We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five out of five”
Review of Prospect Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Briavels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospect Cottage
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The location is great and the rooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. But it's big plus is attention to small detail - coffee making facilities in the room with real coffee, a log fire burning in the guest sitting room when we returned from dinner in St Briavels, and Welsh vegetarian sausages for breakfast having merely mentioned in passing that i was vegetarian.

The ONLY downside to this place is the drive which is not very suitable for cars with low suspension - ours bumped and scraped along it in a rather alarming way. It seems unfair to mention it since it's not the owners fault (the drive is mantained by someone else), but it's as well to be aware of it. The owners offered to pick us up at the end of the drive if we decided to park our car there - possibly we should have said yes!

We went out for dinner at the nearly George Inn in St Briavels. We had trouble getting a table so we would recommend making a reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruffin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed one night having chosen based on Tripadvisor reviews, and wished we had time to stay longer. This is a beautifully modernised yet charming old property in a lovely location on the river. A pleasant two-mile walk along the river bank to the pub in the evening was just the ticket after a day in the car, followed by a great night's sleep in the very comfortable rooms. Nice filling breakfast, too and friendly and hospitable hosts. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Top room can be quite hot in warm weather, but they're all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was our very first time in this area so we did not know what to expect and wanted to see as much of the area as possible in the short space of time we had. Yes we were very worried about our BMW driving up and down what can only be described as an unkept dirt track! We will certainly have to go and get all the scratches polished out. We may even need to get the suspension checked!!! All we can say is be prepared!! Ok so having read all the reviews before we booked, we did wonder if Roger actually existed! We only saw him once and that was on the last day. The visitors accommodation is on the ground floor, unfortunately, Lesley and Roger allow their dog and two cats free reign around the guest area. It was not unusual to see one of the cats occupying a dining chair or even one of the lounge chairs. You will need to let them know if you are allergic. The room we had was very comfortable and the views were splendid. We made Lesley aware of the damage done to our car but she did not seem too bothered and just blamed it all on the landowners. Unfortunately we shall not be returning.

Room Tip: Don't go there if you want your bathing facilities in your room and take a dressing gown!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinafrost20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley F, Owner at Prospect Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

I am sorry that Prospect Cottage did not satisfy your criteria. The drive is not owned by us and is clearly described on the website. Also, with regards to the animals it is clearly outlined on the access statement that we have pets and the dog is not allowed in guest areas when food is prepared and served. This is a country area and visitors also appreciate the ambience of same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife, parents and I stayed here for four nights in June. We had not stayed before at this B&B, as we usually use and establishment on the opposite side of the Forest of Dean. We fancied a change and more quiet and peaceful location to stay. We certainly struck gold with Prospect Cottage.
The B&B is located down an unmade track right beside the River Wye and is a 5 minute drive from Bigsweir Bridge, so its location couldn't be better. We were greeted warmly by the hosts, Lesley and Roger and made to feel right at home. We were shown the property and straight away we felt like we visiting relatives instead of a B&B. We were greeted with hot drinks and some cake and were able to observe the wonderful view of the river and the numerous birds visiting the feeders from the balcony of the house. This was a lovely feature and every morning and evening you were drawn to the balcony to take in the views.
The rooms are comfortable and well furnished and the bathrooms well equipped. There is Sky TV in the lounge which leads to the balcony and is also where you have breakfast, which is excellent (best bacon I've had in a long time!)
We all thoroughly relaxed and slept well after our long walks from the property and surrounding countryside, we will be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Lower of the two rooms has access to a bath and shower - the top room just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiggy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This converted gardener's cottage is ideal for those who just want to get away from it all for a while.
Lesley and Roger are as good as their word.A warm welcome WAS waiting for us as we arrived and it continued throughout our stay(which sadly flew passed)
Our hosts live on the ground floor,while guests occupy the upper ground floor(dining room and sitting room) including a balcony which overlooks the nearby River Wye.The house is surrounded by trees and the bird life is endless.
The two guestrooms are found on the first and second floors.That found on the first floor is slightly larger but the other has better views.Both have private bathroom facilities.The rooms are light and airey and very comfortable.
Lesley's breakfasts are a real treat including cereal/porridge,tea coffee and toast and the traditional "full English"(not for the fient hearted) You WILL need a walk afterwards !!
Although they have only been in the valley a short while both Lesley and Roger have a good knowledge of the area and are determined to ensure that guests get the very most from their stay. We all had a truly wonderful time.

Room Tip: There are only 2 guest rooms both are excellent.The lower room is slightly larger while the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Absolutely wonderful visit, Lesley went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We were on our first day of Offa's Dyke and managed to lose the path in bad weather, and Mr Farmer came to meet us and guide us back to the B&B.

The rooms were wonderful, so clean, little extras like the hospitality tray were a wonderful touch (especially the soya milk on mine!) as was the surprise of the enormous hot-tub bath on the first floor!

However the best part had to be dinner, I was worried that it would be difficult for our hosts to accommodate my vegan diet but Lesley prepared what has to be one of the most delicious meals I've ever had. We begun the meal with a warming potato & leek soup, followed by lasagne – a meat one for my dad and a leek & vegetable dairy free one for myself. The extra touches like the local wild garlic flowers in the salad were a welcome treat. Could not recommend this place more, it was a lovely evening!

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor double and my Dad in the penthouse however both rooms were wonderful - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

My two sisters and I took a 9 day trip through Wales and parts of England, and were able to stop for two days in Prospect Cottage in the Wye Valley. We stayed in private Bed and Breakfasts for the entirety of our trip, and I must say that this location and Prospect Cottage was by far our favourite place to have been able to stay. Leslie and her husband were wonderful and warm and welcoming. They made sure that we had everything that we needed and they went above and beyond to help us when we needed it. The rooms and bathroom were spotless clean and the suite was like a refuge where we were able to escape after hiking in the steady rain through the forest on a 12 mile hike. It's only a ten minute drive to places such as Tintern Abbey, or Puzzlewood, and there are so many walks that you can take straight from their front door. It was an excellent experience over all. The area was beautiful, the hosts were wonderful, and the house was perfect. I would recommend it to anyone who's interested in the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean area, and I would definitely book again myself.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taylor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Briavels hotels
1.4 mi away
Lindors Country House Hotel
Lindors Country House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saint Briavels
166 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Green Gables B&B
#3 of 3 in Saint Briavels
12 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
The George Inn
#5 of 5 in Saint Briavels
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Cottage

Address: Prospect Cottage Lower Wye Valley Road | Bigswier, Lydney GL15 6RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney > Saint Briavels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Briavels
Price Range: £25 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want peace and tranquillity, then Prospect Cottage fulfills your needs as it is situated in an idyllic setting on the River Wye. Offa's Dyke footpath runs alongside the property and together with the myriad of footpaths in the area it is an ideal base for walkers. Cyclists are also welcome and we have secure parking & storage. All the other attractions of the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean are within easy reach. We aim to source locally produced food wherever possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prospect Cottage Saint Briavels, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing