We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great funm and Experience”
Review of St Briavels Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Briavels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St Briavels Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Waterlooville UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really great funm and Experience”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We came and stayed for two nights with 16 of our family and friends aged from 3 to 51. The Staff over the whole weekend were very helpful and friendly. On the Saturday night we went to the Medieval Banquet which was hosted by a really funny and informative compere, he was worth the night. The food was great and plenty and merriment was had by all our family and friends and from the next day I believe most of the other guests. On the Sunday we tried the archery and had a informative walk around the castle. The rooms were great for our purposes, we stayed in the 16 bed guardroom which was a mixture of metal and wooden bunkbeds. The metal ones were sturdy but the wooden ones were quite creaky but added to the weekend. The doors creaked and the floor boards moved, but what can you expect from a 13th century castle , if you want a quiet modern hotel , please don't come but if you want to experience an atmospheric drop into the past with fun this is the place for a family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
7
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great place for families! How fun to stay in an actual medieval castle. Although my daughter was a little spooked by it. We enjoyed exploring the castle. The kids had an archery lesson in the morning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kkwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked here for a single night in December - fully prepared to be cold and sleep on an uncomfortable bed, but we wanted something different and this fitted the bill. How wrong we were :-) From the fully informative emails keeping us up to date with the schedule for the evening to the warm welcome on arrival through the mediaeval banquet and "Cluedo in the castle" we couldn't have had a better evening.

The food at the banquet was really tasty - once everyone had got used to using fingers instead of cutlery :-) the ice was really broken.

I can thoroughly recommend St Briavel's castle for a hostelling experience you won't forget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stopped at St Briavels for two nights with S.P.O.O.K.S. for a Paranormal Investaigation.

The Building is Steeped in History,

The Rooms are lovely, the beds comfotable, the facilities ideal and the Staff Exemplory.

We had a Medieval Banquet one night and the Toast Master was excellent, knew all the History of the Venue and surrounding area and was very accomplished at his job.

The team we were hunting with had full access to the building, we stopped in the most haunted room in the most haunted beds.

The Paranormal Activity is calming doen at the Castle, possibly due to too many Investigations as they now have them every week, but we certianily encountered plenty of Spirits at the Castle, and not of the alcoholic variety.

Room Tip: Stop in the Oubliette, the Haunted bed is directly in-line with the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natwinstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My wife booked this, I was sceptical as not really know about youth hostelling, guess confused with the definition for youth. I have to say it was wonderful.....great for everyone! I went there with my family, two teens and a three yr old. The staff made the stay just amazing.....helpful, empathetic just added to experience. We enjoyed the banquet night, I felt like I was back in time. The food was delicious and plentiful...never went hungry or thirsty...a big thank you to Linda, Alex, Simon, Luke, Big Nick (never look him in the eye) sorry if I forgot anyone...but the whole team need to be applauded as they made the trip such a wonderful experience..we will definitely be back....thanks guys!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank vish700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Excellent building very interesting to explore and hear all the stories as you would expect from a building that has so much history having been King Johns hunting lodge in the old days. Now run as part of the YHA organisation so excellent value for money. The staff here make the experience an enjoyable one and the food is excellent especially the medieval banquet night. If you are going as a large group you can book the whole building so everything is there for your entertainment. Will definitely be returning another time.

Room Tip: There are lots of steep narrow staircases so if mobility is an issue for you there are just 2 dormit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We made quite a long drive to visit this attraction based on the opening times on the website (1pm - 4pm) and turned up in the afternoon only to be told it wasn't open as there were guests staying. Now I understand that it's a YMCA but even so you'd think they would either restrict the opening times further or put something on the website about calling first to check. Judging by the outside it looks like it must be fantastic inside, but..... So it's only 3 stars for this I'm afraid and even then that's being generous.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stanley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Briavels
2.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.9 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
8.4 mi away
YHA Wye Valley
YHA Wye Valley
#2 of 15 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
20.0 mi away
YHA Bristol
YHA Bristol
#5 of 30 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Briavels Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Briavels Castle

Property: St Briavels Castle
Address: The Castle Church Street | Lydney, Saint Briavels GL15 6RG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Saint Briavels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Saint Briavels
Hotel Class:3 star — St Briavels Castle 3*
Also Known As:
St Briavels Castle Saint Briavels, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing