We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Italian in the heart of Rochford”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Antica Roma

Antica Roma
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Rochford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Italian in the heart of Rochford”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Im so pleased this restaurant is literally a two minute walk from me, because the food is delicious, they also always have plenty of specials available too, and roast dinners on a Sunday are huge and yummy!
P.S ordering garlic bread is essential, because its the best garlic bread in the world!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drama-queen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    77
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good as always”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been to this restaurant quite a few times before and it's nice to see it doesn't disappoint. The chicken with Gorgonzola sauce was tasty and the lamb was pink and juicy. We went with our little boy and the staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem. It would be great if the restaurant just had a little make over and then everything would be perfect. But good food, good wine and excellent staff. Definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hateleavinlasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“quality and value”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

very good food very good service and happy staff what more could you ask for the menu has a very wide variety and it is not all pasta and pizza

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Make sure you are hungry”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have visited this restaurant several times and have always found the service to be very good and attentive without being intrusive. Food is tasty with good portions. The menu is large with a good variety of food. The midweek special is excellent value and we would both recommend this restaurant. Prices are reasonable given the size of the portions and quality of food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richmondEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This restaurant has a good choice of traditional italian meals, from pasta to pizza to meat dishes. The portion sizes are good - including the desserts. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful. In general the service was excellent. The only small concern was that as we were a large party it took a little while for everyone to be served their main course, by which time my pasta dish was a little on the cold side. That being said I would definitely return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Roma also viewed

Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to Antica Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing