We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Honest Food - Friendly Service”
Review of The Horse & Groom

The Horse & Groom
Ranked #16 of 36 Restaurants in Rochford
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Honest Food - Friendly Service”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Popped in on a whim, was lucky to get a table (you can call and book) - Good Food, Generous Portions, Friendly Service. Then moved into the Bar where we enjoyed a couple of beers from a selection of 6 Real Ales. It was a Friday evening and the landlord laid on an evening buffet for the drinkers, apparently this is a weekly occurrence, and very welcome indeed.
We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryMast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horse & Groom... lovely little pub with a great beer selection”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We’ve been to the Horse & Groom a few times now and it’s definitely the best pub in Rochford. A good selection food, beer & wines on the menu, excellent ales, food nicely cooked and all well presented. Extremely friendly and attentive staff who are always very welcoming. We will definitely be going back for another visit in the near future.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TKKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Horse & Groom is well known in the Rochford / Southend area for its excellent range of real ales and has up to six hand-pumps on the go at any one time. The pub is also a frequent winner of local CAMRA awards and it was during a visit one Friday late afternoon in January 2014 when a drinking companion and I decided to try-out their food.

The restaurant side of the business is currently managed by Harrisons of Hockley and after going though the fairly extensive menu which included steak, pasta dishes and burgers, we both opted for the beer-battered fish which came with hand-cut chips, tartare sauce, mushy peas and mixed salad. Whilst ordering, we asked the waitress whether the mushy peas could be replaced with garden peas and were pleasantly informed that this would be no problem at all.

The food arrived pretty quickly but my initial response was to bemoan over the apparent lack of chips on the plate. I needn't have worried though as these were no ordinary chips - these were hand-cut (similar to wedges) and in hindsight the portion size was just about right. The battered fish was of a fair size and good quality, and the pea portion was generous. The mixed salad, which had a light dressing on it, and the tartare sauce completed the meal and various condiments were also placed upon our table.

Halfway through eating the waitress came-by just to make sure that everything was OK with our food which, of course, it was and, all in all, it was a very enjoyable tasty meal. In terms of value the meal cost £9.95 - which is reasonable for this particular location - but the food was good as was the service and, naturally, a drop (or two) of well-kept ale helped to wash it all down.

Well done, Horse & Groom / Harrisons...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 405-Lines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday lunch but roast not the best”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We went here for Sunday lunch. We ordered starters and mains. The whitebait and squid which were ordered were very tasty. Unfortunately they had run out of ribs and as my husband does not like seafood, his only other starter was soup. I think it would have been nice for there to have been another option. However he said the soup was nice. For mains our table ordered the Horse and Groom burger, southern fried chicken and roast beef and pork. The first two dishes were very much enjoyed and the portions were very good. The roasts were not so popular. The beef was a little rare and chewy in places for a couple of people. I ordered the pork in the hope of some crackling but it did not come with any which was a shame. The pork was nice enough but did not blow me away. However we could not fault the service, the waitress was friendly and the prices were reasonable. We would like to go back but probably not for a roast.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannydbessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday evening 4.48 just in time for a meal”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Regrettably the worst roast beef meal I have ever had. Veg not even warmed up from lunch and not eaten. Beef also cold and just about edible. My wife had chicken and the standard was similar. I'm astonished that Harrison's are fronting such a disgrace.I will never return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horse & Groom also viewed

Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Horse & Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing