We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
28
11
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
11
0
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent 5 marvellous days in Casa Amarilla. Everything was perfect, from Mark´s warm welcoming and very complete explaining of the area to the incredible beach located in front of the house. We stayed in the ground floor which was perfect for our kids (3 years and 18 month-old). Did I mention the kitchen? It was INCREDIBLE! Really, the whole thing exceeded our expectations.
The sea might be a bit rough for little kids but there are some very nice, calm beaches in less than a 30 min drive.
We hope to be able to come back to Casa Amarilla in the future

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We successfully put together a last minute trip to the Todos Santos-Pescadero area during the week of March 15th-22nd. After viewing many properties on the internet, we found Casa Amarilla, a house located on the north end of Playa Pescadero. Arriving and settling in was made enjoyable thanks to Mark of Gypsy's by the Sea. We really enjoyed conversations with him, learning much about the area both culturally and geographically. He was right on the spot when we needed assistance.

The house is tastefully decorated, and the upstairs unit was more than spacious enough for us two. The bed was comfortable (ie: firm enough, but not too). Best of all the deck enables a view of the full length of the beach. Binoculars are recommended.

This is our first stay in a desert area, as we prefer the tropics. We were pleasantly surprised to find this area full of palms and other greenery, as it really is an oasis. The easy access to local restaurants and slightly further travel to Todos Santos (10 to 15") allowed for many delicious meals. A 4X rental is recommended as the roads from the highway to Playa Pescadero are not paved. This would also enable one to explore many nearby off-road locations.

We would definitely return to Casa Amarilla, not in small part due to Mark, the Gypsy. In the meantime, we will enjoy Pescadero vicariously every time we pick up fresh basil at Trader Joe's. We were told that it is grown next to those unpaved roads on the way to this very enjoyable beach house.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_Awrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Gypsy's by the Sea set us up at "Casa Lopez", a 2 bedroom one (huge) bathroom house a stone's throw away from the beach in El Pescadero. Mark has many properties in the area so it was a breeze to find a place for my son and I. The house was lovely with beautiful double doors that open up onto a long (wrap around) porch. Out these doors are views of the garden as well as beyond towards the pacific. There is also a large patio out there with a wood fired pizza oven! The beds were comfy and the rooftop patio was great for a sunset cocktail or stargazing. Great place to lay your head if ever you find yourself in El Pescadero. I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: 2 singles in one room, a queen in the other..... your choice!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laughinggecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We recently stayed at Gypsy's Casa Blanca in El Pescadero for three weeks. Casa Blanca's was much more than we expected. The home was spotless, beautifully designed, peaceful, central to three surf locations (one within walking distance). The layout was great for our family of three to share with a couple who joined us for the first two weeks. The 3rd floor patio was breath-taking - overlooking bountiful fields of produce, rugged dirt roads, and to the west, the endless blue of the Baja ocean. Soft winds cooled the midday sun and surfers skin in the shade of the hammock. ahhhh... Drinks overlooking the ocean sunset - GORGEOUS. (if you have young children, yes, as consistent with most homes there, there are lower walls on the upper patios so supervision is always required).

Mark and Johanna were amazing hosts - gracious, hospitable, wonderful resources and complete pros (always did what they said and got back to us promptly in emails or requests). We have a four and a half year old who adores them both. She learned to swim in the Casa Blanca pool with her dragonfly friends since the beach closest is not recommended as a kiddo-friendly swim beach. Perfect for her (& us).

Casa Blanca was a home away from home that we were so thankful for, and eager to return to. Thank you Mark & Johanna for making our family/friend time a trip to always remember.

A,M&M

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Absolutely loved Gypsy's! Stayed for nearly 3 weeks and want to go back asap. Mark is the best host you can ask for! Will help you out as much as he can, and will leave you alone to relax and unwind. Very easy going guy. Unless you walk slow, its about a 30sec walk to the beach. Rooms are clean, cozy and always had fresh sheets! Kitchen is amazing, outside hammock to read and relax and the outside shower is perfect for washing off the sea salt after a surf!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews