We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I never wanted to leave but my wife and kids were waitng for us in Cabo”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Pescadero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gypsy's by the Sea - Beach Guest House
Ranked #5 of 8 El Pescadero B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I never wanted to leave but my wife and kids were waitng for us in Cabo”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

If you have ever had one of those perfect weekends at a cottage were you never wanted it to end then you have to visit the Gypsy. I left my family and mother in-law at a five star resort in Cabo and headed out with my father in-law to go on a weekend adventure up the coast. We were told to watch out for this and that but had an uneventful travel to an oasis paradise called Toro Santos were we met the host of the Gypsy, Marco at the Hotel California patio. After he gave us a great tour of the town we purchased fresh shrimp from a local vender and headed down the road less traveled to possibly the coolest spot I have ever visited.
After check in, "which was throwing our bags on the beds", we headed for the beach with some frosty Coronas and our beach chairs. Nothing could have prepared me for what we saw next. It was awesome! Mile after mile of pristine uninhabited beach, massive surf and the cherry was a pod of whales romping in the surf a hundred yards right in front of us.
After a great day at the beach it was back to the Gypsy our host cooked up tasty surf and turf then it was off to the Friday night Reggie jam at the beach bar. I don't remember much after my 6th or 7th shot of tequila but the big M got us home safe.
I woke up to the sound of surf rolling in on the beach which goes great with the morning coffee. All I can say is if there was one day that I could turn into "ground hog day" this would have been it. A must visit in your lifetime at least 3-4 times
Thanks big "M".

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icelifeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    11
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I just returned from a 5 day trip with 20 girls at Gypsy's and Roberts. The accommodations exceeded all of my expectations and the host/owner, Mark Catania, is fantastic. Mark co-ordinated all our excursions, arranged a chef to cook for us, transportation and activities. The guest houses are situated on a beautiful beach and we saw whales and seals everyday. The area is safe and we felt comfortable to go anywhere on our own or in a group. The walk to Cerritos Beach from Gypsy's is spectactular. I can't wait to return to Gypsy's and have another amazing vacation. If you like 5 star resorts, this is not, but it is authentic, real, raw, natural beauty and fun!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miakonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

After the noisy bars and no sleep in Cabo, it was a real treat to come here and go to sleep with nothing but the noise from the surf. You get the beach almost completely to yourself too. If you surf, or want to learn, this is a great place to come. The kitchen is at your disposal but if you prefer you can drive into nearby Todos Santos or go to Rancho Pescadero which is a 15 minute beach walk. Bring some good books, some ingredients for margaritas and you're all set.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

If you're looking for good paved access, a pool, walkable restaurants, room service, wi-fi, planned activities, a mint on the pillow, and the latest dj's spinning the dance hits of today, well, best of luck to you, you won't find it here. Continue to stay elsewhere.

For the rest of you - - - those of you interested in a stress-free zone with an open-ended agenda - - - you'll love this place. It's at the end of a good long stretch of bad dirt road (there are clearance issues but my rented Aveo did just fine) within earshot of some of the loveliest surf ever. Your time is your own, you'll figure it out. Excellent local seafood & produce, cooked in the well-appointed kitchen while the margaritas flow . . .

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbyrdduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We had a great time at Gypsy's by the Sea! The palapa rooms are a mix of sleeping 1/2 inside and 1/2 outside and I loved waking to the sounds of surf, birds, and geckos. A big bonus if you like to cook is the place used to be a restaurant so there's a big kitchen and a produce stand nearby and fresh seafood in Todos Santos-- the result was a lot of awesome food, stories, and laughter were shared!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanders1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiloquin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Spent 12 days in Baja, east & west capes, with our 6 and 8 year old children...snorkeling, authenic food, turtles etc. When asked about the best part of the trip, they said "making good friends at Gypsy's". Mark was a gracious host. We instantly felt friendship and comfort at Gypsy's. Music play list in main house is excellent. Mark has a great connection with singles and families. Those in baja for a hip time, adventure or relaxation can find their groove here. Thanks Mark, Great to say goodbye again in San Jose d.C.!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajafour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allroundadventure
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Mark was a gracious host and Gypsy's had just what we needed to unwind. The facilities are clean and welcoming, there's a relaxed common room and kitchen, and a phenomenal beach with whales migrating offshore! We're glad we stopped on our tour about Southern Baja.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allroundadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
0.5 mi away
Rancho Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero
#1 of 4 in El Pescadero
447 reviews
7.2 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
5.6 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cerritos Beach Inn
Cerritos Beach Inn
#1 of 8 in El Pescadero
89 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cerritos Surf Town
Cerritos Surf Town
#3 of 4 in El Pescadero
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gypsy's by the Sea - Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gypsy's by the Sea - Beach Guest House

Property: Gypsy's by the Sea - Beach Guest House
Address: Pescadero Beach, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gypsy's is the perfect place to surf the last waves, witness the grey whale migration or just enjoy the sunset. Comfortable beach accommodations in a laid back atmosphere. Full kitchen available to guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gypsy`s By The Sea - Beach Guest House Hotel El Pescadero
Gypsy's By The Sea - Beach Guest House El Pescadero, Mexico - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing