We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhh, don't tell how AMAZING it is!”
Review of Rancho Pescadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Pescadero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Shhhh, don't tell how AMAZING it is!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I am seven months overdue writing this review but feel no wowed by our visit. This place really is "all that". Relaxing. Lovely. Friendly. Good food. Good drinks. Quiet(!!!!!!!). Easy. Did I mention relaxing?

Every picture posted here is 'true'. Every comment noted here is real. As two gay men, we weren't sure how 'friendly' it would be, the (San Francisco) good folks who own Rancho Pescadero were gracious and lovely. From the minute you arrive...you simply get to exhale...and enjoy all that is Rancho Pescadero.

Bravo! We'll be back...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjmsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    31
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
311
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We loved our stay at Rancho Pescadero. This is a wonderful property, created with good taste and run with loving care.

Our large 2nd floor room had an oceanfront view with breathtaking sunsets. It was beautifully and comfortably furnished, with a sofa, two chairs, and a desk, in addition to a king size bed and bench. There was a large bathroom, with separate toilet room and separate jacuzzi tub and shower. Our room also featured a large balcony with lounging bed, table and 4 chairs and two padded lounge chairs. Oh, large closet, too.

We were welcomed with a complementary margarita, and a tray with ice, a pitcher of purified water, sliced limes and some snacks were brought to the room on arrival. Each morning, a tray is left outside your door with coffee, fruit, and a small baked good.

The staff is large and provides fabulous and thoughtful service! So kind and no request is too difficult. The front desk and bar staff are terrific.

The property is lovely and beautifully maintained. I understand there are two pools, but I only saw (or needed!) one and a hot tub. Lots of comfortable lounge chairs around the pool. . Many thoughtful touches such as magazines, sunscreen, pool towels + tote bags to carry towels to the beach! A nice bar area is adjacent to the pool but it could use some more shade.

The only thing we could ask for is to pave the 1 mile dirt road to the property from the main road! :) Oh yes, if breakfast were included in the rate, I'd say the value was perfect!

While we were there, the hotel hosted a dinner for the shelter for abandoned and abused children in Todos Santos. They donated (and cooked and served) all the food for the multi-course dinner for a large number of people, so all the proceeds went directly to the shelter -- very generous.

Rancho Pescadero fronts on a nice beach, but the water is too rough for swimming. A short drive takes you to the lovely Cerritos Beach which is perfect for swimming. A rental car is a necessity.

If you want lots of night life or a spring-break type of environment, this place is not for you. Go to Cabo San Lucas. But if you want a friendly, relaxed, very attractive place to chill out (near the sweet town of Todos Santos), you'll love Rancho Pescadero.

Room Tip: We stayed in a delightful Mariposa Suite - 2nd floor, Room #17. Marvelous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We really enjoyed this resort . Everything was first rate. The service ,rooms,and food. We went for a walk down an empty beach,we loved the pool . We watched whales swim by from our balcony. I would recommend this,resort for anybody that wants to relax.

Room Tip: Room 22 had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Breathtaking, amazing food, October has warm weather, clean and beautifully decorated...love that you can enjoy yoga on premises and feel so at peace with being detached! Fantastic service - love that you don't sign or pay for anything til the very bitter end - it's like you are truly a guest!!! Best massage I have EVER had!!

Room Tip: the extra cost for water view is ABSOLUTELY worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatieC822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Rancho Pescadero is certainly a very special place, rightly deserving it's high rating on Trip Advisor, and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a quieter, more chilled out break on Baja than Cabo!

A couple of small points as to why my stay didn't get an excellent rating: despite arriving at around 1:30pm, our room wasn't ready until 3pm. OK, we were given one complimentary drink each at the bar, but that's standard (& a nice touch) at Rancho Pescadero. Just frustrating waiting until 3pm when the place was very quiet & no-one else was waiting to check in.

Secondly, we were forgotten about for turndown service/chocolates in the room the first night (no big deal) but also forgotten about for breakfast the next day, which was more frustrating waiting for it to arrive/checking outside the door, then finally having to go down to chase this (no phone in the room to call). Again, not a massive deal, but it took the shine off the morning a bit being forgotten about when the place was pretty quiet. In terms of breakfast, it literally is just coffee and a very small amount of fruit (a portion size for one person I'd say) could be a bit more generous.

However, having said that, the above are small things, and I definitely hope to return soon. The food at the bar for lunch, and the restaurant in the evening was superb, and better than the meal we had at a highly rated restaurant in Todos Santos. The bar staff (& actually all the staff) were great, and very friendly/helpful with any requests. The room (Pacific Suite 23) was gorgeous... one of the few rooms on the 3rd floor so it has a fantastic view of the ocean and mountains too; lovely large balcony. The beach is beautiful and very quiet for walking along, and we had the swimming pools to ourself most of the time (mid-week). Also went to the complimentary yoga each morning which was a great way to start the day.

Overall, highly recommended, and I hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Pacific Suite 23 is one of the few rooms on the 3rd floor, so has lovely ocean & mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mango212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have been enjoying Rancho Pescadero since it opened over 4 years ago. I make a point to go for every Birthday, and any chance I get in between. I love being there and bringing friends to enjoy the experience. Never disappoints! Always the best of everything from food to accommodations, service and extra special attention from every staff member ever encountered.
I will always recommend this unique and special place to anyone looking for a sure fire awesome vacation. Don't miss it! ******6Stars

Room Tip: I've stayed here more than a half a dozen times. There probably isn't any type of room I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The ambiance at Rancho Pescadero is impeccable. The service and staff was excellent, I can't say enough. Myself and a friend felt like we could had been in any part of the world with the setting that Rancho Pescadero. The flight was only 2 hours from the states. Very safe and comfortable. No TV in the rooms and no kids under 18 years of age is a plus. It was a complete relaxing getaway. It felt like a honeymoon without having to travel to all ends of the earth. Our plans were to go to the Maldives. No need, after experiencing the ambiance at Rancho Pescadero. The garden restaurant was excellent. Fresh grown garden vegetables from Rancho Pescadero organic fields make for a great dining experience. My hat of to the manager and staff for their personal care. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room #3 the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
6.3 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
357 reviews
6.7 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
273 reviews
6.7 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
624 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cerritos Surf Town
Cerritos Surf Town
#3 of 4 in El Pescadero
401 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cerritos Beach Inn
Cerritos Beach Inn
#1 of 8 in El Pescadero
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pescadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pescadero

Property: Rancho Pescadero
Address: Camino a la Playa | Todos los Santos, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Pescadero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pescadero, Baja California Sur - An Outrageous Oceanfront Oasis - This private, secluded beach resort sits on 15 acres in Pescadero, five miles south of Todos Santos and 45 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas. Guests enjoy two luxurious swimming pools, multiple lounging areas, and spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, all with outdoor patios. Evening bonfires and world-class surf await you on the beach. Daily complimentary yoga classes and an amazing farm-to-table restaurant that sources organic produce grown onsite. A full-service wedding coordinator makes weddings truly magical. Quiet, luxurious and romantic. Come join the Rancho Pescadero family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rancho Pescadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pescadero Hotel El Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero El Pescadero, Mexico - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing