We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Rancho Pescadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Pescadero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bliss”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just finished our third trip in two years to this super relaxing boutique hotel away from it all - the anti-Cabo. All the staff here are exceptional but we're particularly fond of Karla & Danny, who make you feel like family and who are great raconteurs. Chef Rodrigo Bueno generously shares local treats not on the menu. Not all the rooms are the same; we like a second floor room in the old wing with views that make you think there are no other guests. It's a 10 min drive down a dirt road to Cerritos Beach, or 10 min in the other direction (on a paved highway) to Todos Santos town, where you can choose street-side fish tacos or gourmet pasta or raw scallops or molten chocolate cake ... bliss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    29
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
309
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Rancho Pescadero for a week in July. . This is not a luxury hotel , but it is not missing any of the amenities that you would find in such a place.
Yoga pavillion, lovely pool, good food (great ceviche, chips and guacamole, the outdoor areas were comfortable and always stocked with towels, hats, pool floats, and sun block the outdoor bar always had an interesting drink offering.
The fresh drinks and fruit were such a treat.,pineapple, mango, papaya , all these fruits were brought to your room in the morning along with a freshly baked goodie and coffee to start the day.
Rooms were spacious, clean and had great views of the ocean. (sadly you cannot swim in the ocean outside of the hotel, it generally has too many rip currents) the beach is long and makes a nice walk.however.
The one stand out were the staff. They could not have been nicer, more helpful and inviting.
Overall a standout hotel experience
.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were at Rancho Pescadero for a destination wedding. From the second we stepped out of the car we were made very welcome. The staff were always ready to please and very helpful at all times. The suite was very spacious and comfortable. The shower/tub very inviting & relaxing.The lack of phone and TV was not a lack at all. Who needs them when you are in such a gorgeous setting! The food was phenomenal. The beach was right there and you could walk for quite a distance. I can't say enough good things. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KConthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

If you want the finest the Cerritos ,Todos Santos area has to offer THIS is the Place. Stopped by on July 22, 2013 just to check it out . Had several drinks and really enjoyed the view from the roof top sitting area . The next day was the 23rd and my wife's birthday. Had planned to go to Todos' Café Santa Fe Restaurant which is world famous to celebrate . But after seeing Rancho Pescadero and enjoying the place we changed and decided to celebrate her Birthday there . I called and asked if we could just come and have lunch and maybe relax by the pool and that we had enjoyed being there so much the day before .Edgar was really accommodating. Well we went and had the most wonderful and delicious lunch and was really surprised when they brought a very special Birthday Cake with white icing and flowing pink ribbons. Not only was it beautiful but fresh and really great tasting Since I was in the hospitality business I can definitely tell you This Is The Place and a 5 star resort . Worth every penny that you will spend on either room or food . The manager has well trained the staff and they work very hard to please you . I am glad to recommend this place and will stay there on my next trip to the Baja .

Room Tip: We did not stay this time . Put any of the rooms or suites you pick will just add to a great time
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BajaJimmyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We went to Rancho Pescadero two weeks before the New York Times Travel section gave it a cover story in April 2010. In the nick of time! It was quiet, peaceful and oh, so romantic.

The rooms are much more than simple rooms. They are almost -almost -- casitas. Each building has a top floor and a bottom floor, with one suite on each. We had a top floor. Huge bedroom facing the ocean, with glass walls that opened to the ocean breeze. Fabulous to sleep to the sound of the waves. Step out of those sliding doors and we were on a huge terrace, equal to the generously sized bedroom. A mini fridge for cold drinks on the terrace, along with several places to lounge in style and comfort. AND, a winding staircase to the rooftop with more seating-- as if the views weren't good enough from the terrace! Add on top of that a pretty awesome bath, and there were no complaints at all of the accommodations.

Rancho Pescadero also has a nice, small restaurant and welcoming bar on site. Good food and drinks, good service. Landscaping is beautiful. There are well chosen art works on the grounds that only enhance the natural beauty. And, of course, it is right on the Pacific, so the beach is yours.

Speaking of beach, easy walk to a surfers' cove. Enjoyed watching the boarders do their thing. But take note: this is not a gentle ocean. The Pacific can pound here -- beautiful, but not always safe for a swim. Not to worry: RP has a beautiful pool.

The little town of Todos Santos is just a few kilometers up the road. We picked up a car after flying in to Cabo, so it was easy for us to get to TS. It had quite a few little galleries and restaurants, but remains pretty authentic. Not a touristy place, but very welcoming. An enjoyable outing, when and if you are ready to cut away from the relaxed elegance of Rancho Pescadero.

Great place for couples. Can't comment on taking kids, but if you and your partner want a place to getaway from it all, you will almost assuredly count this as a great selection.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D80206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Going in, I have to say that I was a little skeptical of all of the 5 star reviews of this place but that turned out to be unfounded. They thought of everything at Rancho Pescadero and didn’t cut any corners. The staff is amazing. I have to wonder how they found so many truly sincere and friendly people to staff the resort? Must be an industry secret.

The grounds, the pools, the service, the food and drinks…all impeccable.


A few notes:

There was a special spot by the secondary pool where wifi service works perfectly.

If you drive in from the North (Todos Santos) at night be very careful making the right turn off the highway, there is a small concrete part that almost looks like a driveway at night but it just falls into a drainage ditch; looks like someone has already driven into it (and probably will). When I left I put rocks there to hopefully prevent that but not sure if they will remain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_marx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is the kind of place romantic dreams are made of, a secluded hideaway.

It is a small, quaint but elegant, resort. Our room had a huge balcony with an ocean view. With sliding doors open, we went to sleep with the sounds of the ocean and awoke to the sounds of tropical birds.Both food and service were superior with a friendly and accommodating staff and a great creative chef.
We walked on the beach, had a massage, had a great food and drink, delivered poolside, and, best of all, had a private, romantic dinner served on the beach while watching the sunset.
We will return again and again as well as recommend it to friends and family as a wonderful getaway or a place to have a small wedding.
Ranch has it all. Fantastic !!!!!!!
Footprints in the sand

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
6.3 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
354 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#6 of 8 in Todos Santos
10 reviews
6.7 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
6.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
614 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cerritos Surf Town
Cerritos Surf Town
#3 of 4 in El Pescadero
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pescadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pescadero

Property: Rancho Pescadero
Address: Camino a la Playa | Todos los Santos, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Pescadero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pescadero, Baja California Sur - An Outrageous Oceanfront Oasis - This private, secluded beach resort sits on 15 acres in Pescadero, five miles south of Todos Santos and 45 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas. Guests enjoy two luxurious swimming pools, multiple lounging areas, and spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, all with outdoor patios. Evening bonfires and world-class surf await you on the beach. Daily complimentary yoga classes and an amazing farm-to-table restaurant that sources organic produce grown onsite. A full-service wedding coordinator makes weddings truly magical. Quiet, luxurious and romantic. Come join the Rancho Pescadero family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rancho Pescadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pescadero Hotel El Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero El Pescadero, Mexico - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing