We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of Rancho Pescadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Pescadero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We were able to stay three glorious nights at rancho and will definitely be back. The food was great- particularly the fish grilled a la Talle(I think) and the chile rellenos. We did not have a bad drink! Our room was great. The service really couldnt have been better. We will be back someday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meganigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Rancho Pescadero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Rancho during our trip through Baja, and it was a wonderful experience. The decor of the hotel is beautiful, the pool is heaven, and the rooms are peaceful. The restaurant is fantastic; Fresh seafood and fruit is a guarantee. The staff was beyond helpful as well and they make an effort to get to know you by name and are always going the extra mile. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who has the privilege of travelling to the beautiful Todos Santos/ El Pescadero region.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kait5774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I agree with all the great things folks said. The resort is really gorgeous and the staff, to a person, did their level best to provide excellent service. The bar staff was particularly warm, fun and professional.

But...

1) During our three night stay, there was no wifi in the rooms and the wifi near the lobby was sub-dial-up slow. Drink a whole cup of coffee while the WSJ homepage loads slow. It is a remote place and we needed wifi to keep in touch with our kids so this was a real bummer. I complained about the issue on my first day but nothing seemed to happen. Might have been out of their control but at a resort without phones, limited cell coverage (Verizon no, T-Mobile + AT&T si), this connection (or lack thereof) was not good.

2) I was disappointed with the room (#8). I booked and was charged for a "Rancho Suite King." The website advertised the room as: "The ocean view Rancho King Suite is our signature suite." The room had no ocean view. None. It is on the ground floor and faces a palm grove. You can hear the ocean but that's not really the same thing.

3) The road to get into the hotel from the highway is a bit dodgy -- especially after or during the rain. Probably can't be helped by the hotel but it is something to consider.

4) When we there (after it rained) it was buggy. Again, probably not the fault of the hotel, but eating outside was sometimes unpleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CDMTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I can't recommend Rancho Pescadero enough to anyone seeking a perfect honeymoon or a relaxed getaway. From the food (by Chef Bueno; much of the ingredients grown on-site)) to the extreme friendliness and fun of the managers Carla & Danny, to Rene and all the bartenders and servers, the beautiful pool, morning coffee, fresh fruit, and pastry and the close-to-the beach location, everything was great. Our needs were anticipated before we realized them.
We stayed in Suite 1 for six days and it was spacious, cool (with the air conditioner once it had about an hour or so to cool the room) clean, and "freshened up" daily. There is purified bottled water outside your room, and a pitcher inside.
Like most places in Mexico, there were some small lizards sharing the room, but they were nothing to worry about. The beds are equipped with mosquito netting, but there was no great need for it. Our room had a soaking tub and a step-down into the tub shower as part of the tub. One waterbug made a brief appearance, but was never seen again. Since we visited in mid-September, Pescadero was somewhat humid and hot in the afternoon, but nothing that was intolerable. It only rained once (torrentially) during our stay, but we missed that since we were at Cerritos beach that day and it barely rained there. Just be aware that while you >can< go in the water at Rancho Pescadero’s beach, there is a quick drop-off and some pretty strong currents.
Rancho Pescadero is located about a 5 mile drive south of Todos Santos and about 2-3 miles north of Cerritos beach; roughly an hour north of San Jose del Cabo.
I would go back in a heartbeat and recommend it completely. It was truly sad to leave; it felt like we were leaving family!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcav606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at Rancho Pescadero. The rooms are beautiful - immaculately clean, stylishly decorated, beautiful bathrooms, and large palapa-covered patios with ocean views. We enjoyed coffee, fruit, and a pastry on the patio every morning watching the waves and listening to the birds. We spent the majority of our time relaxing by the pool and hanging out at the beach. The pool is beautiful, with complementary towels, hats, magazines, and sunscreen poolside. The poolside bar was always staffed by Rene or Daniel, who whipped up delicious smoothies and drinks for us. The service was really outstanding. And the food! Awesome! Chef Bueno does a great job of using local ingredients and seafood to make delicious dishes. I would return in a heartbeat and would recommend it to everyone! I'm looking forward to our next trip - next time I'll try the yoga and the spa!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7, so had a private rooftop deck with panaromic views in addition to the ocean-vie...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seg319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

To me, anticipation is what separates the good from the great. The staff at Rancho Pescadero anticipated EVERY wish, need, want that we could have BEFORE we asked- from Rene filling our water glasses poolside before they were empty to incredible breakfasts waiting outside our door every morning. I put a lot of time and research into finding the perfect spot to relax for our honeymoon- Rancho Pescadero surpassed my wildest expectations. Chef Bueno's food is unbelievable and his passion for pleasing guests is obvious. The resort is kept in meticulous shape, and every staffer had a smile and an "hola" at all times.

By the end of our week not only had we not heard one single "no, sorry", we felt like we had made new lifelong friends. Thank you, Rancho Pescadero for the perfect honeymoon.

Room Tip: Room 2 was heavenly.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

You know you’ve had a fabulous vacation when you don’t want it to end
– and because you feel as if you’re saying goodbye to good friends. I
never felt like just a customer, instead a guest in a close friend’s
home! We never wanted for a thing!

That was the incredible experience my husband and I had at Rancho
Pescadero. The amazing staff all called us by name and got to know us
personally during our stay but, perhaps even more telling, we knew all
of their names as well:

• Karla greeted us and took excellent care of us throughout our visit,
and was always kind and helpful, with great attention to ever detail.
• Victor booked all of are arrangements we needed. We literally booked
our room and made a few requests, such as transport from the airport
and surf lessons, and the resort made all of the arrangements for us.
We even took tango lessons!
• Rodrigo, the head chef, deserves the credit for the amazingly
delicious meals we enjoyed. Fresh, locally grown, organic ingredients
were prominent in his cuisine, and he frequently made a point of
finding us and personally discussing ideas and options. He arranged a
perfect, private and romantic meal for us on the beach our last night!
In addition, La Abeja, a cook, and Mayell, a waiter, made our stay
memorable.
• Danny (the bar manager), Sergio and Cristobal were always friendly
and fun while serving us in the hotel bar. They remembered everything
we liked and always asked us about our day. They brought us special
treats around the pool.
• Edgar at the front desk never missed an opportunity to offer a warm
greeting and ask us how our day had gone.

Many others were just as appreciated, including the excellent
housekeeping staff and the people who raked the sand on the beach each
morning so it would look pristine and perfect.

The resort is impeccably maintained and absolutely beautiful in every
way, but what makes Rancho Pescadero so special is the beauty of its
people. We have honestly never been around a kinder, more engaging
group of employees – and we travel frequently. We truly felt welcome
and were treated like friends in someone’s home, rather than hotel
customers. And as owners of a hospitality-based business, we can be
hard to impress since we have such high expectations for customer
service and hospitality.

We would highly recommend Rancho Pescadero to anyone looking for
comfortable, casual luxury and a world-class staff committed to making
your vacation fun, personal, relaxing and special. We can’t wait to go
back!

Michelle
Charleston, South Carolina, USA

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
6.3 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
361 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
22 reviews
6.7 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
625 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cerritos Surf Town
Cerritos Surf Town
#3 of 4 in El Pescadero
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pescadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pescadero

Address: Camino a la Playa | Todos los Santos, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range: £137 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Pescadero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pescadero, Baja California Sur - An Outrageous Oceanfront Oasis - This private, secluded beach resort sits on 15 acres in Pescadero, five miles south of Todos Santos and 45 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas. Guests enjoy two luxurious swimming pools, multiple lounging areas, and spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, all with outdoor patios. Evening bonfires and world-class surf await you on the beach. Daily complimentary yoga classes and an amazing farm-to-table restaurant that sources organic produce grown onsite. A full-service wedding coordinator makes weddings truly magical. Quiet, luxurious and romantic. Come join the Rancho Pescadero family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rancho Pescadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pescadero Hotel El Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero El Pescadero, Mexico - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing