea making and free WiFi. Despite being close to the airport the room was quiet and I got a very good nights sleep. Breakfast was excellent and I spoke to another guest who reported previous nights dinner was good too. For future reference I took the trouble to check out the business facilities and there were plenty of meeting rooms, etc and for a very big conference they will open up an on site nightclub for exclusive use of the delegates. Plenty of free on site parking too. The rates were competitive and all in all I had a good stay. Certainly stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building for maximum convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Positives are the hotel reception staff were lovely. Met two men one in the day and one in the night both were smiley, friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy, but the carpet looked a like it had seen much better days.
Negatives are the room was extremely basic £85 for 1 night and in a bad location. Nothing is around locally accept for 1 pub driving distance& a Tesco so you have to pay for cabs to go anywhere. I think £55 would be a reasonable price for the basic accommodation&location. I am glad 1 .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellybt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochford
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
2.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
2.5 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Rochford Hotel
The Rochford Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rochford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skylark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skylark Hotel

Property: Skylark Hotel
Address: Aviation Way, Rochford, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Rochford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rochford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Skylark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skylark Hotel opened for business in November 2011 having been renovated to a 4 star standard.The Hotel has 76 rooms, consisting of doubles,Twins, Family rooms and Suites.Most of the accommodation is on ground floor level, wheelchair accessible. Some of the rooms and public toilets have been modified as accessible. The Hotel borders with Southend Airport, very close to A127 leading to M25 motorway.We have a number of function rooms, suitable for Conferences, Banqueting, Weddings and other functions. We also have the facilities of a Business Centre.We have a large restaurant and a separate bar which are also open to non residents. Special sunday menu is offered.The hotel also caters for parties, business lunches, networking.Skylark Hotel is fitted with the latest Audio Visual technology.Free on site parking is available for over 200 vehicles.Perfect venue for accommodation and doing business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skylark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skylark Hotel Rochford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing