We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless staff, idyllic setting”
Review of St Briavels Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Briavels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Briavels Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This YHA hostel as a castle deserved a very good review from myself. I went with 2 others for a few nights in order to walk, canoe and cycle around the surrounding area on budget. We were greeted by the hostel "duty manager", the friendliest person you will ever meet, only closly beating the breakfast server. The two of them would have done anything and everything for all guests and made everyone feel most welcome. If it's the great outdoors you're after, then this place is the perfect location for kayaking, caving, canoeing, mazes, walking, cycling, you name it. Everything is a stone's throw away. The hostel is basic, but adds to the mystical novelty of being in a Castle. Definitely making this an annual occurrence.

Room Tip: I've given "Average" because what do you expect from a youth hostel? Value for money a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This Youth Hostel was King John's hunting lodge. Large dormitory ( to myself) with friendly staff and reasonably priced food if you don't feel like self catering. Convenient for Offa's Dyke or Wye Valley walk but worth visiting for itself.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hepsebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Just had to pop a few words down to say that we had this trip arranged as part of my dad's birthday celebrations - It did not dissapoint in any way, the medeival banquet was great fun, and dressing up was part of this. Simon who is the "Peasant" played his role very well as well as the other roles of assisting and running the place, so thank you to you and to all the rest of the staff who made it all in all a thoroughly unforgettable experience in only a good way! The tour that we had on Sunday morning is very worthwhile, and I strongly advise people that visit to make this part of their experience and do the tour which lasts about an hour and a quarter, which is very interesting and fun at the same time.. Many, Many Thanks to ALL the staff and hope to visit at a later date.... for more hilarity and shannigans. Also, the cooked breakfasts to order were very good, thanks chef! Sent on behalf of All the Huntley's.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We hired the whole castle exclusively for a joint 30th birthday celebration weekend, It was the best weekend ever. The staff are absolutely fantastic, worked so hard to make the weekend perfect. The kids loved running around the castle. We did archery which was great and a medieval banquet on the saturday night which we all got dressed up for. The food was really really good for all the meals. The bar was reasonable priced and what better setting could you ask for than a haunted castle...we had a couple of spooky happenings...all adds to the fun.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roo1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed at this hostel with some friends over the Easter Weekend, it was almost to capacity, but it didn't feel that way because the facilities are quite large. The facilities had a 'used' feeling, but it didn't bother me at all.

If you have a family and you go over a weekend, they usually host night activities such as Cluedo or have a medieval banquet. I never participated in it, however it seemed like a good option for others. They also cook dinner and breakfast for a charge.

The draw of the Castle is the access to Wye Valley for great hikes and walks. Which was the highlight of my trip, as well as staying in a castle.

We got there by public transport by taking a bus from Gloucester to Bream and then walking the 3 miles from Bream to St. Briavels. Look at the bus timetable because the buses are infrequent and you could wait up to an hour if not planned properly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nihoncaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

A typical (and slightly run-down) YHA, with fairly basic and well-worn facilities (thus the lower rating), which is redeemed by the fact that you get to sleep in a castle, which is really excellent fun!

The staff are great - friendly, helpful and welcoming. They seem very keen to assist where they can.

Note that there is an 11:30pm lockout, and the dorms are split male/female, so couples and mixed groups will be split up, and you can't stay out late.

Internet access was quite expensive and only really accessible in one area of the castle.

You ideally need a car to stay here, although parking is limited.

The (only) pub in the village is excellent - although you probably need to book a table, especially for the weekend.

I'd definitely stay again, as the novelty is absolutely worth it, but it's more suitable for school or youth groups and families or older visitors, and the decor really is very worn and outdated, making it less pleasant than it could be. It's not at all a "party" hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Booked a stay at St Briavel with four friends. This was coat effective and a cheaper alternative to a hotel. The accommodation was clean and tidy, beds comfy and bedding clean. Breakfast was tasty and a great way to start the day. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The local pub was also a nice way to spend a few hours.

Car park spaces are limited but there is parking on the road adjacent, with the facilities being basic as it is a hostel, (with few amenities in the local area). However it is a short drive from the beautiful Chepstow, busy Cardiff or the developing Gloucester!

Highly recommend St Briavel Castle to friends taking a break, families on holiday or those travelling alone looking for a bed for the night!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w146519c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Briavels
2.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
687 reviews
8.4 mi away
YHA Wye Valley
YHA Wye Valley
#2 of 17 in Ross-on-Wye
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lindors Country House Hotel
Lindors Country House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saint Briavels
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Green Gables B&B
#3 of 3 in Saint Briavels
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
The George Inn
#5 of 5 in Saint Briavels
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Briavels Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Briavels Castle

Address: The Castle Church Street | Lydney, Lydney GL15 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Lydney > Saint Briavels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Saint Briavels
Hotel Class:3 star — St Briavels Castle 3*
Also Known As:
St Briavels Castle Saint Briavels, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing