We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Rancho Pescadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rancho Pescadero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a five night stay at Rancho Pescadero, near Todos Santos and Cerritos Beach. Our stay was pure perfection. Don and the staff at Rancho Pescadero catered to our every need. The food was amazing, the staff were friendly, the rooms were stunning and the resort itself was breathtaking. This is the perfect place to get away from it all, relax, unwind and enjoy time alone or have a romantic escape. You will not be disappointed. Truly a five star experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17. It was beautiful. A large terrace overlooking the beach and ocean. Close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLVCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stopped by this stunning resort for lunch, which was perfecto. We had the shrimp tacos and burrito, both were fresh and delicious. I loved the colors of the resturant, it just felt so relaxing. The resort was extremely quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here June 20 thru 29, 2014. We were supposed to go home on the 26th, but we decided to stay a few more days because we were having such a good time!

Rancho Pescadero does everything...yes, everything...so well that the only complaint that we had was that the blue lights in the 2nd floor of the cafe were too bright late at night when we were watching the stars from the sun bed on the roof top terrace.

We arrived late at night after everything had closed, but the night time security guys were expecting us. The took our luggage out of the car and took us directly to our room. There was no fuss about signing in or running our credit card. It was like we had just arrived at the home of a family member or an old friend's house. We were in a Milagro Suite (#6) on the 2nd floor. The room was amazing. The covered porch, deck, Lani, or whatever you call it was incredible. Words can't really describe the roof top terrace and the 360 degree views of the ocean and mountains.

Since we arrived well after dark, we had no idea how beautiful the surroundings were. Opening the curtains that first morning was a shock because the pictures on their web site and Trip Advisor just don't capture the beauty of the view of the ocean, the mountains, and the landscaping.

This place is all about being comfortable and relaxation. The place is small so everything is just a short walk away, but it never feels closed in or crowded. All of the rooms were occupied during most of our stay, but the restaurant at night was the only time we were aware that there were more than 3 or 4 couples at the resort. The beach beds were never full. The beach chairs were never full. We never saw more than 3 or 4 people while walking on the beach. There were a couple of days that most of the 8 chairs/beds around the bar pool were occupied, but the bigger pool never had more than 1 or 2 couples around it. Using the big pool area almost feels like you are a kid sneaking into a neighbor's back yard to use their pool when they aren't home!

There are no jet skis zooming around. There are no water taxi's. There are no cruise ships anchored off shore. There isn't a fleet of fishing boats. No one is on the beach trying to sell stuff and best of all, the only noise you hear is from the wind or birds. If you want to party all night, you WILL be disappointed here. If you want to jet ski, go snorkeling, go deep sea fishing, or learn to surf, the front desk will make arrangements for you to do that sort of stuff, but someone either picks you up or you have to drive to a different location. Other than sitting, walking, or running (you can swim if you know what you are doing), the only activity on the beach is when Hambre, one of the local dogs, appears and he wants you to throw a stick, a ball, or a water bottle so he can chase it and bring it back to you. He really likes to play, but it takes a LONG time for him to get tired of playing!

The staff goes out of their way to make everything easy. If you want fresh squeezed orange juice instead of coffee in your breakfast basket, tell them once and it will be that way for the rest of your stay. If you want to eat something that isn't on the menu, tell the chef what you want and he will make it. There is nothing in the room that indicates that room service is available, but if you want to eat in your room, by the pool, at the bar, or on the beach then all you have to do is ask and they will make it happen! It is interesting to watch the waiters ride a bike from the restaurant to the beach while carrying a large tray of food.

The staff delivers the level of service that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. EVERYONE is very professional, but they do their jobs in a very warm and friendly manner that made us feel comfortable and relaxed so we weren't afraid to ask when we wanted something extra or unusual. You don't notice the house keeping staff or landscaping crew walking around, but you do notice what they do. Take a walk on the beach or go eat lunch and when you come back, your room looks just like it did when you arrived. Go eat dinner and when you return, your bed has been turned down. The stack of clean towels by the pool stays full despite seeing people returning wet towels and taking clean ones. The flower gardens are beautifully maintained. They have a casual flow to them which invites you in walk around and enjoy rather than being so formal that it feels like a restricted area.

The "spa building" is unusual...perhaps odd is a better word. Think minimalistic shack on the beach rather than something fancy and modern. Despite the building, the relaxation massage with Miriam is a worthwhile investment!!!

Take the time to spend an afternoon in Todo Santos. A lot of it is just tourist junk stores, but there are a number of shops that have really nice artwork plus you will meet some interesting people!! The guy in the hammock shop will be more than happy to demonstrate how he makes them. His prices may seem high, but some haggling will result in a good deal. Ask anyone at the hotel for recommendations on good places to eat because they all have their favorites. The front desk has maps.

One last thing, the sad story on their website about the dismal quality of their internet service is true. They have wifi service but only around the bar/cafe/front desk area. If you have a compulsive need to be "connected" to the rest of the world every second of the day, perhaps you should find a different place. It was disappointing at first, but we got over it because the lack of dinging and buzzing phones helped us to relax more when snoozing on the beach bed!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited Rancho Pescadero for the first time in May to escape our busy ranch lives in Wyoming, and couldn't have had a better time. The food was AMAZING, the staff were unbelievably accommodating, the rooms were beautiful, and the whole experience was above and beyond what we could have ever expected. We did less swimming in the ocean than we expected, but the empty beach more than made up for the lack of ocean swimming. The bar pool and additional quiet pool were just what we needed to escape the heat, and it was nice having the option between the two. We will most definitely be back, and have recommended Rancho P to everyone we know! Keep up the good work (and please say hi to those cutie rescue horses for us!) Until next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleo519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

After a friend attended a wedding at Rancho Pescadero and came back raving about how incredible this place was, my hubby and I decided we had to check it out for ourselves.

Well that was three years ago and since then we have made our trip to Rancho Pescadero an annual tradition.

We have referred friends who also have fallen in love with this special place.

Soon arriving Danny, the bartender, will great you with the freshest cocktail or beverage to start your vacation off right. I recommend the mango margarita but seriously everything is good.

Next, you will be taken up to your room which is as close to heaven-feeling as anything I've ever experienced. The linens are crisp and soft, the pocket doors let just the perfect amount of breeze into the room, but if you get hot easily like me... The air conditioning system is the best around.

Fresh breakfast of locally grown coffee and fruit is delivered every morning to your door. Should you want something more substantial, the restaurant is wonderful. Each meal is prepared with the freshest ingredients and is incredible thanks to Chef Bueno. (Seriously that is his name)

There's private ocean beaches for running or lounging, a pool and spa for relaxing, and yoga for unwinding. Try one of their massages for an even more blissful vacation.

My husband always loves the surf at nearby Cerritos Beach and La Pastora. The locals are absolutely amazing and so willing to share the surf with guests traveling through the area.

Close by is the town of Todos Santos. Be sure to check out the local art in this colorful town. Also, be sure to try Cafe' Santa Fe- amazing Italian and the Todos Santos Inn which has delicious tapas style dining.

We love this gem of a town and you will too. If you're looking for a place to stay with crazy nightlife this may not be the hotel for you, but if you're seeking a vacation that is relaxing, has amazing food, and is totally reviving this is the spot.❤️

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here in early July 2014. If you are looking for the glitzy, cheesy "all-inclusive-esque", overly-polished Cabo experience, this is not the place for you. But if you want laid back, relaxing and elegant-enough, with a touch of hipness experience, Rancho Pescadero lives up to the hipe. Hotel's website offers very accurate description of the experience. We stayed in a Milagro suite and it was amazing. We had Room 3. Huge room, with A/C which got the job done during randomly very hot/extremely humid few days in Baja. Room was very elegant; maids thoroughly cleaned it every day. Room had entire wall of windows that opened up on to equally big veranda with chase lounges for 4 and table and chairs for free morning coffee and fruit. Veranda also had a mini-fridge which was helpful. Room 3 had a spiral staircase that led up to a private (other than from your neighbors with the same thing) rooftop veranda with stools and a table, and yet another lounging couch for 2. Even when it was hot as hell, you just left your wall of windows open all day and let the breeze blow through when in your room. The rest of the hotel is all outdoors more or less. Grounds kept very nicely. Beach is about 50 yards from rooms, but waves were so huge that you still got the sound of the crashing waves. Beach is on 3 or so mile stretch with no other hotels, just houses and small rental places. We had the beach entirely to ourselves (no exaggeration) for 2 hours one day.

Other tips:

- definitely rent a car. Not personally a fan of being trapped on a resort, but if I hadn't had a car, still would have been good stay. But having access to Todos Santos, nearby beaches and corner store was huge plus. Drive completely unadventurous.
- the beach is beautiful here, but as many posts suggest, water is not really safe for swimming, at least not when we were there. Waves were coming in huge and breaking right against beach, and they were big enough to knock a man down. You can go out and swim in them, saw a local doing it, but you'll get roughed up. Apparently the nearby Pascadero beach is a safer place to get in the water.
- town of Todos Santos is 10 or so miles north. Very easy to access and felt safe. Neat little town, though rustic as you might expect in Mexico. But lots of typical souvenir shops, and some good restaurants - get the blood orange margarita with mint and tepin chiles at Fonda el Zaguan; and while you might be relecutant, the fresh sushi (yellowtail straight in from the beach) at Las Casita was amazing
- Hotel restaurant was very nice and romantic. Food very good; not amazing, but good.
- Drive from airport in SDC airport was 1.5 hours. Easy using hotel directions and seemed safe whole way, through interesting dessert landscape with plenty of cactus. Not much of anything between Cabo San Lucas and Pescadero
- There is a gas station right at the main highway, one mile from hotel, which has a corner store just like any in the U.S., which was good for stocking up on snacks and beers for the mini fridge
- we did the free morning yoga every morning and the yoga instructor was amazing. Open air room with sounds of waves and nature (and the occasional cleaning crew lady) in the background. Highly recommended.
- Hotel asks you not to tip during stay and then to tip at the end based on the entire amount of your bill. Low pressure, but easy decision based on how good the stay is.
- view of ocean from second floor rooms is much better, as you can see over dunes and palms, but staying on ground level seems like it would be pretty good as well
- we got couples massage in the "spa" building out on the beach. Nice, but nothing special; for these you do tip at the time of service.
- pricing on everything very fair; fancy cocktails will run you $10, food very reasonable

Downsides, if any:

- Place doesn't hide that it's laid back. Saw a couple of people needing help with things like A/C leaking (they were probably running it with the doors open when extremely humid, so I think their fault). I accidentally locked myself out of our safe and asked to get it re-set. No one every came, and my observation is that help comes slowly if at all; but place was near perfect, so didn't really need help.
- Resort looks like it was started with an old private residence and continues to grow with time. So I think the rooms vary widely Room 3 might have been the best, as no complaints.
- large sliding glass walls don't lock - see notes on how laid back place is - paranoid people might not like this but we always felt safe, and hotel had roving security at night
- room 3 did have a window in the bathroom that wouldn't close all the way - see note on laid back - but we just closed the bathroom door at night, which also helped with the A/C in the bedroom - main concern being mosquitos sneaking in, which didn't happen
- as the place advertises, it winds down very early at night; they seemed to keep the pool bar open as long as people were drinking, but it is not a party place - see note on corner store and mini-fridge in room
- the restaurant, as nice as it was, was strangely short on dessert choices

Room Tip: Second floor rooms, in particular Milagro suites, are worth the extra $. Room 3 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank RickStevesJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Words cannot describe our stay at Rancho Pescadero. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed. As you walk around the property you realize what a special place this is. The gorgeous swimming pools and multiple enticing eating areas. To the swaying palm trees leading down the beach path where you arrive on a white sand beach where all you hear is the waves crashing and birds chirping. The rooms are so well done with every need considered! Waking up under a canopy after an amazing night sleep to sit on our large patio eating our breakfast watching the waves crashing was pure heaven. The privacy and tranquility makes you feel this is your own villa. The yoga guided by a darling instructor was fabulous (which is included!) We also grabbed some boards and beach chairs and went surfing a few days (also included). Every staff member always happy to help in any of our requests and even anticipating our next need without feeling obtrusive, a true talent. Now to the Amazing food. Chef Bueno is a world class chef. The meals were so fresh and cooked to perfection with every bite a true joy. The best fish tacos and huevos rancheros we have ever had. We enjoyed our trip so much we extended it for an additional two nights. We found it to hard to leave paradise.

In addition the charming town of todos santos is just a 5-10 minute drive.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Pescadero
6.3 mi away
Posada La Poza
Posada La Poza
#1 of 8 in Todos Santos
366 reviews
6.7 mi away
Todos Santos Inn
Todos Santos Inn
#3 of 8 in Todos Santos
275 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel San Cristobal
#5 of 8 in Todos Santos
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Guaycura Boutique Hotel Beach Club & Spa
6.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 8 in Todos Santos
649 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cerritos Surf Town
Cerritos Surf Town
#3 of 4 in El Pescadero
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Pescadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Pescadero

Address: Camino a la Playa | San Peditro, El Pescadero 23300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > El Pescadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in El Pescadero
Price Range: £138 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Pescadero 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Pescadero, Baja California Sur - An Outrageous Oceanfront Oasis - This private, secluded beach resort sits on 15 acres in Pescadero, five miles south of Todos Santos and 45 minutes north of Cabo San Lucas. Guests enjoy two luxurious swimming pools, multiple lounging areas, and spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, all with outdoor patios. Evening bonfires and world-class surf await you on the beach. Daily complimentary yoga classes and an amazing farm-to-table restaurant that sources organic produce grown onsite. A full-service wedding coordinator makes weddings truly magical. Quiet, luxurious and romantic. Come join the Rancho Pescadero family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Rancho Pescadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Pescadero Hotel El Pescadero
Rancho Pescadero El Pescadero, Mexico - Todos Santos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing