We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1stTime and not the last”
Review of Antica Roma

Antica Roma
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Rochford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1stTime and not the last”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant last Friday for the 1st time with my wife and another couple after having it recommended to us, although it is still really a Pub environment the staff and food were excellent and we will definitely go back and try their week night special menu which looks excellent value for money. The food portions were large but the quality of food was brilliant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tractoralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    81
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal and service was exceptional”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Traditional Italian restaurant with traditional Italian cuisine. Very large portions for all within my group, great selection of varied dishes suitable for all. The service was excellent, our waiter " Fat Joe" was very friendly and entertaining, which made the evening more enjoyable. It is unusual these days to get service which is more personal and was a very pleasant experience, compared to someone just taking your order and giving you your food!

Will be returning here again and hopefully have the same waiter! well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were a party of four and from start to finish our evening was a really enjoyable one. The staff are attentive, funny and very informative. Our meals were really good with very good portions. The wine was very good. All in all a very very enjoyable evening. Just wish we lived near to Rochford as would definitely go back. All four of us said it was the most enjoyable part of our weekend

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ANTICA ROMA”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

sciciian run pizza and pasta restaurant with different specials on the board available too. Nice cosy pleasant atmosphere. reasonable prices, good service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D137803H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a homely local restaurant with a very good fresh ingredients food from local sources. Genuine Italian cooking by genuine Italians, very friendly atmosphere and suitable for any occasion, even down to a quick lunch, with 3 course set menu to choose from at very affordable prices. Can't go wrong! I am a regular customer with my family and friends. Open all day 7 days a week!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Roma also viewed

Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Antica Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing